Aesop Rock
Bazooka Tooth


3.0
good

Review

by Scott Herren USER (42 Reviews)
January 16th, 2005 | 21 replies | 11,319 views


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist


0 of 1 thought this review was well written

After shocking critics of underground rap with his 2001 Definitive Jux debut, Labor Days, expectations for Aesop Rock's second DJ album Bazooka Tooth were high. Make no mistake, the classic Aesop Rock nasty flow is there, the beats are dense, the bass-lines are dark, the effects are crisp. It is all there. But there is something missing.

The edgy lyrics that defined his 2001 success are still strong (when you can actually make them out), but the beats are lacking the right kind of feel, and ultimately that is the big problem with this album. It seems Bazooka Tooth takes on a different approach, using basement-level beats, rather than the catchy samples that defined Labor Days. He almost seems out of his element at times, producing beats that rival only paint drying or grass growing in terms of excitement. Anyone with any sort of an attention span realizes that this album is lacking musically.

If there is one saving grace for Bazooka Tooth it is the lyrics. Each song is a detail-driven narrative, and the use of clever rhyme schemes and wonderful wordplay throughout. Make no mistake, there is nothing that Ace Rock won't use to paint his picture to you, and he assaults you with every idea he can think of to the point where if you don't have the lyrics in front of you, it is a lost cause.

The lyrics really have some substance behind them, but the casual listener can't be expected to appreciate them. For example, at first listen, a song called "Babies With Guns" comes of as glamorizing guns. But upon a closer inspection of the lyrics, he makes quips like "if your Jesus piece around your neck is bigger than your pistol, it makes homicide okey-dokey, and your God will forgive you. Just show the saints at Heaven's gate you should be on the list. 'I heard he overlooks manslaughter for a tattooed crucifix.'" or "Running from a rabid ring-wraith click basilisk serpentine, in and out of traffic jam and murder scenes. Scrub blood of the AF-152, pick up first degrees. Some toddlers smuggled Tommy guns and crack into the nurseries. Dog, there's a ****ing baby at the door asking for wallets. And those ain't twin Beanie Babies inside his pockets. 2010 sonograms showed the Magnum formed directly out the fetus. Evolution for the young killer convenience.", and the song becomes a intense social commentary on the state of guns in our society. The tough thing is, this album comes with no lyrics :( , and there is no way to comprehend every detail that Ace spits without them.

While the lyrics are the strong point, and the beats the low point, there are still many quality songs on this album, they just have to be appreciated in a slighty different way than his previous album.

Notable Songs:

"Babies With Guns"
"Easy"
"Super Fluke"
"The Greatest Pac-Man Victory In History"
"11:35"
"Cook It Up"

Overall, I would probably reccommend this album to someone who enjoyed Labor Days. It isn't quite as good, but it is still strong. Another plus is the fact that my copy came with a free Def Jux bonus CD which is also pretty good.



Recent reviews by this author
Royksopp Melody A.M.Metric Old World Underground, Where Are You Now
Ride NowhereClearlake Cedars
The Walkmen Bows + ArrowsJamiroquai A Funk Odyssey
user ratings (208)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Robert Crumb
Emeritus
October 13th 2004



165 Comments


Cool, Aesop Rock review. I agree for the most part, though I'd probably have rated it slightly higher. His production does come off sometimes like a half-assed El-P but it's promising since it's his first time doing it. Blockhead's tracks still come off best though. His lyrics are always the best part for me, which is why I'd give it a couple more points, my favorite line, also off Babies:

"I walk face first through the sex, drugs and church
With wild things that would make Maurice Sendak question his early works."

He's a cheeky little monkey.

Zesty Mordant
October 13th 2004



1196 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

nice review, but i think you were a little too hard on it. probably a 3 or a 3.5 at the most. but i definately agree with you in regards to the beats to a sense, as it does seem like he's trying to copy El-p's style and trying to achieve getting that 'def jux' sound, and interesting since the strongest beats is the one that El-P produced.

but the lyrics are just amazing, i love listening to this guy because everytime you hear a new line. they're just so dense.

40 oz 2 freedom
October 13th 2004



96 Comments


I have his "Appleseed EP" and I like it a lot. Is this one worth getting?

Scott Herren
October 13th 2004



192 Comments


As I noted, if you like Aesop Rock it is worth getting. A 2.8/5 doesn't mean it is bad, assuming a scale from 0-5, it is above average, in the good, but not great category.

Zesty Mordant
October 13th 2004



1196 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

very true, but im just glad somebody took the time to finally review one of his albums. i wanted to review labor days, but i don't want to spend 2 full days analyzing the lyrics on a track by track basis

ZEROthirtythree
October 14th 2004



234 Comments


Would I like Aesop Rock ?

cjstunna
December 24th 2005



119 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

If you like underground rap, Aesop Rock's flow and style are unlike any other rapper out there. For some people that's a bad thing for others its real good. I recommend downloading a few songs or listening to some samples of this album before buying it.

cjstunna
December 24th 2005



119 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Also if you enjoy creative lyrics this is your rapper, "Oh my God, journalists across the globe are officially critiquing my first 8 bars." "Cameras and guns one of ya'll are gonna shoot me to death."
Favorite tracks:Bazooka Tooth, Cook It Up, Greatest Pac-Man Victory, 11:35, Mars Attacks.


Scuba_Steve
February 4th 2006



46 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

One of the only albums I ever purchased after hearing just one song off of some online radio station.


And I have still been impressed by the quality of this album.

calgone
May 13th 2006



48 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

one of my favorite albums ever, easily.
best track: 11:35

pulseczar
December 16th 2006



2385 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album gets sooo good on tracks like 11:35, but a lot of it just isn't memorable compared to Labor Days.

DeadToPain
August 26th 2007



694 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

not his best by any means, but great for what he was trying to accomplish. labor days will probably never be beat.

OdinsProgeny
June 7th 2008



3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is my favorite AR record. Its an experimental masterpiece, with every song chocked full of interesting sounds, and mind bending lyrical content. It came across to me as the product of an English Major who had taken too much acid while listening to Wu-Tang. What I like about Aes, is that he is uncompromisingly pessimistic. He lives/d in New York, and the constant exposure to urban blight has spiced all the songs with equal measures of brevity and paranoia. The content of the lyrics and the feeling of the songs go great with his sarcastic, nasal delivery. If you are a fan of weird music, and don't hate hip-hop, this could a great treat for YOU!

cirq
June 1st 2009



9263 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

we're famous is my favorite song

cirq
December 26th 2009



9263 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

anyone heard the a capella version of this album? shit is cool

Maniac!
December 10th 2010



26246 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Frijoles is one of my favorites off here

Urinetrouble
December 10th 2010



5754 Comments


Greatest Pac-man Victory In History, nigga

L.S.D. nigga

this nigga go hard, nigga


niggaz niggin nigs noggin, nigga

Inveigh
May 4th 2012



24798 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Easy and No Jumper Cables are clearly the best on here...

still his weakest overall probably

Maniac!
May 4th 2012



26246 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

definitely his weakest

Twizzlada
September 2nd 2012



9 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Bazooka Tooth delivers differently to Aesop fans than his other albums do I've noticed. For example I pretty much agree with the consensus of the "best songs" on his other albums, but every bodies opinions of what the best songs on Bazooka Tooth are, are so varied....

My favorites off B-Tooth are:

Bazooka Tooth
Kill The Messenger
11:35
Mars Attacks
and of course, cook it up.

I really dislike some of the favorites that a lot of you seem to love...for example I'm REALLY not feeling no jumper cables, or easy. That's what I mean by the album reaching people differently.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy