My Chemical Romance
The Black Parade


5.0
classic

Review

by altairschaos56 USER (4 Reviews)
November 30th, 2007 | 35 replies | 8,440 views


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Overall: The Black Parade is a rollercoaster from beginning to end. Starting with "The End." and concluding with "Blood" this is one of the best rollercoasters I've ever been on. 5/5

3 of 6 thought this review was well written

My Chemical Romance is putting on the halloween costumes for The Black Parade; which is not a bad thing. The Black Parade stories a man, named the Patient, who is dying from cancer and follows him through death to what he believes is hell. The black Parade is the creation of frontman Gerard Way describing his beliefs on death. He believes that death comes in the form of a strong belief or memory. The production of this album is amazing. The lyrics are awesome and Way's vocals only enhance the experience. Let's take a closer look:

1) The End.- This is the introduction to The Black Parade. In this song, the Patient is describing his current condition and how much agony he is in. 9/10

2) Dead!- As the title suggests, The Patient has evidently died from cancer. Sung from the perspective of the doctor operating on him, this energetic, upbeat song will defiantly have you singing along to a catchy chorus. 10/10

3) This Is How I Disappear- It's hard to place this song in the storyline of the album. The Patient could be talking about a lover or a family member but it’s hard to tell. Regardless, a great song. 8/10

4) The Sharpest Lives- This one is kind of like a reflection on the Patient's lifestyle. There are some dark lines in The Sharpest Lives. But it’s not forced and weirdly enough fits the message of the song. The Sharpest Lives are the deadliest lives to lead. 8/10

5) Welcome to the Black Parade- "Welcome" is the first single off the album and what a single it is. From the bone chilling opening piano note to the closing drum beat, is packed with wonder and emotion. The opening chorus describes the Patient and his father going to a marching band when he was young. This song is nothing short of epic with an amazing message embedded in it. Phenomenal. 10/10

6) I Don't Love You- I guess you could call this the "love song" of the album. It is considerably slower than the rest. But it works. This song displays that Way can sing and hold notes, without sounding cheesy Cool lyrics, great guitars. 8.5/10

7) House Of Wolves- This is a fun song. "House" is a part of the song in which the Patient descends to hell. Very upbeat a la Dead! You’ll be singing along to the chorus. 9/10

8) Cancer- Possibly the most gut wrenching, heartfelt, emotional song in existence, Way describes the unforgiving side effects of having cancer. The song is unforgiving as well. Way never lets up and the entire song is tear educing for anyone who has either known or lost anyone to cancer. 10/10

9) Mama- A brutal song about The Patient confronting his mother. The Patient describes death, going to hell, living in hell, and others in great detail. Unrelenting, but energetic. 8.5/10

10) Sleep- Another epic sounding song titled "Sleep" is next on the rollercoaster that is The Black Parade. Inspired by series of nightmares that Way had in writing the album, "Sleep" is hard and heavy. 9/10

11) Teenagers- This song makes me laugh. "Teenagers" has no relevance to The Black Parade. Way has said it himself. Such a catchy song with chorus lines like, "teenager scare the living sh*t out me." The lyrics are pretty accurate though. 9/10

12) Disenchanted- This is my favorite song on the album. This song suggests another reflection from the Patient's life. Striking ("Bring in the guillotine, we'll show em what we all mean") and haunting ("We watched our lives on the screen. I hated the ending myself, but it started with an alright scene") lyrics with a powerful sound only enhance the experience. 10/10

13) Famous Last Words- The heaviest song on the album. A great message for all ("I'm not afraid to keep on living. I'm not afraid to walk this world alone...") help the awesome vocals and guitars. The cool metaphors don't hurt, either. 10/10

14) Blood- This one also makes me laugh. "Blood" is the bonus track and has a carnivalesque sound to it. This song could have a few different meanings, but the one that stand s out is The Patient as "the celebrated man amongst the gurneys." A creepy chorus and carnival music make for a fun song, though. 9/10


user ratings (2191)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
spoon_of_grimbo
November 30th 2007



2240 Comments


not too bad for a first review, although you'll find that reviews which don't use a track-by-track format (i.e. ones that try to describe the album as a whole, making reference to the styles and mood of the album, rather than reviewing each individual track) are much more well-received on sputnik. you might also want to consider going a little more in-depth in describing the music itself as opposed to the concept.

that said, as a first review, this isn't too bad, and since i seem to be the first poster on here, i should probably extend the customary "welcome to sputnik!"

altairschaos56
November 30th 2007



362 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

thanks for the insight spoon_of_grimbo!!! I appreciate it! I find that the track-by-track format gives a better look at the album, but i'll definatly try the other style. thanks!

Geedrummer
November 30th 2007



607 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

good review. i fucking cant stand the cd tho. its literally all my sister plays and its on all day. makes me want to kill everyone

ReturnToRock
November 30th 2007



3448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

where's electric city saying that this is the TENTH review for this album?


ReturnToRock
November 30th 2007



3448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

where's electric city saying that this is the TENTH review for this album?


McP3000
November 30th 2007



3941 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album was so much better than i thought it would be...and look at my rating :P

Serpento
November 30th 2007



2351 Comments


Album wasn't too bad. Try not to do tbt's, like grimbo said. ReturntoRock needs new jokes.

The usual stuff.

McP3000
November 30th 2007



3941 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You misspelled black in the summary

altairschaos56
November 30th 2007



362 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

thanks for the advice, guys. I will do an "real" review in the future. Probably for my fav. band, Linkin Park. I'll double check my spelling in it to.

McP3000
November 30th 2007



3941 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Unless you do Hybrid Theory, giving a positive review to LP is suicide.

altairschaos56
November 30th 2007



362 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

If you think that Minutes to Midnight sucks....never mind...Hybrid Theory is their best, hands down, but MTM is amazing. Btw, who is your fav. band?

Serpento
November 30th 2007



2351 Comments


Yeah, objectively MTM was crap. Hybrid Theory is their only respectable release, really.

So I'm addicted to the singles off this album and sorta feel a void growing in my chest for it.

altairschaos56
November 30th 2007



362 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You guys aren't open minded. Your just like the rest of America. If you open your eyes you will find an excellent album.

Fosster3567
November 30th 2007



76 Comments


This cd does a great job of reminding me of when I listen to myself take a long and hard shit in my toilet.

ninjuice
November 30th 2007



6758 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

[quote=altairschaos56]but MTM is amazing.[/quote]Do some more overall reviews like grimbo said, because I really think you'll need more experience trying to justify any good rating of that album.
On topic, as much as I hate most pop-punk and anything emo (lyrics or music, the latter which I know is a mislabel), I do love the title track and "Famous Last Words", if only cause they're catchy and "fun" songs.

altairschaos56
November 30th 2007



362 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm in the process of writing a overall review of Hyrid Theory (and Minutes to Midnight and eventually The Parmour Sessions). It'll be done sometime soon...I'm not typically into "emo" music (AFI and HIM are crap), but sometimes i'm drawn to it, like MCR.This Message Edited On 11.30.07

ninjuice
November 30th 2007



6758 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You guys aren't open minded. Your just like the rest of America. If you open your eyes, you will find an excellent album.

We know a good album when we hear it, and most here agree that it's definitely not one.
Be prepared to be bashed or set straight if you say more stuff like this...


altairschaos56
November 30th 2007



362 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm not trying to start anything here. A friend told me about this site and I'm just here to review some music. Sorry. I get defensive about my bands

Geedrummer
November 30th 2007



607 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

i downloaded a few songs from MTM and didnt bother with it. they were all absolute shite, especially bleed it out or whatever it was called. oh and btw im not american

Jerrydavidson
November 30th 2007



102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nice review, and I love this album! I think I overplayed played it for myself but a classic for me nonetheless. I've noticed your music tastes were almost identical to mine when I first came here. If you stay for a while, what you listen to will start to change.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy