Aesop Rock
None Shall Pass


4.5
superb

Review

by Lee Carlson USER (26 Reviews)
January 11th, 2008 | 191 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist


“None Shall Pass,” is the fifth LP released from one of the best artists in hip hop today, Aesop Rock. Using all different influences from many different genres this creative and dynamic artist is able to create songs so catchy, so rhythmic, and so memorable that he deserves to have his name down in history. The music itself, are amazing, and he never seems to run of words to rhyme with. With artists such as Hurricane Chris, and Soulja Boy, who are at the top at the charts but seem to show little to no talent at all, this genre needs someone who has had years of experience. Someone how knows how to make great songs, but most of all needs to show the public what hip hop really means.

The problem with today’s society is that any artist who can spit lyrics out can pay someone $50 to create a beat, sing one line over and over again (“You!”) and make a killing off of it. If you go to a party, you’ll probably hear Soulja Boy’s “Crank Dat,” once or twice. You might hear The Shop Boyz’ “Party Life A Rock Star.” While this songs are catchy they show almost no talent at all, and give both young people and adults the wrong idea about hip hop and the rap scene.

Enter, Aesop Rock’s “None Shall Pass.” From the first minute of Keep Off The Lawn to the hidden track in Coffee, Aesop Rock is able to give you 14 outstanding examples of what true hip hop is, while keeping your head nodding, and you mind attached to the music as well. From the catchy synth in the title track None Shall Pass to the lyrics that go with it.

“If you never had a day a snow cone couldn't fix
You wouldn't relate to the rogue vocoder blitz
How he spoke through a no-doz motor on the fritz
Cause he wouldn't play roll over fetch like a bitch
And express no regrets, though he isn't worth a homeowner's piss
To the jokers who pose by the glitz.”

Not only does this solid release from this outstanding artist remind us what hip hop (whose talent is running thin) is truly meant to be, but it also is just fun to listen to no matter what genre you may prefer. If there is one album you buy (not download) pick up Aesop Rock’s “None Shall Pass”

4.5 / 5



Recent reviews by this author
Direct Hit! Brainless GodRVIVR Dirty Water
Jawbreaker Dear YouTitle Fight The Last Thing You Forget
Ceremony (USA-CA) RuinedWell, Hello. Summer Sessions EP
user ratings (519)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Eric (4)
Once again, Aesop's laid back drawl is the perfect fuel to take his mind-bending lyricism to new hei...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Tyler
Emeritus
January 11th 2008


7926 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

no way this is a 4.5

jrowa001
January 11th 2008


8750 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i seriously just downloaded this to see if it is buy worthy since i really like Labor Days. good review, but i think i will be listening to it tomorrow

AtavanHalen
January 12th 2008


17927 Comments


The music itself, are amazing

All your review are belong to us?

Aficionado
January 12th 2008


1027 Comments


You really didn't talk about the album's sound much except for one paragraph. The intro is very much filled with hyperbole and I don't really get an idea about the music itself, I only now know mainstream hip-hop sucks (which I already knew anyways).This Message Edited On 01.12.08

DeadToPain
January 12th 2008


694 Comments


This album is pretty good, I'm not sure it's worthy of a 4.5. When you release an album like Labor Days and Appleseed, you have to work pretty hard to impress. I did see him on tour for this album, and he was pretty awesome.

jrowa001
January 12th 2008


8750 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hmmm...so far i dont like this as much as labor days, but it is decent. probably around a 3 for me

Iai
Emeritus
January 12th 2008


3553 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is a really good album.

Zebra
Moderator
January 13th 2008


2647 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is a decent album. It's nowhere near as good as Labor Days.

markeywa
January 14th 2008


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really like this album, No City and Five Fingers are definitely the hot tracks.

cfbassist
September 11th 2008


330 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

it's solid but nothing stands out that much

Minus The Flair
Emeritus
September 11th 2008


862 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Title track is really good. Almost everything else isn't.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
September 11th 2008


4950 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The tracks El-P produces/ features on are awesome. A few of the others are solid.

AtavanHalen
September 11th 2008


17927 Comments


Drop that buttery gold, jittery zeitgeist

Anthracks
September 30th 2008


3744 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

None Shall Pass is one of my favorite songs ever, but the rest of the album doesn't really touch it.

Digging: Perfume Genius - Too Bright

Ando!
March 25th 2009


12 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Bonus track pigs is awesome to play in front of police stations

SeaAnemone
March 25th 2009


20321 Comments


No City, Catacomb Kids, n especially title track are all great off of this... not as great as Labor Days though.

Digging: Holy Sons - Lost Decade II

cirq
June 9th 2009


9264 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This dude's got flow for dayyyzzzzz

griftadan
July 14th 2009


10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

can we ban soulja boy references when reviewing obscure hip hop albums?

illmitch
July 14th 2009


5429 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

insulting mainstream hip hop is not the same thing as praising underground hip hop

this is a distinction many people fail to realize

griftadan
July 14th 2009


10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

title track is amazing. so is five fingers, as is no city. i think his delivery is a little more accessible this album. can't tell if the lyrics are up to par yet



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy