Red
End of Silence


4.0
excellent

Review

by scarsremain USER (7 Reviews)
January 4th, 2008 | 110 replies | 21,811 views


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: RED releases a great debut. But they really do need to cut Rob Graves out of the picture

5 of 5 thought this review was well written

Nu metal is dead. Many bands have confirmed that recently. Papa Roach going classic Rock. Korn making Untitled. Mudvayne going soft, even if it worked. Well, Nu Metal band Red is here to let us know that Nu Metal is not dead. But at what cost?

End of Silence is a very rare breed of album. Red couples blistering long metal rock songs with those heart wrenching ballads. The story behind the album is admitting to ones mistakes and accepting Redemption. The power ballad Already Over starts on piano and Michael Barnes sings of how lost he is without whatever you interpret it as. The chorus swings in the electric guitar as mike wails that it’s already over for him. In retrospect, the last song of the album, Already Over Part 2, has the singer finally finding the redemption that he craved. The perspective Lost has the singer telling god that he’s lost and needs his help. The hit single Breathe into Me Mike wails

Breathe Your Life Into me
I Can’t Feel You
I’m Falling
Falling Breathe into Me

I think we all know what that means.

While looking through the liner notes on this CD, I discovered that the producer (Rob Graves) essentially did all the work here. He co writes all the songs (Except Gave it all Away) and wrote Pieces by himself. My advice follows Ninjuices, dump Rob, and see what you can do on your own. It seems like the best thing to do.

The guitars on this album are really quite good. On the single Breathe Into Me, a really hard crunching riff is used, that matches the song perfectly. The song Break Me Down employs a very fast played acoustic guitar that accentuates the singers voice. Hide has an interesting riff at the beginning which sounds like a telephone dialing.

Most people will base their decision on the vocals by the single, Breathe Into Me, which is in fact not the best vocal performance on the album. Michael Barnes range goes very high, which he employs very frequently. He also has a near perfect growl, like Chester Benningtons of Linkin Park. He also can scream pretty well. He holds his screams for almost 10 seconds at a time, even if Rob Graves chose to put them in the background. The songs Let Go, Gave it all Away, and Wasting Time show his full potential at the vocals.

Overall a very good album to me. I recommend it for fans of Linkin Park, Chevelle, and Skillet.

Pros
Vocals
Great Guitar Work
Ballads really work

Cons
Rob Graves
Strings get annoying after a while
Bass is never heard at all.
Only one song by a member of the band

Recommended Tracks
Pieces
Let Go
Already Over Part 2
Breathe Into Me



Recent reviews by this author
Disciple (USA-TN) DiscipleLinkin Park Minutes to Midnight
Linkin Park Projekt Revolution 8/13/07Falling Up Dawn Escapes
Thousand Foot Krutch The Art of BreakingPapa Roach The Paramour Sessions
user ratings (516)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Dante Pizzuti (4.5)
Its already over......

latervol (4.5)
...

Steven McMahan (3)
An 'ok' hard rock/nu metal band trying to sound bigger and better than they really are....

Jason (4)
Quite possibly the next big thing in the Christian rock scene. Highly recommended if you're into Lin...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Jerrydavidson
January 4th 2008



102 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Let Go and pieces are good songs.

roofi
January 4th 2008



959 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This is your best review; good job. This cd is boring and rather unoriginal in my opinion; you're right, though, I'd be interested in hearing what they sound like with a different producer.

Slaytan
January 4th 2008



1186 Comments


More information would have been nice.

i am the robots
January 4th 2008



1027 Comments


wooThis Message Edited On 01.04.08

blackened07
January 4th 2008



949 Comments


Goog review. This is a cool cd.

scarsremain
January 7th 2008



233 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks roofi, i'm about to post a review on Releint K's latest.

altairschaos56
January 7th 2008



362 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I've only heard Let Go and some other one scars showd me, but it was awesome...

muskrat20
January 29th 2008



6 Comments


good review dude, voted

altairschaos56
January 30th 2008



362 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this album was just ok. I was kinda disappointed. The only song i really liked was Let Go. The rest was meh...

muskrat20
January 30th 2008



6 Comments


wtf


MediocreAtBest
January 30th 2008



1473 Comments


Yah a big MEH to this. It's good tho, the epitome of albums I rate a 3.

altairschaos56
January 30th 2008



362 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

They have potential, but i don't think their fully using it. That potential was shown in Let Go, which doesn't reflect on the rest of the album

REDROCKS
December 18th 2008



6 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0



This Message Edited On 12.18.08

REDROCKS
December 18th 2008



6 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

To the reviewer, I bet you couldn't even play the string or piano arrangements, so how can you judge them?


As for Rob Graves -- every good band needs a good producer. Rob did a great job! Glad to see him contribute on their next cd.This Message Edited On 12.19.08

Phantom
December 18th 2008



8930 Comments


NO WAI!

Willie
Moderator
December 18th 2008



15877 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

To the reviewer, I bet you couldn't even play the string or piano arrangements, so how can you judge them?
That's fucking stupid. Can you act or produce a movie? Than how can you say one sucks? Can you build a huose? Do you see where I'm going with this???
As for Rob Graves -- every good band needs a good producer, just as every good writer needs a good editor.
That's not true. Eventually bands outgrow producers. Every band under major label contract or looking for someone to prop up their ideas needs a producer.
Why not let somebody who actually can play them decide?
So, your point is that if one cannot do the thing then one cannot judge the thing??? That's cute



Digging: Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse - 20th Year Anniversary

REDROCKS
December 18th 2008



6 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0


Would you really buy a house without a professional builder or inspector looking at it first? I don't know how to fix cars or build them, but when I go to buy them (if they are used), I bring the car to a professional mechanic to look the car over first. This Message Edited On 12.19.08

Willie
Moderator
December 18th 2008



15877 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Actually I can act, and I have worked in production.
It was rhetorical, thanks. If I knew you I could pick from the list of things you can't do to make you understand better.
Would you really buy a house without a professional looking it over? I don't know how to fix cars or build them, but when I go to buy them, I bring them to a professional to look them over.
And in those cases a professional might be worth it, but do you bring a professional into a restraunt to taste your soup or do you just decide if it's good or not based purely on subjective opinion?

REDROCKS
December 18th 2008



6 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You may want to use spell check.


This Message Edited On 12.19.08

Willie
Moderator
December 18th 2008



15877 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You may want to use spell check.
You may want to pull your head out of your ass if that's what you're leading off with.
If you don't like classical elements fused with hard rock, how are you going to judge the material accurately for its technical elements?
And you're assuming the reviewer doesn't generally like classical elements in his music based on what? I read one thing that even remotely implies that. Anyway, I'm not turning his review into an arguement forum. You're a little too full of yourself and this band to have a discussion.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy