Trash Talk
Plagues


3.5
great

Review

by John weathered old reviewer Hanson STAFF
January 16th, 2008 | 46 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: its cool...I'd just rather listen to CEREMONY

Trash Talk, one of the bands on hardcore label Malfunction Records , are one of the many So-Cal hardcore bands trying to make their mark on the fairly saturated scene. Equal parts Ceremony and Life Long Tragedy (but probably a lot more Ceremony), Trash Talk straddle the line in between the fast style Ceremony have suddenly made fashionable and the slower, more songwriting based punk of bands like Blacklisted.

Trash Talk aren’t doing anything really new, they’re just trying to rip your face off at every possible moment. While the Plagues EP starts off with a slow drum beat, you’re quickly introduced to the assault on the ears that is “Scatter”. As we go into “Babylon, CA” the music enfolds into what Trash Talk have previously shown; pissed off hardcore where you cant help but think “sup Infest worship.”

The EP is solid all around, and features all the good stuff fans will be looking for; HEAVY AS FUCK power chords, PISSED OFF AS FUCK shouting, and ANGRY AS FUCK lyrics. The build up in “Manifest Destination” leading up to the climax of the record (which may sound conspicuously like “Kersed” but who cares) in which they proclaim “Maladjusted, Forever fucked, No love for anyone, anyhow, anymore, This curse has ruined me and everyone can see the truth I hold behind these eyes is a lie” is the first great moment in hardcore music this year.

This isn’t gonna take music anywhere new, and probably isn’t even going to be the best Trash Talk record released this year (as hopefully a follow up full length will be out before years end), but if you’re into what Malfunction/Deathwish (the parent label) has been offering lately or like to bandwagon jump, Trash Talk might be the place to go. Even people not normally into the scene should check out songs like “Babylon, CA” and “Manifest Destination” and see if they don’t like it just a little bit.

P.S. it’s 5 minutes long. People with short attention spans, do apply.



Recent reviews by this author
Say Anything HebrewsWashboard Leo Thomas Louisiana Bluegrass
Crusades Perhaps You Deliver This Judgement...Against Me! Transgender Dysphoria Blues
Los Campesinos! No BluesArcade Fire Reflektor
user ratings (164)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2008


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Silly swear filter.

Let's Chop Cats!
January 16th 2008


142 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Solid 7". Wasn't into Walking Disease a whole lot, but this is definitely some of their better stuff. Hopefully the LP later this year will be good.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2008


17944 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ya obvi badass

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2008


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm probably going to review Violence, Violence or Scared People soon. Trash Talk are pretty cool but Ceremony does the sound better.

Doppelganger
January 16th 2008


3124 Comments


I saw these guys a few weeks ago. Pretty great.

Acre
January 17th 2008


847 Comments


No TBIG review? Shame, I was looking forward to pooping all over it...

Never heard of these guys, but the review has be intrigued, and there's nothing that gives me a stiffy like good hardcore.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 17th 2008


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sup itjustleakedyesterday.
And I didn't know you had any interest in hardcore whatsoever, thought iit wasn't experimentalz enough for you.

santi3hg
January 17th 2008


440 Comments


Solid 7".

Personally I prefer Trash Talk over Ceremony but I definitely don't think they go for the same sound.

Let's Chop Cats!
January 17th 2008


142 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

TT definitely go for a more heavy and not as thrashy sound.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 17th 2008


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A lot of what TT go for sounds like a heavier Ruined to me.
But I used ceremony mainly because I liked the gag they pulled on TT at the release show.

edit: http://bp3.blogger.com/_J5dFtIPxQCM/R4wyKFYBHTI/AAAAAAAAAOI/ib9-e_d3vIM/s1600-h/DSC00316.JPGThis Message Edited On 01.17.08

Confessed2005
January 17th 2008


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That artwork is sweet.

Acre
January 17th 2008


847 Comments


And I didn't know you had any interest in hardcore whatsoever, thought iit wasn't experimentalz enough for you.


Actually, it was post-hardcore that first got me into prog. Recently I've been playing around with the more straight-edged "hardcore" bands, and this sounds like as good an EP as any to add to my collection.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 17th 2008


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Message me and we can call each other intensely gay while we share music.
We can both benefit from this endeavor musically!

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
January 17th 2008


17944 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hit me up too i know a lot about hardcore

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 17th 2008


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I swear to god I'm going to deershank you.

santi3hg
January 20th 2008


440 Comments


Whattttttttt. I would say TT goes for the heavy thrash sound and Ceremony goes for the fast sloppy punk sound/heavy. Oh well.

rasputin
January 20th 2008


14555 Comments


Is it actually 5 minutes long, or were you exaggerating just slightly?

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
January 20th 2008


17944 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it actually is

rasputin
January 20th 2008


14555 Comments


So the average song length is like 50 seconds. Sounds pretty sucky.

santi3hg
January 20th 2008


440 Comments


Sounds like you dont know what the fuck you are talking about.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy