40 Below Summer
Invitation to the Dance


4.5
superb

Review

by Rabio USER (2 Reviews)
December 18th, 2007 | 12 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Metal and alternative blend to make a bi-polar listening experience that will leave you floored.

My first review. I will make it kind of short.

40 Below Summer is a quintet from New Jersey.
Max Illidge
Joey D'Amico
Jordan Plingo
Hector Graziani
Carlos Aguilar

They formed in 1998 and found their roots in 2000. You can find information on them on Wikipedia or somewhere, so I won't go through all that work :P

Invitation To The Dance is truly a great album. Even for people who hate nu-metal, you can warm up to these guys. The rise-fall, intro/verse/chorus/verse/chorus/breakdown/outro format will not bother you like it does with Linkin Park. There is some rapping, and no s I'll give a song by song review on an out of 10 scale.

We The People: A song about society oppressing its citizens. Especially America, where the government is almost imperial. This song kicks off with jazzy drums and Max growling "We the People". This goes on for a few seconds, and the song explodes. The breakdown is soft and alternative, giving you a breif break before going straight back into heavy. Great song. 9/10

Rope: This song is about going insane I think. It starts with a base and the guitars and Max come screaming out the gates a few seconds later. This song is a bit repetitive, but it doesn't really detract much from the song. You will find yourself bobbing your head. Again, this song dosen't really go very far, and the breakdown sounds like the beginning, but still, a good song just to bob your head to. 8/10

Still Life: Arguably the best track on the CD. Automatically starts out with some impressive guitar work. It is about a failed relationship and how life seems to halt, thus, the title. There are two breakdowns(one after after each chorus), and they will make you want to just thrash around. This is probably the most metal song on the album. 10/10

Wither Away: Nice acoustic intro. Probably one of the more alternative sounding songs. This song is about substance abuse and its detrimental effects on you physically and mentally. It's sung clean throughout, except for a brief breakdown where the song turns unexpectedly heavy and simmers back down to the acoustic beginning. The song could have used more thought, and the chorus is basically Max repeating "And I wither away tomorrow's just another day." But it's also great that you see Max's voice in the full range it allows. 8.5/10

Step Into The Sideshow: Another very heavy song. This is the 40 Below Summer I fell in love with. Here they show their agressive Nu-Metal colors. Very fast scream-rapping is the only description I can think of for the vocals. This song is clean, suprisingly. Heavy downtuned guitars and a frantic drum beat throughout. It makes your inner demon(Or pyro as is mentioned in the song) want to awaken. It's their equivalent to Limp Bizkit's Break Stuff, but with better vocals and much more speed. 10/10]

Falling Down: Another song that splay's Max's increadible range. It starts out very agressive and kicking your teeth in. Then it simmers down to clean guitars and vocals, and an epic climax that sounds like Linkin Park could have done. That's a compliment by the way. This song may be about someone very pissed off, their life is falling apart, and they are spiralling downward, and probably commit suicide. 9/10

Smile Electric: For a song of it's title, it's very heavy and aggressive, with chugging riffs and more rapping style vocals. The chorus dosen't really make much sense. "SMILE! Don't you give up your smile/ Don't You give up your smile/Electric" Overall, disregarding a puzzling chorus, pretty good for rocking out to. 8/10

Rejection: Here's a song anyone can relate to. It starts out kind of eerie, with a rumbling kind of growl, and with jazzy drums and clean guitars. Then it turns angry with barking and screaming. The lyrics and music symbolize rejection and the anger spikes it could cause. I can surely relate. 9.5/10

Power Tool: This song was kind of abstract. It may be about killing, or something. I don't understand it, but it's a good song. It's refreshing and alternative sounding. Kind of like Wither Away, with a heavy break near the end. 8/10

Drown: A more foreboding, slow song. The song starts with dripping sounds, and a single guitar chord kicks off the song. The guitars are heavily distorted, and you feel like you are in a cold dark place, and you are in danger. Occasionally there are some sounds like someone's head being put into water, adding to the creepiness of the song. No real climax, but it's still good. 8/10

Minus One: Kicking your face in once again. This song is more of a dumb brutish "Ima f*** you up kind of song. Once again, the parallels to Limp Bizkit are present. This is one of my favorite songs. The chorus is clearly shouting at you "Yes you're gonna die", and violent lyrics are screamed throughout. A very heavy song. Leads into "Jonesin.'"

Jonesin': A very claustrophobic song about a killer/rapist. He is in denial that he is the oppressor, and is doing very horrible things to the girl. This song sounds like it could have been made by Korn or Slipknot, ut they did, and did it well. It ends nice and clean. The song is like you were thrust into a dark tunnel at the end of "Minus One", struggle throughout "Jonesin'", and finally re-emerge into the light. A nice way to cap off the album.

And there you have it, my first review.


user ratings (77)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
December 19th 2007


16049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A song about society oppressing its citizens. Especially America, where the government is almost imperial.
I don't know where the hell you pulled that meaning from these lyrics:
We the people must JUMP!
It's all insane - for this - for shame
To walk inside this life - that's why
We the people must JUMP!
Come - take a stand
I don't believe in your lies
You can't ask me to change - what I am
Stand up and learn to divide
This time - this day - this part - this play
Too close - too tight - that's life - that's why
We the people must JUMP!


Digging: Skrew - Universal Immolation

Wizard
December 19th 2007


19513 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

format will not bother you like it does with Linkin Park.

I don't know about you, but to me, when you compare bands to one another, negative and immature comments like this only hurt the intelligence of the review. Other than that, not a bad TBT review. I know its your first review and I'm sure your next one will be much better!
This album is not bad but if you hate nu-metal, I wouldn't recommend this to anyone who doesn't appreciate some aspect of the genre. This album has alot the nu-metal cliches all rolled up into one.This Message Edited On 12.19.07

Digging: Godflesh - A World Lit Only By Fire

Willie
Moderator
December 19th 2007


16049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album has alot the nu-metal cliches all rolled up into one.
I'd agree with you on that, but much like Flaw, this band is saved by an excellent vocalist who does more then scream and rap through the whole album.

Wizard
December 19th 2007


19513 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

He does have a rather good voice from what I remember. I think I might have to pull this album back out and dust it off.

Zoo
December 19th 2007


3759 Comments


I listened to this a long time ago. I would most likely rate this a 2.5. Pretty standard nu-metal that's somewhat enjoy for a period of time.

Willie
Moderator
December 20th 2007


16049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'd say it's far beyond average nu-metal. Also, not every song is simply nu-metal. They have some moments outside that box as well.

Flyboy
July 2nd 2008


395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I really love this band and album. You cant cant call them average nu metal.

BringMeTheWaffles.
August 27th 2010


221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I love this album.
The review however reads like a 5. imo
There were a bunch of spelling and grammatical errors, but because it's your first, I didn't neg.

dvlarison
February 15th 2012


25 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

How is Power Tool abstract? It's named after his dick and he just talks about using girls for sex and head.

MudIdol
May 6th 2012


582 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This bands first 2 albums are awesome.

CrankSinatra
September 19th 2013


11 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

imo, power tool is about taking a person and breaking them down to feel in control.

this is my least favorite 40 below release. there were much better tracks from sideshow freaks and rain that could've been redone instead of step into the sideshow and falling down (endorphins and letter to god from rain are prime examples.) i also didn't care much for we the people and smile electric. still a damn good record overall, but if you've never heard 40 below before, i'd recommend listening to the rain ep and the mourning after first.


0GuyMan0
September 3rd 2014


70 Comments


Two or three songs from each 40 below release are really great, then typical trite for the rest imo. Did not age well.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy