With Honor
With Honor


4.5
superb

Review

by Kiran EMERITUS
December 17th, 2007 | 21 replies


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Sort of a big deal.

Emotion is a very important thing in music. Some would even say that emotion makes music what it is. Whether we're talking about acoustic, folk, indie, metal, or in this case, hardcore, it's the raw emotion of the music that can really grip the listener and send that fabled moment of musical ecstasy running down through your body. With Honor make no mistake with their debut EP, releasing 5 complex, gripping, memorable, and emotionally compelling songs in which flaws are as abundant as sex in a monastery.

The vocals, whether sung, shouted, or screamed, are as earnest as raw rage gets, perfectly exemplified when the shouting of 'Will you be washed away / I will not be washed away' kicks in over the the fusion of cymbal crashing and a heavy riff in 'Bridges and Gaps'. The songs all uphold a frenzied pace, flowing into one another with little break for the listener, and it works to perfect effect. When you aren't shouting 'To move on!' along with the band in 'With The Wind' as a menacing riff plays, you're probably singing along to the melodic and relentless 'The Mirror', or admiring the absolutely crazy drumming of 'To Believe'.

Musically, the band performs just as masterfully as the vocalist, who uses his sing/shout/scream arsenal to full effect. Keeping a punk-ish melodicism to the chaotic feel of the hardcore adds a catchy element to the songs that make them memorable. The erratic pace of the songs make for unpredictability, often slowing down for melodic gang shouts or screams, before speeding up to regain the blistering pace of the music. Did I mention the drumming is absolutely ridiculous? In a way, the music demands your undivided attention, as you could miss some of the best parts in just a few seconds of lightning quick drum rolls or guitar interplay.

With Honor craft a hardcore album that paved the way for their next release, Heart Means Everything, and an EP that is nothing short of necessary for hardcore fans. The songs are memorable, the music is fast and raw, the vocals are honest and versatile, and as a whole, the album has a flow that's unrivalled. Your musical library isn't complete without this.



Recent reviews by this author
Unknown Mortal Orchestra IIBeirut The Rip Tide
Alex Turner Submarine OSTClive Tanaka y Su Orquesta Jet Set Siempre No. 1
Robyn Body TalkThe Concretes WYWH
user ratings (36)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Let's Chop Cats! (4.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Kiran
Emeritus
December 17th 2007


6002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Some fucking cheesy lines in this review.

JordanS
December 17th 2007


319 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Awesome CD.

Confessed2005
December 17th 2007


3314 Comments


Sounds pretty cool. Might check it out.

rasputin
December 17th 2007


14555 Comments


Review's a bit too brief. You're forgiven though, because it's an EP. Doesn't look very interesting to me though (the album).

kalkal50
December 17th 2007


2386 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm becoming fucking emotionally attached to this album lately. Nice review.

Aficionado
December 17th 2007


1027 Comments


Very nice review, but you wrote "Within Honor" in the last paragraph. There also wasn't much of a transition from "what music is" to "With Honor" and you just jump into it quite quickly.

kalkal50
December 17th 2007


2386 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

adds a catchy element to the songs that make them memorable

typo
songs make for unpredictability in the songs

redundancy

i'm too shocked by the short length of this review to say anything more :O

SynGates
December 17th 2007


2467 Comments


Some ****ing cheesy lines in this review.

Like this one?
The erratic pace of the songs make for unpredictability in the songs, often slowing down for melodic gang shouts or screams, before speeding up to regain the blistering pace of the music.
lol good review though, I will check this out.

204409
Emeritus
December 17th 2007


3996 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Baller EP.

Killed4less
December 17th 2007


328 Comments


Nice short review, I really want this EP.

Kiran
Emeritus
December 17th 2007


6002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Didn't want to over do the review as it would end up sounding like shit, like my okkervil river one, so I just did it short, like the EP. Aficianado, i didn't want to add a lot of beating around the bush and kinda just wanted to jump right into the music, because that's the purpose of reviews, but what do you suggest I add to make it transition better? Another paragraph?

Aficionado
December 17th 2007


1027 Comments


Just try to say something about the band's history to this day or what they are like, ya know?

El_Shiznit
December 18th 2007


52 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The pinnacle of With Honor's material. But that's not saying way too much because this could easily be the pinnacle of any band's career. It's that good.This Message Edited On 12.17.07

Let's Chop Cats!
December 18th 2007


142 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I wouldn't say its too short, especially considering mine is even shorter.

Kiran
Emeritus
December 18th 2007


6002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Didn't want to overdo a review of this. Kept it nice and concise.

I'm becoming ****ing emotionally attached to this album lately.


lolThis Message Edited On 08.24.08

kalkal50
December 19th 2007


2386 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

what my pants get a little sticky hniah

kalkal50
March 29th 2008


2386 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Didn't want to over do the review as it would end up sounding like ****, like my okkervil river one, so I just did it short, like the EP


Okkervil river one? More like, Overkill river one lulz

DBlitz
April 11th 2008


1691 Comments


looking forward to hearing this. I have "Heart Means Everything" and its greatThis Message Edited On 04.11.08

Kiran
Emeritus
April 11th 2008


6002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's still as awesome as the day I got it.


DBlitz
April 11th 2008


1691 Comments


short burst of some of the best hardcore I've heard in a while.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy