From First to Last
Aesthetic


3.5
great

Review

by Brudes USER (3 Reviews)
November 22nd, 2007 | 15 replies


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist


From First to Last is a band that has gone through a lot of changes recently, and have completely changed they're style over the years, so lets start from the beginning. Aesthetic was FFTL's first EP and consisted of some members that are no longer in the band and features a very different sound from the two following albums.
Lineup for this EP:
# Phillip Reardon - vocals (no longer in band)
# Matt Good - guitar, vocals
# Travis Richter - guitar, screams
# Joey Antillion - bass(no longer in band)
# Derek Bloom - drums

First off this album is not for people who are fans of the emo/screamo genre and if you're not a fan you won't find anything in this. The only major difference between this band and any other emo/screamo teen band is the great quality of drumming and the amazing back and forth vocal work.

We start off with Such A Tragedy which is my favorite track off the album and I give it a 5/5 it features alot of great vocal work and backing vocal work along with excellent instrument work, this is a very fast paced track with a lot of energy . One of the biggest stand outs for this band is Derek on drums who seems to always do a fantastic job at making really interesting rhythms.
Up next we have ... a short interlude which sets up for For The Taking (2.5/5) which I personally think is the weakest track on the album due to the vocal work, even though the vocal work is bad it still has great vocals and a strange synth tune with the verse.
Next up is Regrets and Romance (3/5) which starts off with some soft guitar work that leads into the whole band coming in then back to the soft guitar and full on screaming. This track is very interesting because of the back and forth screaming to vocal harmonizing. Nothing spectacular but a good track nonetheless.
Then we have When Flying Feels Like Falling (3.5/5) which starts off really fast paced and doesn't really letdown at all, has by far the best drum work on the album with a complex rhythm. Also features some great throat working and dual vocal parts. Only drawback on this song is the very repetitive guitar riff.
Ultimatums For Egos (4/5) is next on the list a really interesting track. Its about never forgetting how you've been wronged it features some good lyrics and great music. Again with the great drumming.
And we close with My Heart, Your Hands (5/5) which is another great track and the only single to come off this e.p. This track ends the E.P. extremely well having the hardest approach musically and by far the best vocal work.

Pros: Amazing drumming, and alot of great lyrics
Cons: Some songs can seem very whinney and repetitive.
If you didn't really like Sonny from Dear Diary, My Teenage Angst Has a Body Count. Check out this E.P. same great music just with a different vocalist.
Recommended tracks:
My Heart, Your Hands
Such A Tragedy


user ratings (179)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
lunchforthesky
November 22nd 2007


1039 Comments


Having read your review I still have almost no idea how this will sound. Mostly you just said whether something was good or bad which isn't really much use to me as those are subjective qualities.This Message Edited On 11.22.07

Brudes
November 22nd 2007


16 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I made a slight edit, not really sure what your looking for as in describing what music sounds like, I already did that in the second paragraph.

lunchforthesky
November 22nd 2007


1039 Comments


Well first and foremost FFTL are not an emo band. Emo is a type of hardcore punk music similar to Circle Takes the Square and Saetia (if you want to look those up on myspace) however it is a common misconception that it has someting to do with tight jeans and guyliner. That's fine because we all thought that once and have accepted we we're wrong. Regardless of whether you want continue to refer to FFTL as an emo band when posting on Sputnik please do not and use the hardcore punk definition in the interest of continuity.

So that out of the way even if we take the wrong definition of emo then what exactly do you mean? The word emo has been attached falsely to FFTL, Hawthorne Heights, Thursday, Futher Seems Forever, Saves the Day, Green Day, Chiodos, Underoath, Dashboard Confessional and Bright Eyes. Some of those bands sound nothing alike AT ALL so how exactly can we guess? I've heard FFTL's music but that isn't the point by simply name dropping one of the vaguest music genres going you are not desrcibing their sound at all. Are they indie music with folk twinges like Bright Eyes or are they post hardcore with pop punk leanings like Thursday?

You need to describe their vocals and guitar work (which defines all except metal styles genres) far more thoroughly as simply saying emo/screamo is completely anadequate. Name dropping bands is an easy way to define a song or sound. For example say a song starts with a heavy leaning metal riff, then say it's a metalcore riff in the vein of Killswitch Engage. Does it have a catchy melodic chorus? Then reference Atreyu. If it's essentially a pop song with screaming then mention Hawthorne Heights or Saosin.

I don't mean to be a dick but I thought that would be helpful for you.

Confessed2005
November 22nd 2007


3314 Comments


I can't stand Sonny Moore.

BroRape
December 14th 2007


803 Comments


i read this review to find out what old FFTL sounded like without having to buy the EP, and i learned nothing at all.

randydances
June 2nd 2008


12 Comments


this ep is quite bettter than dear diary and heroine and what not.
Phil was an amazing vocalist

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 11th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I am also going out on a limb and saying that this EP is in fact From First To Last's best release. I don't know whether it is the fact that there are only 6 proper songs (track 2 is a short instrumental interlude), the fact that I like the singer better than Sonny Moore or whatever.
The 6 cuts included here are all solid with nothing being at all bad. Furthermore, as a whole, the EP is a reasonably accessible take on post-hardcore which has fairly proficient instrumentation, especially when considering that this is the debut of a young band. Most impressive are the dueling clean & screaming vocals, especially on opener 'Such A Tragedy'. Whatever the hell happened to Phillip Reardon anyway?

Comatorium.
December 13th 2009


4167 Comments


this review isnt too great, so i think imma review this shit. wont neg though.

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins On Io

drumasster
August 27th 2011


20 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Regrets And Romance is an epic song.

Pharoh
September 13th 2011


3326 Comments


@DaveyBoy


Phil made another band a while ago



here

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wkp9TXC47xQ

Pharoh
December 23rd 2011


3326 Comments




Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
January 21st 2012


50500 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yeah

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
January 21st 2012


50500 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yeah

KenboSlice
October 25th 2013


1038 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's days like theeeeeese that make me feel like I wanna bleed through my heart again

Digging: Say Anything - Hebrews

ZippaThaRippa
December 27th 2013


2434 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Take me away! TAKE ME AWAY! I don't know you anymore!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy