Antonio Vivaldi
The Four Seasons


5.0
classic

Review

by Greg Viessman USER (44 Reviews)
May 17th, 2008 | 144 replies | 21,151 views


Release Date: 1725 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This is the greatest piece of classical music ever. Vivaldi's The Four Seasons truly stands the test of time. It's also the best album of 1725!!

7 of 8 thought this review was well written

One sits in a chair sipping on the finest wine and watches the embers of the fireplace fill the room with a smoky glisten to them. They are surrounded by a room of magnificent proportions. Illustrious paintings fill the walls and decorative Fleur de Lis’ are present throughout the unique architectural structure of the room. It’s a calm and peaceful day, but soon the livelihood of the music will bring forward a wanting for more, and the situation may turn vivacious

This is a perfect setting to describe Antonio Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons. While Vivaldi may have been Italian, his music gives off that perfect French Royalty vibe. Composed in 1723, Vivaldi brought together a piece that would stand the test of time. His superlative virtuoso of the violin proved him to be one of the cornerstones for the Baroque period in music.

The Four Seasons. is split up into four parts: Spring, Summer, Autumn, and Winter. Spring starts out with probably the most famous violin arrangement ever composed. This song makes the listener sit back in their chair and smile because of the warmth it brings to the ears and soul. Even when it gets to the slower portions, it still maintains that good vibe. This would have been a perfect piece of music to play at an aristocratic party in the 18th century.

We next travel to the season of Summer. Though not as uplifting as Spring, Summer brings forth my favorite season of this classical masterpiece. Starting out almost in a dreary like pace, the violins soon pick up for an onslaught of speed, but then quickly go back to that slow methodical vibe that lasts for the majority of this piece. The last three minutes though, pick up the pace to almost a hellacious tone. The violins make the listener get out of his chair in wonder of the pure speed that these instruments are being played. The hauntingly dark course that the music takes makes the listener drop his glass of fine wine on the floor. He is in complete awe and amazement of what just occurred. He waits for the next score to be played.

Autumn approaches the listener, and it brings back a familiar vibe that Spring brought out. He is getting a little upset with the darker and gloomier side that is coming towards him a few minutes in though. No need to worry though, that goodness of the music returns soon. As we approach the end, the listener stands up and starts marching around the grand room for no apparent reason. The violins feel like trumpet calls for the king as he approaches the townspeople.

The listener then looks outside his window to see if this was actually happening. He becomes disappointed when he sees that there is snow everywhere; Winter has come upon him. This is the period where he returns to his chair and resumes looking at the fireplace. His mind is going as fast as the strings are during this song. Everything that has occurred within these past thirty plus minutes is being consciously played through his head again. It slows down though to that smooth comfortable pace again. It brings forth a melodic side that wasn’t really seen that much during the duration of his stay in the room. The listener is getting tired from these drastic changes in mood though. He starts to fall asleep and he lays his head down on the arm of the chair. The journey is not over though, as we approach the end. The fire is still ablaze, but the listener cracked open the window a bit. The fire is now extinguished and the music has come to a stop.



Recent reviews by this author
Amon Amarth Deceiver of the GodsChildren of Bodom Halo of Blood
Lost Horizon A Flame To The Ground BeneathDiablo Swing Orchestra Pandora's Pinata
DragonForce The Power WithinNightwish Imaginaerum
user ratings (205)
Chart.
4.4
superb

Comments:Add a Comment 
Poet
May 8th 2008



5920 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This was definitely a different approach I took to review this great work. This Message Edited On 05.08.08

Ire
May 8th 2008



41749 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wow man good review, I gotta find this.

cometuesday
May 8th 2008



959 Comments


I was wondering when you'd review this.

TheGreatD17
May 8th 2008



1141 Comments


This is a good review, I really like romantic and modern "classical" music, but I've never been a big baroque fan. I guess I'll check this out because it sounds interesting, but I don't know if I'll love it.

Also, why would the greatest classical piece you've ever heard not be worthy of a 5?

cometuesday
May 9th 2008



959 Comments


[quote="TheGreatD17"]Also, why would the greatest classical piece you've ever heard not be worthy of a 5?[/quote]
i thought the same thing, actually :lol:

Jom
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2008



2634 Comments


because everything Nightwish gets a 5/5 duh
On a different note, great job with the review. "Spring" never gets old.

rasputin
May 9th 2008



14517 Comments


yeah good job, it's nice to see more classical reviews, gives a bit of variety to the site.

Poet
May 9th 2008



5920 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

because everything Nightwish gets a 5/5 duh


:lol:
I thought I hit the classic rating when I submitted the review. Apparently I didn't.

EDIT: I can't believe I didn't have it a five, so I changed it. This Message Edited On 05.09.08

Cesar
May 9th 2008



2732 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've only heard spring and it's great, I've been meaning to listen all of it.

I added a collection of Beethoven's Piano Sonatas a couple days ago just in case anyone wants to review it.

taylormemer
May 9th 2008



4913 Comments


^^

There has been a general consensus that we wont be reviewing albums as such.

http://www.sputnikmusic.com/forums/showthread.php?t=556740

In terms of his seasons however, Vivaldi actually has many other very interesting works that are overlooked, particularly his cello concertos.

BallsToTheWall
May 9th 2008



44164 Comments


Great review, i've been digging alot of modern neoclassical stuff for some time now. I'm going to get this when I have time.

itachi1452
May 9th 2008



366 Comments


vivaldi is definitely one of the finer composers of his era
you can't really play strings w/out having played vivaldi, so i definitely respect him

Bfhurricane
May 9th 2008



6194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Very good review. I never really found too many people on this site to share my love of classical music with. Ive learned about half of this on the guitar and piano

Mendigo
May 9th 2008



2299 Comments


great review, sputnikmusic needs a lot more classical album-reviews.
I've once heard/watched The Four Seasons being performed by a professional orchestra (I just don't remember wich one, it's been a long, long while). I think my parents have a CD lying somewhere around, I'm going to look for it tomorrow.

Poet
May 10th 2008



5920 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I've once heard/watched The Four Seasons being performed by a professional orchestra

I am jealous of you now lol. I've always wanted to see an orchestra perform this.

Bfhurricane
May 10th 2008



6194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The greatest classical piece of music that I have ever heard.

There are a lot of pieces by Bach that I find even more complex, intriguing, and awe-inspiring than this. Id love to discuss classical with you sometime if you wanted to

Poet
May 11th 2008



5920 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Id love to discuss classical with you sometime if you wanted to

I need to dwell deeper into classical music though. Thankfully school is almost out so I will be able to do that.

Cesar
May 11th 2008



2732 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

There are a lot of pieces by Bach that I find even more complex, intriguing, and awe-inspiring than this.


This is true

Mendigo
May 11th 2008



2299 Comments


well, I've found the CD and listened to it two times today. It's amazingly original and fresh, and it's great how Vivaldi captures the mood of every of the seasons. I would have mentioned in the review the sonnets Vivaldi had written to make clear what goes on in every part of this composition. He has created dog barks, thunder, a hunting scene and a whole lot more within the music. Once you know what is what, it's more like watching a scene in your mind than listening to music. I've never really had that kind of experience before.
However, I can't rate it a 5 because there are other classical pieces I love much more, by Mozart, Beethoven and Bach mostly. Still I've touched that genre only very slightly.

taylormemer
May 12th 2008



4913 Comments


Indeed, the mentioning of musical articulations through the string quartet would have been a good addition to the review. In many ways it is one of the first propositions of the tone poem, but wasn't exploited further within the baroque era until the classical master came along, Beethoven.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy