Skinny Puppy
Last Rights


4.0
excellent

Review

by Trey Spencer STAFF
May 18th, 2008 | 43 replies | 15,123 views


Release Date: 1992 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The soundtrack to a band tearing itself apart.

Never has a band created such a perfect soundtrack to their own eventual demise. Here was a band tearing itself apart through violence, enlarged egos, and excessive drug use and somehow managing to put it all to music. Last Rights is easily the most atonal, challenging, elaborate, and angry of their career, and it is so much the better for it. This was the sound of a band that was on a personal downward spiral, but talented enough to convey that fall through their music.

When their previous album, Too Dark Park, came out it was a shock to fans as it took a very dark turn and increased the convoluted and dense nature of the music tenfold, but this album was even more of a shock as it managed to increase those traits another tenfold. The first two tracks might not fully prepare someone for what they were about to experience as the opener could have come off Too Dark Park with its more conventional beats, song structure, and melodies. The second song and fan-favorite, “Killing Game”, was a new twist on the Skinny Puppy sound as it is solely piano, slow pounding percussion and Ogre ranting, but it still couldn’t prepare someone for the rest of the album.

The third track, “Knowhere?”, is where the stage is truly set for the rest of the album. It begins with a beat that seems to be created through the combination of an explosion and a gunshot. Over the “percussion” are layers of white noise, random synth, samples and Ogre ranting incoherently with complete disregard to the flow of the actual song. It peaks with a build up in all of the elements to levels of almost complete noise before suddenly stopping while Ogre shouts “You will have no one to run to” and then sings in a processed, almost crazy voice, “No one to run to”. It is only when Ogre’s voice begins to fade away that someone might be truly aware of what the rest of the album has in store for them.

Last Rights continues to challenge the listener through sustained use of noise, found sounds that create fleeting instances of melody, random and jarring percussion, and Ogre’s angry, almost psychotic rant. While there are lulls in the chaos, such as in the song “Inquisition”, it is the exception and not the norm. The norm is in songs such as “Scrapyard” with it use of rolling waves of percussion, jarring rhythmic stops, random noise, samples and Ogre alternately singing and yelling like he recorded his vocals while drunk in a bar. The album ends with the eleven-minute song “Download” which is entirely derived of random chaotic samples, layers of undulating white noise, sparse drones and absolutely no beat or rhythms at all making the previous songs seem like easy listening.

It wouldn’t be until they got millions of dollars from American Records for The Process that they could afford to finish what they started by self-destructing the rest of the way through overdose-induced death and their eventual (temporary) break up, but this is the album that sets the stage for that tragic eventuality. It features very little of what the mainstream public would consider “music”; there aren’t any catchy melodies, any hooks, anything you could conceivably sing along to or even more then the rare beat you could tap your foot to, and that’s what makes this album great. Anyone looking for an industrial album that is going to challenge you to pick out the subtle nuances and dissect the various layers of sounds in order to be rewarded with a fully enjoyable and near-classic album need look no further than Last Rights.



Recent reviews by this author
Anathema Distant SatellitesFlotsam and Jetsam No Place for Disgrace - 2014
Mindcage Our Own DevicesFates Warning Darkness in a Different Light
Queensryche QueensrycheSkinny Puppy Weapon
user ratings (135)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
22 Jazz Funk Greats (5)
Did you get lost on the trip? Did you get trapped in memory?...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
April 15th 2008



15876 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This review was done mainly because someone asked me to and I had the time... but it still is an awesome album that I hadn't listened to in too long, so I'm glad someone mentioned it.

Digging: Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse - 20th Year Anniversary

rasputin
April 15th 2008



14516 Comments


Good review. I keep on forgetting to check these guys out, I've written it down now though so hopefully I'll eventually get around to it.

Willie
Moderator
April 15th 2008



15876 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks, if you've never heard these guys before then this might not be the place to start (unless you're into industrial already).

rasputin
April 15th 2008



14516 Comments


Well I'd heard the name before, but never really bothered until you recommended them to me a while ago. I'm not a huge industrial fan, but I do dabble on occasion.

Willie
Moderator
April 15th 2008



15876 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh, in that case I'm sure I already mentioned that "Too Dark Park" is the album you should dabble in ;)

Meatplow
April 15th 2008



5524 Comments


Good review, i've been on a bit of a industrial kick recently and have only listened to The Process by these guys.

What I heard of that album I liked quite a bit, I may well check this out.

Willie
Moderator
April 15th 2008



15876 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If the only album you've heard from these guys is The Process then you're in for a shock if you take a step into their older albums. On The Process his voice isn't distorted and there is a lot more attention paid to catchiness and conventional song structures... if you do you should definitely leave a comment with your reaction.
Check this out for a minor introduction (it's the video for Killing Game): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RUS3PJ2PtpI

Meatplow
April 15th 2008



5524 Comments


I've actually heard that song before, along with some of their very early stuff. Whats one of the best earlier releases?

Willie
Moderator
April 15th 2008



15876 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My favorite album is definitely Too Dark Park... it has the good beats and synth work of their older stuff, but is much darker and more musically layered (but not so chaotic and noisy as this album).

Merkaba33
April 15th 2008



702 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sweet review. riverz end is a great instrumental. now all you need is too dark park

Willie
Moderator
April 15th 2008



15876 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sweet review. riverz end is a great instrumental. now all you need is too dark park
I don't want to review "Too Dark Park" because I love that album and could easily be accused of being a "fanboy" and ignoring minor issues when it comes to it... so it's safer to just not do it.

Merkaba33
April 15th 2008



702 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't want to review "Too Dark Park" because I love that album and could easily be accused of being a "fanboy" and ignoring minor issues when it comes to it... so it's safer to just not do it.

Alright i'll try and do it when i pick it up.

Merkaba33
May 19th 2008



702 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hey howd u get all ur comments back?

Willie
Moderator
May 20th 2008



15876 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

On the post on the main page (at the top) is a link explaining what happened with the server, and also another link where you can get your old comments back if you can manage to find the old review's ID, and also give them the new review ID.



Wizard
May 20th 2008



19208 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Album is awesome. Not as good as Too Dark Park but I love how desperate their music sounds. Way more depressing too. Thank you Willie for showing me the light (or darkness) with these guys!

Digging: Monarch - Sabbracadaver

Willie
Moderator
May 21st 2008



15876 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well, I've now ruined industrial for you because nothing else will compare ;) (yeah, yeah, yeah... I know you still like Ministry more).
So, now you need to finally get around to checking out Acumen Nation's "Psycho the Rapist" CD and you'll be good (you said you were going to on the review, but never said if you finally did or not).

Wizard
June 6th 2008



19208 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah, yeah, yeah... I know you still like Ministry more


Actually, you have completely obliterated my perception on industrial music. Ministry takes a back seat to these guys. Skinny Puppy just has so much more to offer.

So, now you need to finally get around to checking out Acumen Nation's "Psycho the Rapist" CD

Its still on my list of 'must listen to' next to my computer. This Message Edited On 06.06.08

Willie
Moderator
June 7th 2008



15876 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Actually, you have completely obliterated my perception on industrial music. Ministry takes a back seat to these guys. Skinny Puppy just has so much more to offer.
I personally think Skinny Puppy is one of the best the genre has to offer, even to this day when they're not really on the top of their game.
Acumen Nation won't top this album, but that album I recommend and "Territory = Universe" are both good and different enough to not be direct competition anyway.

Wizard
August 15th 2008



19208 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The soundtrack to a band tearing itself apart.

Couldn't agree more, this album could fit any horror movie soundtrack as well. I found this the other day for 4$. I'm really scoring big these days in the used music stores.

So, now you need to finally get around to checking out Acumen Nation's "Psycho the Rapist" CD

Looking this up at the moment.

Also, check out another industrial/metal I discovered called Cyanotic. Not the greatest, but I find them enjoyable. http://www.myspace.com/cyanoticonline

Acumen Nation = WIN! This is like Ministry with just a bit more edge!This Message Edited On 08.15.08

Willie
Moderator
August 16th 2008



15876 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That Acumen Nation album is awesome but don't think all their albums are that
good because there are some duds. Glad I haven't wasted your time with any of
my reccomendations yet. This Message Edited On 08.16.08



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy