Tiamat
Amanethes


2.0
poor

Review

by Trey Spencer STAFF
May 17th, 2008 | 38 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Tiamat continue their generic gothic rock trend, but this time decide to rehash the generic doom of their initial few releases as well.

I had given up on Tiamat ever releasing another good album a long time ago, so it was only by chance that I stumbled upon a news article where the band stated that they were going to return to their roots on this album. After reading the news, I assumed that they would return to the sounds of Wildhoney and A Deeper Kind of Slumber since those are the two albums that garner all the praise, but you know what happens to those that assume. Instead they have mixed all the boring generic elements of their current gothic rock albums with the standard riffs and horribly growled vocals of their first few doom/death albums.

The two obvious throwbacks to their doom roots are found in the heavier riffs and growled vocals of some of the songs. The opening two songs are great examples of this as they feature the growled vocals and heavy riffs and combine them with sparse keyboards and the simple song structures of their current stuff. While some may think that the return of any heaviness is a good thing, those people would need to be reminded that Tiamat were never good at being heavy and they still aren’t now. The riffs are still boring, predictable down-tuned affairs, and the growled vocals are still horrible due to his attempt at pulling off a sing/growl hybrid technique. In fact, the growled vocals ruin any chance a song may have of being good such on the musically decent “Raining Dead Angels” which incorporates some industrial influence into the riffs and beats, and a clear techno influence in the keyboards.

The savior of this album could have been the fact that on some songs he still incorporates singing, but his singing voice is worse then ever before. The problem with the songs that he sings on is that he is often singing much lower then he is capable of which makes him frequently sound out of key. Tracks such as “Until the Hellhounds Sleep Again” or “Misantropolis” define this flaw perfectly. The out of key vocals are only made worse by the fact that the songs he sings on are generally slow and plodding and rely on redundant gothic rock guitar riffs and minimal keyboard accompaniment to get them by. Really, that is the problem with all the music on this album regardless of what era of their past they draw from; the music is redundant, generic, and boring and is only made worse by weak vocal performances.

Amanethes has a few dim positives such as the previously mentioned industrial influences of “Raining Dead Angels” or the dead-on Pink Floyd impression of “Meliae” which actually has a great vocal performance courtesy of him trying to emulate David Gilmour and actually doing a good job of it. Unfortunately, these relatively good additions are lost in a sea of mediocrity in which Tiamat have proven to me once and for all that the unique talent exhibited on Wildhoney and A Deeper Kind of Slumber was a fluke and that they are only ever going to be a third-rate doom band or a third-rate gothic band… or in this case, a combination of both.



Recent reviews by this author
Kenn Nardi Dancing With the PastSick of It All The Last Act of Defiance
Meshuggah I (Special Edition)Cannibal Corpse A Skeletal Domain
Rabbit Junk Pop That Pretty ThirtyAnathema Distant Satellites
user ratings (59)
Chart.
2.8
good
other reviews of this album
Jorn van Schaïk (3.5)
Goth rock meets doom metal. Oh boy......


Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
April 28th 2008


16116 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Album Stream: http://www.myspace.com/tiamat

It may already be released. I've seen release dates for the 22nd of this month and now Amazon has it set for May 27th (which is the date I'm going to use for the album).

Edit: Their official site has it set for May 2nd.This Message Edited On 04.28.08

Digging: Kenn Nardi - Dancing With the Past

BallsToTheWall
April 28th 2008


44784 Comments


Another good review. Never really liked anything from what I heard from this band. I doubt i'll even torrent this, probaly just stream it ^^^ when I get back.

Digging: Pink Turns Blue - If Two Worlds Kiss

Doppelganger
April 28th 2008


3124 Comments


Yeah I streamed the first 3 or 4 songs of this last week and it sounded really gay.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 28th 2008


16466 Comments


Tiamat's old stuff was so much better, shame to see them get worse and worse. Their lead singer is badass. Good review.This Message Edited On 04.28.08

TheGreatD17
April 28th 2008


1141 Comments


Good review, but I dislike doom and goth so I have no interest in this. They're like The Gathering, but without the prolonged period of excellence.

And can talent be a fluke? I'd say it's just more them having skill at one kind of music and not others.This Message Edited On 04.28.08

jrowa001
April 28th 2008


8750 Comments


this band is pretty boring. doubt ill check this out since i couldnt stand their most popular album

Willie
Moderator
April 28th 2008


16116 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah, I'd say that a random collection of events can come together to make something or someone seem talented (even Miami won one game this year).
I'd agree with everyone who says that these guys are mostly boring, and this album just continues that trend.

Tiamat's old stuff was so much better
I hope you're not referring to their first three albums ;)

Wizard
April 28th 2008


19607 Comments


those people would need to be reminded that Tiamat were never good at being heavy and they still aren’t now.

My thoughts exactly, especially how they managed to pull off A Deeper Kind of Slumber without being too heavy.

Excellent review, you nailed exactly what I was thinking, even though I only gave this album one listen (torture enough).

Digging: Earth - Primitive and Deadly

Willie
Moderator
April 28th 2008


16116 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Excellent review, you nailed exactly what I was thinking
You write that about a lot of my reviews, which makes me wonder if you've checked out that Skinny Puppy album (Too Dark Park) yet??? ;)

Essence
April 28th 2008


3587 Comments


Such a shame, Wildhoney and A Deeper Kind of Slumber were both excellent.

Wizard
April 28th 2008


19607 Comments


You write that about a lot of my reviews, which makes me wonder if you've checked out that Skinny Puppy album (Too Dark Park) yet???


hahahaha its a little generic saying that I write all the time but I still mean it hahahah. About that Skinny Puppy album, I still need to give it another listen (sitting on my computer staring me in the face) but I want to be in the right mood for it since you seem to think its god's gift to the industrial genre hahaha. I've been on a huge black metal binge lately.


Willie
Moderator
April 28th 2008


16116 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah, I've seen that comment from you in many reviews. That album IS god's gift to industrial, but it definitely won't satisfy a black metal craving.

Wizard
April 28th 2008


19607 Comments


There are only so many ways to word "Great Review". Plus, I think I said in a few of your reviews that I'm getting tired of writing "Excellent review". On that note, why aren't you a staff member yet? You have a unique taste in music and your reviews are always top notch, what gives?

I will grow bored of black metal my industrial binge will begin soon enough!



Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 28th 2008


16466 Comments


I hope you're not referring to their first three albums


Na I'm referring to Wildhoney and A Deeper Kind Of Slumber.

Altmer
April 28th 2008


5652 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

sux that this is no wildhoney but there's only so long you can live off past glory

Wizard
April 28th 2008


19607 Comments


Time to retire!

TheGreatD17
April 28th 2008


1141 Comments


Yeah, I'd say that a random collection of events can come together to make something or someone seem talented (even Miami won one game this year).

I don't know if an overtime win against the Ravens is as impressive as Wildhoney... or even an accurate comparison, but I'll give it to you just for the sake of originality.This Message Edited On 04.28.08

Willie
Moderator
April 28th 2008


16116 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

^^^ Yeah, I was reaching but I didn't want to take the time to think of an actual legitimate comparison.

sux that this is no wildhoney but there's only so long you can live off past glory
Their past glory was short lived. A majority of their career has been crap.

LostViking
May 11th 2008


79 Comments


A couple good songs on "Wildhoney" but really not that good collectively. If this is regarded as their best album, well, no interest here.

Willie
Moderator
May 13th 2008


16116 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

A couple good songs on "Wildhoney" but really not that good collectively. If this is regarded as their best album, well, no interest here.
I'd say that "A Deeper Kind of Slumber" is their best album. It has better songs, is more developed, and more consistent.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy