Fear Factory
Demanufacture


4.5
superb

Review

by USER (1 Reviews)
January 14th, 2005 | 24 replies | 10,351 views


Release Date: 1995 | Tracklist


0 of 1 thought this review was well written

In my opinion, Fear Factory did some pretty original stuff with this album in 1995. They added some techno edge, and they did it the right amount, to these monster riffs.

DEMANUFACTURE-The title track. The intro is probably one of the best in metal in my opinion. It starts of with this drumbeat, followed by a monsterously heavy riff. It is not a hard riff, but it adds an incredible feeling to the song. Very well chosen smaples for this song. Probably my favorite Fear Factory song.
10/10

SELF BIAS RESISTOR-Starts off a fast drum beat. The vocals seem sort of out of place, but in the end it works out. Very heavy and another great song in the Fear Factory collection. Kudos to Burton to going froma very harsh scream to a good chant like vocal in the chorus.
9/10

ZERO SIGNAL-Starts off with another very appropriate sample. The vocals again seem kind of out of place, but the drums keep it together. A well donesong.
8/10

REPLICA-Probably Fear Factory's best known song, probably even more than Edgecrusher or New Breed. I like the "HUH!" and the military-like drums. I like the lyrics too (about children born from rape I believe). Great length too. It doesnt drone on and on.
9.5/10

NEW BREED-Very hardcore techno intro. Simple guitar riff, but I nevre wanted anything else on this song. An earworm for me, it gets stuck in my head a lot, but I want it there. The samples are again great, and the heavy riffs are well placed. Another topnotch Fear Factory song. The ending is also done well. Probably the epitimy of Fear Factory
10/10

DOG DAY SUNRISE-I never really like covers, but this one isnt bad. I never liked the original, and this isnt going to convert me completely. Overall, a fairly well done cover (something that is a rarity nowadays)
6/10

BODY HAMMER-The intro riff isnt the greatest, and I dont like the lyrics at all. But the chorus starts to pick things up. Not a great song, but certainly not a terrible one.
7/10

FLASHPOINT-This is more like it. The drums have a good rythm, and the little bass lick at the start is great. Gets very heavy and lumbering, and it suits the song perfectly. Burton screams very well, and the dynamics are perfect for this song. Also the length is spot on. I didnt want this to be one of those songs, and it isnt. Another highpoint.
8.5/10

H-K (HUNTER/KILLER)-Very haunting start, and the sample about guns is very fitting. The quick machine gun burst start is awesome, and I like how the vocals blur by. A little too long, but I can deal with it.
8/10

PISSCHRIST-This is one hell of a song. The intro is perfect, and the machine gun bursts are amazing. I love this song, another reason why to hear this album. I enjoy the vocals, they seem like chants, and they do what they were trying. A nougaty, crunchy, extra yummy bit of Fear Factory.
10/10

A THERAPY FOR PAIN-I suppose this would be the ballad. A little too long and droning, but the massive, lumbering dinosaur like riffs do their purpose. Far too long, with all the techno struff at the end, but this is the last song (unless you have the digipak, which I dont have.) So you can just listen to something else. But the techno isnt terrible. Very monolithic-like.
8/10

OVERALL-4.5/5 stars, probably Fear Factorys best. Highly recommended.


user ratings (725)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
Jeremy Bentham (5)
Presenting a sound way ahead of its time, Demanufacture is and always will be the definitive Fear Fa...

Apathy (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
behemoth
December 4th 2003



15 Comments


One of my all time favourite albums. Nicely reviewed, although our tastes differ. My favourite song is Pisschrist and I think New Breed is weak, but hey :D

sj_2150
September 23rd 2005



251 Comments


i heard the b- side resistancia and i think it would have fitted in great. they should have replaced dog day sunrise (although i do love it) with resistancia

Toaster
October 16th 2005



343 Comments


Who wrote Dog Day Sunrise?

Apathy
October 16th 2005



645 Comments


This is a kickass album. Good review also. I picked this up today, and I listened to the whole thing. I found out that it is BLISTERINGLY heavy.

FenderUsa
January 21st 2008



582 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

amazing album

TheAngelOfDeath616
July 4th 2009



29 Comments


is this a good place to start for fear factory? I've only heard bite the hand that bleeds because it waqs the SAW 1 soundtrack and i really liked it...

Fxxkit13
July 4th 2009



1559 Comments


yes.

Wizard
July 4th 2009



18778 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This or Obsolete. Take your pick because both albums are essential.

Digging: Triptykon - Melana Chasmata

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
July 4th 2009



8221 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I feel really bad for not having a single FF album

Digging: Metsatoll - Karjajuht

Wizard
July 4th 2009



18778 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

WHAT^&*^%*^? Check them out now!

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
July 4th 2009



8221 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can't now.............
But I will as soon as I can

Wizard
July 4th 2009



18778 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The last five songs on this album are where it's at. I think I should boost my rating for this.

BassDemon333
November 9th 2009



3291 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Well I finally got around to listening to this for the first time...and i'm actually loving it. What I hear so far is awesome.

The title track is so fucking awesome. Dino is a beast.

Digging: Chevelle - La Gargola

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 9th 2009



30297 Comments


"Dino is a beast."

You ain't kidding on that one amigo

Digging: L'Orange - The Orchid Days

BassDemon333
November 9th 2009



3291 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

lol, yeah he is though. His work in this album is great. This is only my first FF album and I already think it beats the shit out of Divine Heresy.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 9th 2009



30297 Comments


I do enjoy a bit of Divine Heresy though.
But this and Obsolete are essential listening.

BassDemon333
November 9th 2009



3291 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah, I do too. Both albums by them are pretty decent. Tim is also a great drummer in that band and him and Dino are pretty awesome when thrown together like that.

I have yet to listen to Obsolete....hope it's good.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 9th 2009



30297 Comments


You won't be disappointed

blairskie
February 10th 2010



20 Comments


this is fear factory's finest hour, i liked them less and less every album after this one...

Willie
Moderator
February 10th 2010



15774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

have you heard their latest?

Digging: Teramaze - Esoteric Symbolism



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy