Damien Rice
O


4.5
superb

Review

by Channing Freeman STAFF
January 22nd, 2008 | 24 replies | 5,510 views


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist


Come all ye brokenhearted, gather 'round and listen to a modern-day troubadour. Damien Rice specializes in simple folk songs that, instead of raw instrumental or lyrical talent, rely on pure honesty and emotion to convey a message. O is his best work so far, a tour de force that is so good that it's almost impossible not to be touched in some way by it. The album starts off very strongly with "Delicate," a good representation of pretty much everything you'll find on the album. It starts out quietly with softly strummed chords and Damien singing quietly. When the chorus starts, the violins come in and stay throughout the entire record. They add so much to the music, increasing the beauty by an immeasurable amount. Rice's voice is smooth and calming, able to hit highs and lows effortlessly; the fact that such moments are unexpected makes them an even more satisfying release when he lets loose and shouts the lyrics. On "Volcano" we get our first taste of Lisa Hannigan. Whereas Damien's voice is reassuring and strong, Hannigan's is fragile, vulnerable, and ultimately deliciously depressing. The vocal interplay between the two is one of the best parts of the record.

Every song has its own highlight, from the beautiful guitar work in "Cannonball" to Hannigan's part at the end of "The Blower's Daughter" to the lone violins in "Amie." But perhaps the album's best moments are its most intense. "I Remember" is certainly Rice's most surprising song, starting out as one of the quietest tracks and ending as the loudest. Hannigan is at her most vulnerable for the first half and Rice is at his most emotional for the second half and the final release that the cacophonous ending brings is absolutely perfect. The whole album builds up to "Eskimo," which houses the album's top moment, Doreen Curran's opera singing. This album was certainly a huge surprise for me, who was expecting something good, not amazing. Rice's simple yet exceedingly pretty guitar playing paired with his and Hannigan's vocals, stunning string arrangements, and general depressing-in-a-good-way mood makes for one of my favorite albums ever. While O might not be a classic, it's damn close.

Damien Rice has proven himself as one of music's most emotional and touching figures. But he is truly at his best when he simply speaks out to you and to me, to anyone who's ever been in love, to anyone who's been hurt, and especially to anyone who's just been down,

down,

down...



Recent reviews by this author
The Menzingers Rented WorldLa Dispute Rooms of the House
Miley Cyrus BangerzLetlive. The Blackest Beautiful
Kanye West YeezusThe National Trouble Will Find Me
user ratings (540)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
nowhereman1991 (3.5)
Rice's debut is marked by beautiful highs and, when he goes too far, dramatic lows....

Hatshepsut (5)
The only album that I will rate a 5 that has cheesy lyrics....

Tyler Fisher EMERITUS (4.5)
...

dans107 (5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
plane
Staff Reviewer
January 22nd 2008



6073 Comments


hay nice sound off
but good job!

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
January 22nd 2008



17914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

see from now on i am going to write reviews like this becasue then people actually read the whole thing

pulseczar
January 22nd 2008



2385 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

way to sell out

Kiran
Emeritus
January 22nd 2008



5993 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

totally sucks that lisa hannigan quit

good review

Abaddon2005
January 22nd 2008



684 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I like 9 a whole lot more. nice review

JumpTheF**kUp
January 22nd 2008



2708 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is good, review is good.

Altmer
January 22nd 2008



5652 Comments


this album is sod folk

rasputin
January 22nd 2008



14504 Comments


see from now on i am going to write reviews like this becasue then people actually read the whole thing

No, people generally read the whole thing if it's a good review. This one was pretty good though, voted.

plane
Staff Reviewer
January 22nd 2008



6073 Comments


how will they know if it's good if they don't want to read it for length
tl;dr

Altmer
January 22nd 2008



5652 Comments


this review is sod ubm

rasputin
January 22nd 2008



14504 Comments


how will they know if it's good if they don't want to read it for length

By having a good introduction. If I'm already bored before I even get into the review, it's a boring review and I most probably won't read it. If you've ever written an essay for school, you should know what I'm talking about.

chickenfish
January 22nd 2008



1008 Comments


Good review. I love this album.

astrel
January 22nd 2008



2613 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

tl;dr


NOTINTHEFACE
January 22nd 2008



1653 Comments


Good review. Very to-the-point and concise. I've been meaning to get this for about a year now. Maybe I'll stop putting it off soon.

hermitspancho
January 24th 2008



277 Comments


Lisa Hannigan has a beautiful voice ....I seen them live and she is also extremely easy on the eye ,I think I spent the whole gig looking at her and possibly drooling in a decidedly unattractive fashion.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
January 24th 2008



17914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ya she is very cute. I'm interested to hear how good her solo stuff will be now that she's left Rice's band.

hermitspancho
January 24th 2008



277 Comments


she has a demo on her myspace that sounds ok,very folky/Irish .

DBRuss2777
January 31st 2008



30 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I downloaded this album almost 4 years ago during a snow storm. At first I thought it was a bit boring, well maybe just because it was snowing and I was bored anyway. you know?
anyway damien really is a genius, i saw him live in new york back in may. to be completely honest, it was a bit boring at time.. but i didn't fall asleep like DB did at the Coldplay concert lol
anyway. all around the album is good, and a lot better than 9 in my opinion.

Intransit
February 19th 2008



2797 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wow.

I just fully listened to this album.

And holy shit, this is fantastic.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2008



17914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

aw yeah boii



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy