Burn the Priest
Burn the Priest


3.0
good

Review

by The Writer Ov This Review USER (50 Reviews)
February 25th, 2008 | 20 replies


Release Date: 1999 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Burn the Priest is Lamb of God before the name change, and with the name change came drastic musical change

Lamb of God is a well known band today, there are very little people that know of Burn the Priest though. Before Lamb of God was the beloved Groove metal band they are today they were a much heavier almost grindcore-ish band. The only member of LoG that isn't featured on this cd is Willie Adler. In his spot is Abe Spear who plays a very different style than Willie.

What was good about the album: This cd is fueled with an amazing amount of adreneline all the way through, its sounds like Randy is truly pissed off when he shrieks. The drumming is great, and plays a fairly big part in the mix. The album isn't that long so it doesn't drag as much as some albums can. The album runs a little over 30 minutes.

The drumming on the album is amazing, he plays extremely fast and I see no flaws in that department. On Resurrection #9 some of Randy's highs remind me of Dani Filth's. The slow paced songs on the album seem to be the highlights, Goatfish is a slower paced song that could be great but it suffers from being too short.

There is a little Southern influence in some of the riffs and songs, this is most notable on the song Buckeye, throwing that in the mix helps this album so it doesn't drag so much. The guitarwork on this album is much simpler then the style that Lamb of God play today, which is not a bad thing because it fits the rest of the instruments, and they all mesh together great.

What was bad about the album: Randy's unique vocal style is rarely heard throughout the album, through most of the album you can't even tell that he is on vocals. This wouldn't be such a problem if there was more variation used in the vocal approach. Most of the album is just all out shrieks, there are a few spoken word parts kind of like at the beginning of Laid to Rest. A growl is thrown in here an there but there is very little variation throughout the cd. This causes the album to drag a bit. The spoken word parts can get a bit annoying and take away from whats going on in the song. I follow all of Randys projects because i can't get enough of his voice, not having his unique sound on this album threw me off a bit but its definetely better than Halo of Locust where his growls sounded liked a mad gorilla. Some of the songs on the album seem to have the same structure, and some just flat out sound the same.

Like most grind songs most of the songs are very short, which in this albums case is a bad thing, just when your getting into the song it changes to the next there are a few songs on the disc that are above 3 minutes but not that many. Even if you don't like Lamb of God I reccomend you check out this cd, even though its not the best album ever to grace the earth its still a pretty good album.

If you like Lamb of God and your thinking about checking this out, it is most comparable to New American Gospel. Overall I give this album a 3 out of 5. This album isn't getting an average rating from me because of how good the instruments mesh together. The reason its not higher than a 3 is because of the lack of vocal variation and the fact that some of the songs have the same structure.



Recent reviews by this author
Ghoul Transmission ZeroBlaspherian Infernal Warriors of Death
Haeresiarchs Of Dis Denuntiatus CinisAna Kefr The Burial Tree (II)
Autaric Demo 2009Candle Serenade Nosferatu's Passion
user ratings (166)
Chart.
3.2
good
other reviews of this album
Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (3.5)
Listeners’ take a step down well known band Lamb of God’s memory lane where there are some tight...

recommended by reviewer
Lamb of God New American Gospel

Comments:Add a Comment 
combustion07
February 25th 2008


5420 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I shpuld've spent a little more time on this.

SCREAM!
February 25th 2008


10399 Comments


Not bad for a first. Nice to see you finaly reviewing. It could use some more description music-wise though(all you have is 2 average sized paragraphs).
I'll pos this cause i know that with practice you can write some quality reviews. Good start.

About the album: all i've heard is Resurection #9 and its pretty good. Might check this out after all the other stuff i have to check out first :p

Digging: Svartidau?i - Flesh Cathedral

BroRape
February 25th 2008


803 Comments


i really like this album. i bought it a long time ago. bloodletting is an essential burn the priest/lamb of god song.

combustion07
February 25th 2008


5420 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah Bloodletting is probably the best on here, it hits you like a freight train. This is my 2nd btw.

Willie
Moderator
February 25th 2008


16149 Comments


Good review... if this is your second then the first one got deleted or you're using a different screen name... I don't like Lamb of God and I don't like Grind, so I'm thinking I'll avoid the actual album though.

Digging: Mors Principium Est - Dawn Of The 5th Era

combustion07
February 25th 2008


5420 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I used to be blackened07 I got banned, my first review was for the Impending Doom album.

HighandDriving
February 25th 2008


3288 Comments


Ohh don't you love permabans?
I've been banned once a long long time ago.

combustion07
February 25th 2008


5420 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah I was pretty mad I had nearly 1000 posts. :/

beans
February 25th 2008


2332 Comments


yeah i remember your old account
this is a good review too man
keep them coming

combustion07
February 25th 2008


5420 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm already working on another, I'll spend a little more time on it than I did this one, hopefully I'll improve. Btw advice on how to make it better would be nice.

skullcrusher149
February 25th 2008


560 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review! But, you have some punctuation errors and some wordy sentences.

Wizard
February 25th 2008


19647 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice to see you finally pop out a review Combustion. I would probably proofread it a little more but the quality of descriptions is bang on.

In his spot is Mike which plays a very different style than Willie.


I would probably add Mike's last name in there and change 'which' to 'who'. This is just one of the many errors that need some tweaking.

But first reviews are always expected to be this way so only time and practise will make your writing alot better!

The album is a good listen once in a while. Sacrament rules!

I used to be blackened07 I got banned


I wouldnt admit this if I were you because they might ban you again. How did you get banned in the first place might I ask hahahaha! This Message Edited On 02.25.08

Digging: Horseback and Locrian - New Dominions

theyneedyou
February 25th 2008


229 Comments


HEY COMBUSTION! I was the other user that got banned with you cause we kept talking about WWE Monday Night Raw. haha

That Illuvutar is a jerk

BallsToTheWall
February 25th 2008


44805 Comments


Lol, good review brother. Just, close the spaces,

theyneedyou
February 25th 2008


229 Comments


But yeah, Resurrection #9 is my fav.

combustion07
February 25th 2008


5420 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Resurrection #9 is great. I got banned for spamming, and thanks for all the positive comments guys I'm going to go edit the review for a little while.

Slaytan
February 25th 2008


1186 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The album isn't that long so it doesn't drag as much as some albums can it runs a little over 30 minutes I believe.
You may want to break this line up, or change it around a bit; other than that a bit more detail would have been nice, but good job.
And I too remember your old username, I was unaware you got banned until just now.

TerrorAndHubris
March 2nd 2008


2 Comments


Pretty good review. But I disagree with a lot of points. For one this album wasn't meant to be death metal. Just straight up metal. And two Randy's voice at this point is before the voice we know and love today. This was his first time doing these types of vocals therefore it's not the voice heard on Ashes, or Palaces, etc.

combustion07
April 23rd 2008


5420 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I know that, I'm pretty sure I said something to that effect in the review.

ianjulian
July 20th 2009


637 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

randy is very brutal



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy