Born of Osiris
The New Reign


3.0
good

Review

by HoudiniLogic USER (2 Reviews)
January 24th, 2008 | 264 replies | 39,494 views


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: With all the imitation bands in the metal scene, its nice to see a band that tries something a bit different.

15 of 17 thought this review was well written

With the whole metal and hardcore scene that's been growing as of late, generating copycat bands that just don't seem to do anything different, its nice to see a band try and do something a little out of the ordinary. Now while Born of Osiris certainly doesn't break new ground it definitely is a breath of fresh air in the scene. Being that this is their first take in the genre, I wouldn't say its to bad of an album at all. The main attraction for me behind the heavily distorted guitars, intense blast beats from the drums and the almost non existent bass is the keyboard. While it doesnt make an appearance in every song it seems to bring out a more creative side of the band that most bands coming out nowadays lack.

Born of Osiris's problem is simply that they their songs are to short. The eight songs present on the album range from only two minutes to about three and a half. Here's another problem that the band faces, because each track is short it tries to cram a 7 minute song into three minutes by taking pieces of different styles of metal and putting it into a mish-mosh that doesn't even last four minutes long. While its clear that this band was created to be different, the track length problems keep it from being so.

The opener track Rosecrance opens up and immediately hits you with its heaviness. The screams accompanied by dropped guitars and crushing drums definitely get your attention. After all hell has broke loose, the keyboard comes in, changing the tone of the song which shows how the band is ever yearning to be progressive. Like I said before, the main attraction seems to be the keyboard and its easy to see why. Tracks like Open Arms to Damnation and Abstract Art provide catchy and strange sounding keyboard sounds that certainly will catch the listeners interest. One of my favorite moments coming from the keyboard is the outro of The Takeover that sounds like a classically influenced sound. One aspect that may turn the listener off is the exclusion of clean vocals. While their is not one second of clean vocals on this album the screams and growls on the album are decent and while it brings nothing new to the table, it stands its ground.

Born of Osiris does a good job of catching your attention with its odd song patterns and wacky keyboard parts but short track length, typical drum beats, vocals and guitar riffs seem to keep this album from its full potential. When all is said and done, this is definitely a good first outing for a band coming out a music scene that is becoming old and tired.


user ratings (973)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Kit Brown (2)
Born of Osiris’ debut will surely attract fans of the already huge deathcore scene but ultimately ...


Comments:Add a Comment 
gasmaskman
January 25th 2008



1006 Comments


They kind of sound like the Faceless.

Good review.

Pluh
January 25th 2008



579 Comments


i saw them in concert before, and they weren't anything too special. i'm pretty sure i understand you when you say that their songs are too short, as a lot of the times i'll try and get into a beat that they have going, but then it jumps directly to something else. kind of choppy writing :/

Metalikane
January 25th 2008



851 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

These guys are really good live. I don't know that I'd say the keyboards are their main element since the guitars are more present and in your face than anything else. The keyboards come in every now and again to add emphasis to a change or breakdown. They remind me of a less technical Faceless or old Between the Buried and Me, although they do have their own thing going. Very good stuff for their debut. Nice review.

asdemonsburn
January 25th 2008



793 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

good review

this band definitely has potential.

and yes they sound like the faceless, more specifically a younger version (or if you want to put a negative spin on it, watered down version) of them.


Pebster49
January 25th 2008



2991 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I have this, but I haven't really looked at it...I might give it a try if its something kinda new.

combustion07
January 25th 2008



5343 Comments


I've heard most of this, I like it.
Good review I shall vote.

AbyssalCreation
January 25th 2008



2041 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pretty nice review, although i don't think you give them enough credit.Love this album was definitely in my top 5 of 07.It was too short though.

beans
January 25th 2008



2332 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

pretty good review, try to put more detail in next time, but i wont neg it. i like this band a good live act but i do agree that thier songs could be longer

Pebster49
January 25th 2008



2991 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Wow, im impressed like two songs in to this album...leaning towards a 4 right now. The keyboards are used very well, with the very nice clean lead guitar sound. They almost remind me like a fusion of maybe Protest the Hero and The Faceless.

jrowa001
January 26th 2008



8750 Comments


i remember checking this band out on myspace and i was extremely bored. they did try something different which i respect but they didnt pull it off very well.

gasmaskman: NOTHING like the Faceless

botb
January 26th 2008



9648 Comments


yeah they sound absolutely nothing like the faceless

my friends band played with these guys not too long ago...

Pebster49
January 27th 2008



2991 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They use the keyboards in the same way as the faceless, the Death Metal with keyboards/synithisers(sp?)

blackout
January 30th 2008



5 Comments


There are definately similarities to the faceless in parts, although that is partly due to the fact that their production is almost identical (both bands recorded by the faceless' guitarist).

This is one of my favourites of 07, its a ridiculously tight record. I dont think they chop and change too much, it keeps me interested. I'd probably prefer they just had another 4-5 songs on the album instead of extending the songs themselves


gasmaskman
January 30th 2008



1006 Comments


Well I listened to the songs on their myspace and thought they sounded similar....I dunno.

jayballer14
February 9th 2008



15 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

bowdown is a killer song

Lostandfound2
February 14th 2008



271 Comments


i disagree with the drummer being "typical"..... i would say something more like "technical", or "boner inspiring" perhaps

Lostandfound2
February 14th 2008



271 Comments


tiny bit of btbam in their sound

Metalikane
February 14th 2008



851 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Older BTBAM.

Lostandfound2
February 14th 2008



271 Comments


yeah its really good however you compare it.... im looking forward to a new release

Metalikane
February 14th 2008



851 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ditto.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy