Waking the Cadaver
Perverse Recollections of a Necromangler


1.0
awful

Review

by LoveTheEndless USER (1 Reviews)
December 3rd, 2007 | 406 replies | 44,251 views


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Waking the Cadaver offers an album to the simpletons in love with all things "brutal."

15 of 17 thought this review was well written

After a self-released 2006 demo gained Waking the Cadaver the attention of slam dancing hardcore kids everywhere, it was only a matter of time before the deathcore band got picked up by a label willing to spread their pig vocal filled filth to the world. Lead by such bands as Job For a Cowboy, Suicide Silence, and Despised Icon, this growing genre has been popping up a whole lot lately. But none of them have managed to display such a tasteless take on the whole trend.

So what exactly is so horrifically bad about what this band is doing? Let us start with the vocals. Where the previously mentioned bands choose to use their inhaled gutturals when time calls for it, Don Campan decided that it would be a good idea to spend 90% of the album spewing his unintelligible lyrics in the most irritating voice possible. The only thing impressive about what Campan does is his ability to inhale screams without ripping his vocal chords apart. Fortunately, it is still not guaranteed that this will not happen in the future. On the bright side, Campan's vocal style makes it impossible for the listener to understand what he is saying. This is a good thing, because one look at the lyrics for "Raped, Pillaged, and Gutted" confirm that "tasteless" may have been an understatement, as Campan expresses his sickening disrespect for women with excerpts such as "Jamming your severed arm into your rancid vaginal pore, I spew at the sight of the slashed and gaped asshole. Hyper-extended vaginal cavity fuels my urge to disembowel. Removal of your mangled innards, forceful extraction from your busted anus."

As if Campan's nonsense wasn't enough to write this band off for good, the rest of the band helps to make sure that Waking the Cadaver will never be more than a flavor of the week. Drummer Dennis Morgan goes back and forth between weak blast-beats and slow breakdowns that are sure to please all the tough guys beating their chests on the side of the pit. Guitarists Jimmy Regan and Nick Palmateer go along with the drummer, with simple tremelo picked riffs during Morgan's blast-beats and palm muted bottom strings with every cliché breakdown, each one feeling slower than the one before it. Last but not least, bassist Steve Vermilyea fittingly does nothing but play along with the guitars. He probably was on this album, but you wouldn't be able to tell.

It is rare to find a band that can put out a record of such colossally bad material simply because most bands that awful would never find themselves with a record contract. Waking the Cadaver is an exception. One can only hope that the trend wears off soon, and that this is the last thing anyone will hear from these guys.


user ratings (439)
Chart.
1.4
very poor
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
botb
December 4th 2007



9631 Comments


Aw I wanted to do this. this band is a fucking joke. This review is a bit short, but it's pretty well written.

Thor
December 4th 2007



10183 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Short review, but you pretty much said everything that needs to be said.

SHREDDED WHEAT

Cytologic
December 4th 2007



32 Comments


It still is a god awful piece of shit though.

rasputin
December 4th 2007



14538 Comments


Your review was short, but I really liked it. I tend to find negative reviews are shorter than positive reviews. You definitely get my vote. I hate this whole 'brootal kid' scene that's arisen, it's just ridiculous.

JordanS
December 4th 2007



319 Comments


You all just aren't br00tal enough.


WTC is a terrible band amongst a collection of terrible bands.

i am the robots
December 4th 2007



1027 Comments


Of course this would be one of your first review. This is a definate 5/5. Waking The Cadaver is probably one of the most brotal pit riffing groups they're are out there. You just can't compete with the punchgore slam groove. The vocals are so sick, they sound brotal as hell, like you know that guy would cut a woman inside out to have sex. And the hyperblasts are only the sickest because there so fast and brotal. The breakdowns are GORE NOT CORE none of that scene girlpant pussycore stupid junk, and none of that dumb old Obituary stuff other. Just sick punchgore pit riffing slam groove.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
December 4th 2007



16083 Comments


I agree.

Pebster49
December 4th 2007



2991 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Ok, the review wasn't that good, but you probably hate this band so much that it got in way of that so im not going to neg it. There are just as bad lyrics if not worse in Cannibal Corpse, and they are more boring. Im just downloading this, so Ill make my judgement soon.This Message Edited On 12.04.07

Spectrum
December 4th 2007



347 Comments


Holy fucking worst band ever to get signed, batman! An abomination through and through!
SHREDDED WHEAT

Pebster49
December 4th 2007



2991 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

OMg this is so boring and repetive...This is worse than the ep because its too much of the same thing over and over again. ahhhhhh

cometuesday
December 4th 2007



959 Comments


Good review. I'm convinced I will never get this.

Tarantino's Tarantulas
December 4th 2007



819 Comments


HYPER-EXTENDED VAGINAL CAVITY FUELS MY URGE TO DISEMBOWEL! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

LoveTheEndless
December 4th 2007



55 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I'm glad most of you seem to think it was a well written review. I haven't been a member all that long and this was my first review, so I'm sure I will get better. And yes, my severe distaste for this band may have gotten in the way at times.

masscows
December 4th 2007



2236 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

lol mappy

skingle
December 4th 2007



48 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

the only reason to listen to this band was for the ridiculousness, and now they got rid of the pig squealing, its utterly pointless (atleast on record)

Confessed2005
December 4th 2007



3314 Comments


Mappy, you gave me a rather big lol there.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
December 4th 2007



16299 Comments


This band is the epitome of shitty, uninspired, no-talent, wanna-be death metal ripoffs. These guys are fucking jokes and should promptly burn their instruments.

Digging: Ulver - Bergtatt

masscows
December 4th 2007



2236 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

mappy told me the drummer of this band doesn't even hyperblast with one hand, he has to use 2 :lol:

Tyler
Emeritus
December 4th 2007



7926 Comments


*gravity blast

masscows
December 4th 2007



2236 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

hmmm, hyperblast is 16th notes and gravity blast is (a technique that allows for) 32nd notes, right? I'm not sure.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy