Pagan Reign
Ancient Fortress


4.0
excellent

Review

by hermitspancho USER (2 Reviews)
February 25th, 2008 | 15 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Folk metal gallop of a record that (thankfully)manages completly without a Lute

Pagan Reign, you may be familiar with them but if not allow me to introduce them.
A Russian 5 piece formed in 1997 they specialise in pagan folk metal ,main lyrical theme being Slavonic pride although they (the band) are anxious to point out that these do not support national socialism. I for one find that refreshing although it does make little actual difference considering my complete lack of Russian .

Instrumentally Pagan Reign include many of the folk staples on this record ranging from flutes to a Mandolin via the usual array of pipes .They then add metal guitar (of course ) fast paced drumming and beautiful rotating rhythms .The thing that strikes me about the music and maybe sets them apart from other folk acts of this nature, is the air of black metal running a consistent thread throughout ,aggressive barking vocals ,angular guitar riffs and an atmosphere that exudes ancient desolation build around the melody and coupled with the own language vocal leaves you with a real feel for the lyrical theme without ever actually understanding a single lyric.

The album is nicely measured with no tailing off towards the end .The 12 tracks are equally valid with no apparent filler .I like the way each song is dual paced in itself ,almost everyone building to an crescendo which helps to keep the flow moving at a swift rate throughout .You know for every quiet softly taken lead there will be noise and mayhem to follow. Another aspect I should mention are the guitar solo’s which I particularly liked as I hadn't expected them let alone of the quality that they are .


This is melodic, blackish folk metal with speed that steamrollers over you at points only to soothe your troubled brow (I’m assuming being steamrollered leaves you troubled) with a mesmeric acoustic segment full of ambience and meaning .I even dig the keyboards throughout and the bagpipes which fit surprisingly well. The pipes, in general, are really well played and come in at appropriate times which is fair to say of all the instruments, each serves a purpose and is not just there to make the inlay look attractive.


Summing up ,this offers more than it says on the tin, is darker and more aggressive than you might expect of a folk metal band (even a Pagan one )The pace is lightening and the players can certainly handle their instruments (yes even the bagpiper)

Stand out tracks include , Slavonic Rise, In The Time of Tales and Rarog

I’d recommend this to any fan of folk or black metal in fact


user ratings (10)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
hermitspancho
February 25th 2008


278 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh **** ....review no 1 ..go easy...or not This Message Edited On 02.25.08

BallsToTheWall
February 25th 2008


44800 Comments


Not bad for a first review, a bit short and you could add some more, maybe a pargraph or two, but decent. band sounds really interesting. I'll check it out.

Digging: Pink Turns Blue - If Two Worlds Kiss

hermitspancho
February 25th 2008


278 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this reviewing lark is harder than it looks .

I added a paragraph ,next time (if there is one) I'll take a lot longer over the review!

SCREAM!
February 25th 2008


10336 Comments


Lol i know what you mean^^ XD

VEry good for a first review though. This sounds really interesting. You definately convinced me to check it out.

rasputin
February 25th 2008


14555 Comments


Yeah, the review is good because it's made me want to check this out, much like Scream. Looks pretty awesome.

hermitspancho
February 26th 2008


278 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cheers guys.

Eakflanderyof
February 27th 2008


2143 Comments


Review is pretty good. It makes me want to listen to Pagan Reign, which I did again. As I thought before, they are just your standard folk metal band. Really nothing new here although they some cool melodies. Nothing that holds my interest, though, as with most folk metal.

I remember going through a folk metla craze about a year ago. I listened to all the undergound folk metal bands like this. That lasted for about a month until I got bored of it all.

SCREAM!
February 27th 2008


10336 Comments


I know what you mean...Folk metal has to be done really well or really uniquely now to keep my interest. I'll still check this out out of curiosity

Poet
February 27th 2008


5935 Comments


I like lutes

hermitspancho
March 9th 2008


278 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

'that lasted for about a month until I got bored of it all

amen to that!Folk metal gets old very quickly

This Message Edited On 03.09.08This Message Edited On 03.09.08

radagastthebrown
January 30th 2009


2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this music is Folk Black metal, imo

Zion
December 1st 2010


812 Comments


Noticed this review because of Wolfhorde's list. Why has no one pointed out that you should not be putting any spaces before a period, and the same goes for parentheses. Has nothing to do with the points in the review, just saying. Otherwise a decent review. Allow me to totally re-write the first paragraph though as an example.

Original: Pagan Reign, you may be familiar with them but if not allow me to introduce them.
A Russian 5 piece formed in 1997 they specialise in pagan folk metal ,main lyrical theme being Slavonic pride although they (the band) are anxious to point out that these do not support national socialism. I for one find that refreshing although it does make little actual difference considering my complete lack of Russian .

Edited: Pagan Reign is a Russian 5 piece pagan folk metal band which formed in 1997. Their main lyrical theme is Slavonic pride, however the band is anxious to point out that they do not support national socialism. I find this refreshing though it makes little difference as I do not speak or understand Russian.

Just a quick edit, but hopefully you get the idea (if you even still use this site, which I'm doubting.)

Hawks
December 1st 2010


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah dude this was almost 3 years ago I doubt he's gonna see it haha. Weird that you bumped this though because I also noticed it because of Wolfhorde's list and I'm listening to it right now.

Zion
December 1st 2010


812 Comments


Is it good? Well you have it rated 4... the album cover just made me not so sure. But what the hell, here goes!

hermitspancho
October 4th 2011


278 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol. i'm kind of back after some considerable gap and somewhat surprised to find I reviews that survived.
I appreciate the advice even at this late stage!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy