The Specials
Specials


5.0
classic

Review

by pedro durruti USER (6 Reviews)
January 20th, 2005 | 49 replies | 10,017 views


Release Date: 1979 | Tracklist


2 of 4 thought this review was well written

Horace - Bass
Neville/Terry - Vocals
Roddy/Lynval - Guitar
Brad - Drums
Jerry - Organ

I'm surprised no one has reviewd this album yet. In fact I'm a little ashamed. I don't think there's even a two tone album review either. Anyways...

The Specials can easily be considered one of the best ska bands ever. Even people who have only been listening to third wave bands like Reel Big Fish and other similar bands will appreciate the greatness of The Specials.

Like many other two tone bands, The Specials did many covers of songs from their favorite Jamaican musicians. In this whole album, The Specials have seven covers, three of the songs originally by Prince Buster, a famous rude boy and musician. But The Specials did amazing work with all of the remakes, and did great justice to the original bands/artists. One of my favorite Specials song, and the first track on this album was originally by Dandy Livingstone.

When people hear the word ska and don't think it's a sex position, most of the time they immediately think of horns. Now there have been great ska bands with no horns like Operation Ivy and Assorted Jelly Beans, but they are both third wave bands. It seems unusual for an older ska band to not have horns, which The Specials didn't. They had seven band members, but not one of them played a brass instrument, although Jerry did play the organ. All the horns on the album were done by Dick Cuthell and the amazing Rico Rodriquez.

The songs on this album range from slow and soothing (Blank Expression)- to medium paced and catchy (It's up to You)- to fast and a touch of punk (Do the Dog).

One more interesting thing about this album. I don't know a lot about Elvis Costello but he was involved with 2-Tone Records for a period of time. He produced all the songs on this album, excluding Gangsters which The Specials produced themselves.

That's my review, it's not very good, but someone will eventually do their own on this wonderful album. I recommend this to anyone who thinsk they have at least decent taste in music. If you love ska you are sure to love this band and this album, it's their best.



Recent reviews by this author
Bad Brains Bad BrainsAgainst Me! Reinventing Axl Rose
Link 80 The Struggle ContinuesLink 80 Killing Katie
Knowledge A Gift Before I Go
user ratings (211)
Chart.
4.3
superb
related reviews

Too Much Too Young

Comments:Add a Comment 
pickitup060
January 21st 2005



1 Comments


yah i love this cd alot the specials are just plain great

Iai
Emeritus
January 21st 2005



3553 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I wouldn't quite give it a 5, but it's a strong 4. Great record, and great band.

honkybrewster
January 25th 2005



13 Comments


I love this album. I would've liked a track by track review though. Still, nice review.

skateMASTERbater2
January 29th 2005



39 Comments


good review, i really like this album

Lentil&Ska
February 26th 2005



2 Comments


good review but i dont no if it dose them justice, i think this band and cd pritty much made ska what it is today

That_Dude
March 30th 2005



1 Comments


One of the best ska albums ever.

Pizza
July 29th 2005



687 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

excellent band and album.

Berserker!
September 17th 2005



73 Comments


Amazing album

Shtein
September 18th 2005



1 Comments


My favourite 2-tone band, and good review.

Zebra
Moderator
September 18th 2005



2647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is my favorite ska album off all time with the exception of The Slackers "Waisted Days." "Little Bitch" is my favorite song off the album.

cjstunna
December 22nd 2005



119 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

IMO The Definitive Ska Album. If you're into ska you need to pick this up. Nite Klub and Little Bitch are my two favorites

ihatemybass
January 20th 2006



34 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I've been wanting to get this for a while. I will do.

Pizza
January 23rd 2006



687 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

little bitch and message to you rudy are great songs


Zebra
Moderator
January 23rd 2006



2647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm really digging 'Monkey Man' and 'Nite Club.' The amazing thing about this album is it's replay value. There are no average tracks, everything is awesome.

Pizza
January 23rd 2006



687 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i agree. i remember one time i listened to the whole thing maybe 10 times over the course of a few days. its just sooo good

stephankirstein
January 23rd 2006



20 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

these guys are freakin amazing. they are true inventors and innovators of ska in my opinion. sure the dekker and skatanic wtv but these guys are just so easy to listen to its crazy

Yasgotcha69
January 25th 2006



18 Comments


For some reason this just didn't click with me. I guess I've never been a huge fan of the slower ska. I really prefer power ska like Catch 22. This is just too slow for my taste. None the less, it's still good music.This Message Edited On 01.25.06

ihatemybass
January 30th 2006



34 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Your review was ok..........More information would be nice. Track by track review maybe?

Med57
Moderator
January 30th 2006



1001 Comments


Yeah, a bit more info would be neat, but it was quite well written. I'm with Iai...very good album by a really good band. Culturally they're incredbly important too, if you're into that sort of thing.

kolzig33189
January 30th 2006



335 Comments


how can you not like the specials? one of the first ska bands and they had great stuff



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy