Acumen Nation
Psycho the Rapist


4.0
excellent

Review

by Trey Spencer STAFF
February 22nd, 2008 | 43 replies | 8,310 views


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Acumen Nation are back and playing some of the best Industrial that I've heard in recent memory. It's a mix of their old style with the newfound Metal elements of their last album.

Acumen Nation are an Industrial band that have been around since the early 90’s, and in my opinion they’ve released some pretty solid albums with only a few stumbles along the way. Since this is an album review and not a band history I’m not going to explain the few glitches they’ve had in their career, I’ll just focus on the change they made on their last album Anticore. On that album they dropped a lot of the electronic influences of the past and released an album with songs which were three-quarters Metalcore and one-quarter Industrial. It had some decent riffs, and some memorable parts, but it was bogged down in redundancy and a feeling that they weren’t quite sure how to go about creating the sound they were shooting for. Due to the fact that their last album just wasn’t that great, I wasn’t even aware that Psycho the Rapist had been released until a few days ago… so is it any good or just an extension of Anticore?

The answer is a simple one if you know anything about Acumen Nation’s history. After the last time they released a crap album (Strike 4) they came back with one of the most solid Industrial releases in their career, and it seems that, to a lesser extent, that is what they’ve done again. Acumen Nation plays a different kind of Industrial then some might be used to. They don’t do the sadness of NIN, or the dark eerie sounds of Skinny Puppy, or even the Industrialized Metal of Ministry. What they do is take a solid Electro-base which includes semi-danceable, yet mechanical, beats and add various synths and studio effects and then integrate riffs into the mix, and deliver it in an aggressive and highly sarcastic manner, and that is what they’ve done here except they’ve retained some of the Metalcore elements of the past album; mainly in the riffs and the occasional beat.

The opening track starts off a bit misleading because it seems like it is going to just be a repeat of Anticore. It starts with the heavy riffs and rolling double bass, but it soon settles into a more comfortable Industrial groove including a rhythmic beat and various synth sound effects. Even the vocals have brought back some of the Industrial influence and dropped the excessive over-the-top hardcore shouts. The following song “Hatchet Harry” is even better in that it is a high energy Industrial song full of speedy Drum&Bass beats, heavy, almost punky, riffs and aggressive distorted vocals, and it’s catchy which was something that was missing on the last album.

The following songs continue the trend of mixing their old style with the Metal of their last album, including danceable beats and highly processed guitars on “Elective Surgical Strike” to the rhythmic Industrial Metal of “Sirvix”. Acumen Nation even go one better then they’ve done on their last few albums and manage to maintain the level of quality from beginning to end. The last few songs on previous Acumen Nation albums were slow boring affairs made up of mostly noise and uninteresting music, but they’ve finally figured out that if they’re going to include it on the album then it might as well be something someone might actually listen to more then once.

This album is definitely a surprise for me because the last few releases just hadn’t been that good. It features a return to the beats, sounds, and attitude of their earlier works and wraps them all up in a more modern Metal feel. What’s even better is that the songs are actually memorable again; featuring sounds, riffs, and even the occasional chorus that will stick in your head after the album is over. If you’re an Acumen Nation fan then I’m sure I’ve already said enough to convince you to check this out, but since the majority probably has no idea who these guys are, I’ll put it in perspective. If you like the Industrial Metal of bands like Nine Inch Nails but wished they were a bit heavier and less emotional, or thought that Skinny Puppy could be a good band if only they added more guitars and dropped some of the eccentricities then this would be a good album for you to check out.



Recent reviews by this author
Anathema Distant SatellitesFlotsam and Jetsam No Place for Disgrace - 2014
Mindcage Our Own DevicesFates Warning Darkness in a Different Light
Queensryche QueensrycheSkinny Puppy Weapon
user ratings (18)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
February 22nd 2008



15898 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They have one song on their Myspace page from this album, but it's not even a whole song... it's just a sample and a bad one too.

Digging: Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse - 20th Year Anniversary

Pebster49
February 22nd 2008



2991 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Listening to the Myspace songs, sounds interesting...

Willie
Moderator
February 22nd 2008



15898 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They're one of my favorite Industrial bands... only Skinny Puppy ranks higher.

Wizard
February 22nd 2008



19298 Comments


and playing some of the best Industrial that I've heard in recent memory.

Did someone say good industrial? Even though I listen to the industrial bands that everyone knows about ie. Ministry, NIN etc. , I'm always open to broadening my horizon in the industrial genre.
I’ll put it in perspective. If you like the Industrial Metal of bands like Nine Inch Nails but wished they were a bit heavier and less emotional, or thought that Skinny Puppy could be a good band if only they added more guitars and dropped some of the eccentricities then this would be a good album for you to check out.

That line did it for me!
Excellent review once again Willie. Your taste in music is unique and I enjoy your obscure band choices!



Digging: Downer - Downer

Willie
Moderator
February 22nd 2008



15898 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That line did it for me!

Excellent review once again Willie. Your taste in music is unique and I enjoy your obscure band choices!
Cool, thanks. I like a lot of bands that would be considered obscure, which makes the reviews a little less noticed, but I don't really mind. If you get a chance to check it out let me know what you think (there are torrents for it... although I bought mine through iTunes).

BallsToTheWall
February 22nd 2008



44164 Comments


Reviews tend to dissapear in a flash, but another good review, nice to see your still alive on Sputnik as well old man. Just kidding but this sounds pretty interesting. I'll go myspace this tomorrow.

Willie
Moderator
February 23rd 2008



15898 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, I've been having to study more lately so haven't been able to participate much here... just remember that the sample they have from this album on their Myspace just isn't that good... the song is good, but taken out of context it just doesn't sound that great.

Pebster49
February 23rd 2008



2991 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Alright I bought this and Anti-gone...better be good fool, lol

Willie
Moderator
February 23rd 2008



15898 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ha ha, this one is good... you might like Anticore too since you've never heard their earlier stuff... let me know what you think!

Edit: Although I'm a bit more curious if you will like it now that I went through your ratings and didn't see any industrial other then NIN rated at a 3 or higher...This Message Edited On 02.23.08

Pebster49
February 23rd 2008



2991 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

well I liked that myspace song and you said that was the worst one so ya...i like genghis tron but they are more cyber grind so nvm

Willie
Moderator
February 23rd 2008



15898 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If you liked the song on their Myspace then you'll like the album for sure....
I just read the Genghis Tron review and am currently trying to find song samples from the EP and the new album.

Pebster49
February 23rd 2008



2991 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

There new album is awesome, they are probably one of my favorite new band lately.

Willie
Moderator
February 23rd 2008



15898 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Their entire back-catalog is awesome (except for Strike 4... and More Human Heart is lacking in places)... The 5ifth Column and Territory=Universe are their best albums, although this new one might beat them out.

Glad I didn't steer you wrong ;)This Message Edited On 02.23.08

Pebster49
February 23rd 2008



2991 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

IM digging the new one better than Anti-gone...It just has a better darker feeling than Anti-gone...Im stuck inbetween a 3.5 and 4 for this one.

Pebster49
February 23rd 2008



2991 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh and I was talking abnout Genghis Tron the comment before the last one.

Willie
Moderator
February 24th 2008



15898 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like what I've heard from Genghis Tron... I'm planning on seeing if they're on iTunes in a few minutes... if not, off to Amazon.
If you like this one then you should give the other two I mentioned a shot whenever you have time.

Pebster49
February 25th 2008



2991 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

are they simular to this one?

theyneedyou
February 25th 2008



229 Comments


I heard they named this album after the guitarist from Static X.

Willie
Moderator
February 25th 2008



15898 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

are they simular to this one?
Well, Territory=Universe has the dark vibe that this one has, but The 5ifth Column is heavier... and neither of them are as metal influenced as the two albums you just got... so maybe my reccomendation should be considered lightly cause you may have already found the two you'll like the most.

fireaboveicebelow
August 23rd 2008



6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

every time I listen to this I'm reminded of Al Jourgenson's horror movie



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy