Ne Obliviscaris
The Aurora Veil


3.5
great

Review

by Ethereal Space Yogurt USER (205 Reviews)
January 25th, 2008 | 56 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Progressive black metal, jazz, melodic death metal, flamenco with Opeth dynamics. In short, it's great.

When it comes to Metal there is always a good chance to find a quality band that stands out from the others in the stale and overcrowded genre. Many stick to the tried and true formulas, not bothering to inject any sign of originality in their music but instead ripping off some of the greats while still garnering great commercial success. Amongst the vast number of metal bands that expand in number with each passing day, comes one band that have gone against the grain and produced a demo of epic proportions, surpassing what many of their contemparies have tried to accomplish. I found this band "Ne Obliviscaris" while scrolling down "Be'Lakors" my space searching for something new. I found gold with this band.

"Ne Obliviscaris" are one of those bands that can not be pigeonholed into any type of genre. Their style is too eclectic and experimental to fit in with what most of the current scene is trying to pull. Their style recalls many influences ranging from black metal, progressive, jazz, melodic death metal, and flamenco. "The Aurora Veil" is a 3 track EP that averages about 11 minutes with each track. About 34 minutes long, this band pulls off quite a feat for just a demo. A 6 man group at the time when this was released, included two guitarists, a violinist/ back up vocals, a drummer, a bassist, and a main vocalist responsible for all the mayhem. While having a sound of their own, their song structures can be compared with the likes of Opeth and Agalloch. Not a bad comparison for a young up and coming band out of Australia. The music itself balances itself between the melancholy and aggression of metal with the technical structures of progressive music. They play the soft/heavy dynamics pretty well that would even make Opeth proud. Of course playing technical patterns wouldn't mean anything without good songwriting skills. Fortunately," Ne Obliviscaris" excel at creating the songs memorable while at a whole challenging. The production of the disk is better than most bands at their demo stages. Regardless, it captures the music with great emotion and I can hear each instrument cleanly.

You might have noticed that this band has a violin player. Tim's role is not diminished to just merging with the wall of guitars to create a mood but instead greatly shines during the instrumental sections as the vocals end and the acoustic guitar underlines the violin to near perfection. The guitar work from Matt and Corey is varied and excels at providing the crushing rhythms needed to maintain the aggressive metal edge to the music as well as shifting to the other direction with the occasional and well executed solos and clean riffing. The acoustic sections are played nicely as well, being able to balance the heaviness with the melody to a great degree. The vocal work is divided between Xenoyr who provides all the harsh vocals and the violin player, Tim who contributes the singing. Exonyr uses the higher pitched black metal shrieks with the lower growls typical to the death metal scene, Not quite as crisp as Akerdfeldt but still pretty good. Tim’s singing voice can be debated because at a few times they can annoy the listener but the bulk of the time they are delivered with great strength and emotion. A huge positive that I came upon while listening to this was that the bassist plays a great role. Brendan's bass lines can be heard greatly as the music begins to roll. "Tapestry" for example opens with a black metal feel as blaring double bass and a distorted riff opens the song with the bass work starting to be heard at the 4 second mark. The drums are a bit low in the mix but played with speed and dexterity. Blaring double bass and blast beat patterns during the faster paced sections and slower fills around the tempo changes.

In my opinion, this is one of if not the greatest demo I have ever heard. "Ne Obliviscaris have covered so much ground in a 34 minutes, being able to provide multiple genres into a solid Metal base with great success that I am hungrily anticipating their full length debut. Fans of Opeth and Agalloch or those who love music from the progressive rock and metal spectrums should definitely give this a spin. I am greatly impressed with what I have heard from this highly talented group of individuals and looking forward to the future.

Xenoyr - Lead Vocals & Lyrics
Tim Charles - Violin & Clean Vocals
Daniel 'Mortuary' Presland - Drums
Corey King-Guitar( left band, will be replaced.)
Matt Klavins - Guitar
Brendan 'Cygnus' Brown - Bass



Recent reviews by this author
Vampyric Blood Ordo DraculPagan Hammer Ode To My fathers
Destroyer 666 Of Wolves, Women & WarSo Hideous Last Poem/First Light
13th Moon The Pale Spectre over the WormTheophany Time's End: Majora's Mask Remixed
user ratings (119)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
soul27
January 25th 2008


38 Comments


Sounds pretty interesting to check out, nice review!

hermitspancho
January 25th 2008


278 Comments


sounds well worth a listen .

BallsToTheWall
January 25th 2008


44805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thank you both. I am so hooked to this, I might have to rate this higher, quite unheard of for a demo.

soul27
January 25th 2008


38 Comments


In the middle of listening to Tapestry on their Myspace and I love it so far! I guess I should get this.

hermitspancho
January 25th 2008


278 Comments


mate your review got its spot on about the violin.Listening to 'As icicles fall ' now and the thing is beautiful.I cant choose a better word than that

Name was a ***** to type into my wanted list!This Message Edited On 01.25.08

Crimson
January 25th 2008


1935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn, I wanted to review this! Ne Oblivscaris are fecking amazing. One of your best reviews too, the first track is called 'Tapestry of the Starless Abstract' though.

BallsToTheWall
January 25th 2008


44805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh yeah, i'll change it. It's cool that you already knew these guys.

Crimson
January 25th 2008


1935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They're one of my favourite bands, I mentioned them in my Be'lakor review iirc. The first track is one of my favourite tracks of all time.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2008


16485 Comments


Interesting... very interesting indeed... nice review.

BallsToTheWall
January 25th 2008


44805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thank you, i'm sure you'd like this. Australia has some quality new bands.

Tyler
Emeritus
January 25th 2008


7926 Comments


Jazz.

Hah. I'll check their MySpace out because with a cover as awful as that this has to be funny.

edit: The vocals are weak as shit. The shitty "avant-garde" noodling after the intro of Tapestry is laughable at best, musically offensive at worst. The clean moaning sounds pretty awkward and gets pretty terrible when he tries to sing in a register that's obviously way out of his range. Pretty tone deaf and offensive to the ears.

This is "progressive black/death" that does almost nothing to stand out. The violins are pretty unnecessary. The clean vocals are, as I said, atrocious. The harsh vocals are weak but tolerable. This has nothing to do with Opeth, it DEFINITELY has nothing to do with Agalloch and Insomnium dont belong there either.

Some of the guitar work was cool, the bass was solid and the drums were solid but uninteresting.

The second half of Tapestry might as well be another song.

These guys try way too hard. I could see this as a 3.5 at best, but not worth any of the hyperbole or ridiculous comparisons you're making.

It's solid and there's definite potential, it is obviously a demo. But they're trying way too hard to do way too many things. And it sounds awkward, disjointed and forced as a result. They sound best at their simplest, most notably the second half of Tapestry, after that unnecessary break that goes absolutely nowhere. And then a shitty "black metal" part comes in and kills it. They definitely need to give up the black metal stuff, they dont pull it off at all.

And also, one of the worst band names I've ever heard.This Message Edited On 01.25.08

BallsToTheWall
January 25th 2008


44805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Personally I love the violins. Clean vocals aren't that great, I agree with a lot of your points. It is a solid starting point though, so i'm looking forward to hearing the future of these guys when they releases their debut. Names not too bad when you come down on a lot of other stuff. Majestic Downfall,Watain,Wyrd, anything with Dragon, too many to name honestly.This Message Edited On 01.25.08

Tyler
Emeritus
January 25th 2008


7926 Comments


Name is infinitely worse than "Majestic Downfall". This is good, I wont say it isn't, it just tries way too hard and tries to do way too much.

ColdDamnation
January 25th 2008


159 Comments


damn, personally I think everyone should be banned from likening any band to Opeth...its just automaticly dissapointing.

I don't get it

BallsToTheWall
January 25th 2008


44805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah because Opeth are god. Actually I'm starting to realize the faults a bit. Vocals alone arent bad but not terrific. 4 was a bit too trigger happy considering this is a demo. Meh, 3.5 seems more appropriate.

ColdDamnation
January 25th 2008


159 Comments


its not bad...I'd never be able to play drums as fast as he does...kind of random though

Willie
Moderator
January 25th 2008


16149 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

You sold me with the summary (but I still read the whole thing and voted)... I'll have to check this out after I'm finished streaming PTH's new album.

Edit: Is January 1st, 2007 really the release date or did you just miss it?This Message Edited On 01.25.08

Digging: Mors Principium Est - Dawn Of The 5th Era

BallsToTheWall
January 25th 2008


44805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I missed it, i'll edit that bit out shortly.

Pebster49
January 25th 2008


2993 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is good shit, just the clean vocals kinda bother me a little, maybe hes a little to hitting the high notes a little too high.

Tyler
Emeritus
January 25th 2008


7926 Comments


He's not hitting the notes at all.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy