Nine Inch Nails
Y34RZ3R0R3M1X3D


4.5
superb

Review

by Porter W. Richards USER (18 Reviews)
November 19th, 2007 | 53 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Finally, Nine Inch Nails releases a remix album worth the money, effectively breathing new life into already amazing tracks.

Throughout all of his various disappearances, arguments with Marilyn Manson, and obsession with Saul Williams, Reznor proved he has the uncanny ability to consistently make reinvent his music, and make each new release more and more enveloping and interesting. After 24 releases, littered with poor remixes, lackluster B-sides, and fantastic albums, Trent Reznor has finally decided to stray away from his prototypical marketing style. Reznor originally broke away from his obsession with remix albums with 2005’s With Teeth mostly because the remix albums had poor critical and fan reception, as well as poor sales. When Year Zero was released in 2007, Reznor proved he wasn’t down for the count, and still wanted to shake things up. When the album cover was released on NIN’s webpage, the first thing that entered my mind was, “oh god, another really poor remix album.” That’s what you naturally think after three horribly poor remixes that ruined very, very good songs. Fixed was boring and lacked that aggressive flair of Broken, Further Down the Spiral just seemed a marketing scheme to squeeze more money out of the teenage-angst masterpiece The Downward Spiral, and Things Falling Apart seemed as if Reznor was trying to prove he wasn’t dead. So why release a remix album? Things sure seem to be going good for Reznor, he seems happy, refreshed musically, and as defiant as ever. He’s in no need for money (think of Reznor’s speech in Australia telling fans to steal his music), and life seems to be pretty good.

It’s apparent that Reznor really just wants to release the best music possible. At age 42, the mastermind behind Nine Inch Nails seemingly was losing his edge during the release of With Teeth and the beginning of the With Teeth tour. But by the end, Reznor had, once again, figured out how to tap into all that rage and confusion live and on record. Year Zero wasn’t an angry pissed off record like The Downward Spiral, but it tapped into the confusion and rage With Teeth lacked, packaged in a mildly-disturbing concept album counting down the days until the world’s end. You can try to pretend Year Zero didn’t make you think seriously about the end, but you know deep in your heart it did. The music quality was as disturbing and strange as ever, only heightened by the most paranoid lyrics Reznor’s ever put to paper. The album seems NIN’s The Wall, a fantastic return to form concept album that effectively regains fans across the world. So with the bright, warm, and fuzzy success Year Zero granted Reznor, why release a remix album for Year Zero?

Reznor wants his fans to have the best quality music possible. The large gaps between albums strained NIN’s popularity for years, as well as the often short tours. Fans from Pretty Hate Machine, almost twenty years have never lost interest in Reznor’s pet project throughout the years for some reason. It’s because the music is so addicting. Y34RZ3R0R3M1X3D proves that the quality is still there, and the music is as addicting as ever. This album proves that twenty years in, Reznor knows how to make an enveloping tune as perfected and excellent as possible, so great that if you rip the track down to it’s bare bones and reconstruct it, it’s still one hell of a track. Y34RZ3R0R3M1X3D is a testament to that statement. Fourteen fan remixes, each (outside of Gunshots by Computer) effectively ripping the track down to it’s bare construction, and rebuilding it from the ground up. For example, The Great Destroyer (Modwheelmood) sounds nothing like it’s Year Zero counterpart, nor does Me I’m Not. This is basically a new release, a compliation of sorts, recycling the same lyrics and basic rhythms to form a new album altogether.

The album is a new adventure from the start, all the way to the end. Each track reinvents an already excellent track, and handcrafts it into a new adventure. The Great Destroyer, formally a heavy track with emphasis on heavy bass and electronics, is now a moody, atmospheric track reminiscent of Radiohead. Hyperpower!, a formally meaningless introduction devoid of life is reinvented into a quick Hip-Hop track, with excellent rapper Saul Williams taking the microphone. But that’s not the only track Williams re-invents on R3M1X3D, as his remix of Survivalism takes an aggressive, paranoid song and conforms it into a Hip-Hop masterpiece, filled with low-brow guitars and heavy beats. The album mostly consistently defies your conventional thinking of a NIN record for it’s length. Would you have though the creepy track Me, I’m Not could be transformed into a 14-minute minimalist epic? Probably not. But does Y34RZ3R0R3M1X3D feature a 14-minute minimalist epic? Yes.

Somehow this compilation of tracks conveys a creepier, more telling story than the original. No, the music isn’t as amazing as it was on Year Zero, but some tracks convey a heavier haunting feel than their Year Zero counterpart. The Warning, Another Version of the Truth, and In This Twilight carry a much deeper, darker, and haunting feel than they did on the original. It makes the album seem as if it fits together well, into a 14-track puzzle. The biggest issue with the album is how familiar God Given sounds to Downward Spiral’s Heresy, the track Me, I’m Not gets a little tiring and boring, and two of the album’s best tracks are surprisingly absent. That’s not right. These problems keep Y34RZ3R0R3M1X3D from a perfect score, but don’t be mistaken, this is one heck of a listen the whole way through that proves that not all musicians lose steam with age, Reznor’s just getting started.



Recent reviews by this author
Rivers Cuomo Alone: The Home Recordings of Rivers CuomoEve 6 It's All In Your Head
Red Hot Chili Peppers CalifornicationThe Mars Volta The Bedlam in Goliath
My Chemical Romance The Black ParadeNine Inch Nails Year Zero
user ratings (240)
Chart.
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
MoonlightBleeding
November 20th 2007


452 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Why won't the artwork show up that I uploaded?

Willie
Moderator
November 20th 2007


16054 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great Review.. voted.
I didn't even bother with Year Zero, but this review is making me reconsider that move, as well as potentially looking into this as well... I may even get this first.

Why won't the artwork show up that I uploaded?
Make sure the file is .jpg and make sure that the filename actually ends with .jpg as well.

cometuesday
November 20th 2007


959 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This review seems very rushed and needs some editing done...

DerMond
November 20th 2007


126 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i've been looking for a leak of this for weeks and it's on sale already? what?

Remembrance
November 20th 2007


45 Comments


I recently read a atricle about this guy, and illegal downloading.
He said he was a member of a illegal downloading site, and also that he could understand that if music from your favorit artist leaks out that you would want to hear it.

joshuatree
Emeritus
November 20th 2007


3742 Comments


Your review is huge, yet you have like one paragraph on the music.

MoonlightBleeding
November 20th 2007


452 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well it was supposed to be more of an overview.

plane
Staff Reviewer
November 20th 2007


6094 Comments


Your review is huge, yet you have like one paragraph on the music.

Well it was supposed to be more of an overview.

This isn't the same thing. Your first three paragraphs are you just restating why Trent is a genius and what his true intentions are. Your fourth paragraph awkwardly explains how songs have been changed and then you jump into your conclusion that just repeats itself. Also, you need to identify what the song names are. When all you do is capitalize them, it gets really confusing, especially when you're identifying two different songs in a very amount of space.

Wizard
November 20th 2007


19550 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Well written review, NIN worst remix album by far (Saul Williams fucked up a bunch of his tracks). His best remixes were Further Down the Spiral and Things Falling Apart IMO.

didn't even bother with Year Zero, but this review is making me reconsider that move, as well as potentially looking into this as well... I may even get this first.

Willie, as a huge NIN fan (for about 12 years now), I assure you that you missed nothing with Year Zero. This album is even worse because the album being remixed was crap to begin with. If you loved older NIN, newer stuff may make you cringe. And yes, Im open to change, just not the commercial garbage the nails have been putting out the last 3 years! At least they still rock live!This Message Edited On 11.20.07

Digging: Nero Di Marte - Derivae

Epilogue
November 20th 2007


1591 Comments


Reznor proved he has the uncanny ability to consistently make reinvent his music


Mhm... I havent even got YZ yet, but this was a pretty avarage review...

Willie
Moderator
November 20th 2007


16054 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Willie, as a huge NIN fan (for about 12 years now), I assure you that you missed nothing with Year Zero. This album is even worse because the album being remixed was crap to begin with. If you loved older NIN, newer stuff may make you cringe. And yes, Im open to change, just not the commercial garbage the nails have been putting out the last 3 years! At least they still rock live!
To be honest, I haven't really like a NIN album since "Pretty Hate Machine" (although "Broken" was ok)... I heard YZ was a throwback to that era in some ways... is that wrong? I love Industrial, just not NIN.

joshuatree
Emeritus
November 20th 2007


3742 Comments


[quote="the_wizard"]Saul Williams ****ed up a bunch of his tracks[/quote]

Personally, I think those are the best songs here. I'm really digging Saul Williams at the moment though, so that may be why.

MoonlightBleeding
November 20th 2007


452 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wizard?

Are you okay?

Do you need medicine?

Did you call Year Zero commercial?

The album is the opposite of commercial. Crazed techno beats, aggressive vocals, The Great Destroyer aren't commercial at all.

Secondly, Year Zero is amazing.

joshuatree
Emeritus
November 20th 2007


3742 Comments


^^^Compared to most of industrial, Nine Inch Nails is a pop band. That being said, Year Zero's their most uncommercial (is that a word?) album besides TDS.

Willie
Moderator
November 20th 2007


16054 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

^^^Compared to most of industrial, Nine Inch Nails is a pop band. That being said, Year Zero's their most uncommercial (is that a word?) album besides TDS.
Yes, compared to most Industrial NIN is a pop band... maybe that's my issue with them (but I like some Pop, so who knows?).

You would consider TDS less commercial then the double album of quirky songs called "The Fragile"?This Message Edited On 11.20.07

joshuatree
Emeritus
November 21st 2007


3742 Comments


The Fragile had "Starfuckers Inc." That's an obvious shitty radio biscuit if I've ever seen one.
That album didn't have as many electronic breakdowns as other NIN records, and it also had sort of a progressive rock feel, which is more digestable than an industrial album.

MoonlightBleeding
November 21st 2007


452 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well, let's look at the discography, shall we?

Pretty Hate Machine: Ultra-funky, taking advice from the keyboard-craze of the 80s, but a little harder. Definitely fairly commercial.

Broken: Aggressive guitars, screaming vocals, explicit lyrics, heavy electronics. Not very commercial.

The Downward Spiral: Crazy aggressive, screaming vocals, disturbing lyrics, a lot like Broken, just deeper, darker, and harder. A bit of a sexual, driving tone though. Not very commercial.

The Fragile: A lot more mellowed out, but still fairly aggressive. Songs flowed together, large concept of the sort. A bit too much filler, and a few good radio tracks (Into the Void, Starfuckers), but still a tough listen altogether. Fairly commercial.

With Teeth: Danceable, poppy, and rhythmic at the beginning, cryptic, atmospheric and strange at the end. Plethora of singles, all being massive hits. Very commercial.

Year Zero: Obsessively electronic, crazed, and sporadic. Paranoid, aggressive, and the two singles Survivalism and Capital G didn't fare to well on the radio. Not really like anything else out there, and really hard to digest for the typical radio listener. Not very commercial.This Message Edited On 11.21.07

cometuesday
November 21st 2007


959 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

^
A bit too much filler.

Correction
November 21st 2007


188 Comments


Thanks MoonlightBleeding, for giving us all a bunch of information we already knew.

steveosk8s
November 21st 2007


135 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Willie, as a huge NIN fan (for about 12 years now), I assure you that you missed nothing with Year Zero. This album is even worse because the album being remixed was crap to begin with. If you loved older NIN, newer stuff may make you cringe. And yes, Im open to change, just not the commercial garbage the nails have been putting out the last 3 years! At least they still rock live!


you have no idea what you are talking about.. year zero is FAR from commercial. also, saying "if you loved older nin, youll hate this" is VERY incorrect, most of nin's die hard fans, including myself, loved year zero, its the commercial nin fans who hated year zero.

also, saul williams only was behind two of the remixes here, so i have no idea where you pull the "saul williams messed up a lot of the tracks" from. this remix album is pretty good, its not further down the spiral, but it is really good.


and for the record, i, along with most nin fanboys, found with teeth to be trents worst album, not terrible, just not his best. This Message Edited On 11.21.07



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy