Bullet for My Valentine
The Poison: Live At Brixton Academy


5.0
classic

Review

by mchappy666 USER (1 Reviews)
November 18th, 2007 | 28 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: BFMV's best songs put into one kick ass album.

Bullet for My Valentine (Oringinally known as “Jeff Killed John”) is a Metal band from Cardiff, Wales. Their strength is in guitar and lyrics. "The Poison-Live At Brixton Academy (DVD)" featured all their best previous songs into one AMAZING album.

Her Voice Resides: 4/5
This song begins with a fast pace beat to kick of the album. The chorus sounds a bit too punkish for BFMV, but right after the song jumps back into why we all love BFMV. This song's lyrics and guitar prove Bullet for My Valentine can do it all.

Four Words (To Choke Upon): 5/5
Guitar and heavy screaming start off this song. Superb Drumming can be heard in the background throughout this song. “Four Words (To Choke Upon) has an all around great rhythm. You think the song is perfect, then you hear a guitar solo the blows your mind.

Suffocating Under the Words of Sorrow: 4.5/5
A sick combination between fast drumming, sweet guitar and an occasional blood curling scream make this one of BFMV top songs.

All These Things I Hate (Revolve Around Me): 1/5
Starts off with acoustic and singing. Then to an annoying and repetitive chorus. This song makes me think of “Simple Plan” trying to go heavy. This song is a terrible one. The album’s one weakness.

The Poison: 5/5
Catchy guitar and intense screaming are often heard in this song. Followed by a great chorus. The lyrics in this song are of BFMV best. “Now is your time to die. We’ve gathered here to say goodbye.” A guitar solo just puts the cherry on top of this song.

Spit You Out: 4/5
Hardcore guitar and screams kick of the song. Great drumming in the background of this song add another aspect to this song. And definitely the best ending to a song on this album. An A- for “Spit You Out”.

Cries In Vain: 5/5
Once again Bullet For My Valentine has combined all the aspects for a killer song. My favourite part about this song is after the first chorus when the guitar is soft then smashes into the next verse. And the words “Has no one told you, your cries are all in vain? And everyone keeps trying to take that all away.” When you finish listening to the song. Pure genius.

Just Another Star: 4/5
Heavy screaming and guitar full this song to the rim. Lyrics are great too. And a catchy guitar beat bridges the gap where some songs may get repetitive. This song’s only downfall is the constant “Jump, Jump, jump, jump” which really pisses me off.

Tears Don’t Fall: 4.5/5
This is generally a slow song with a great opening. This song has great lyrics. “This battered room I've seen before. The broken bones they heal no more, no more. With my last breath I'm choking. Will this ever end I'm hoping. My world is over one more time.” Good guitar too. Tears Don’t Fall has a surprising part when the song speeds up along with a guitar solo I loved. With a great ending, I give Tears Don’t Fall 4.5/5.

No Control: 5/5
Sweet guitar throughout this song. It’s heavy, fast and catchy. Screaming adds a lot to this song. Without it this song wouldn’t be as amazing. Classic.

Hand of Blood: 4/5
“Protest the Hero” sounding guitar starts off Hand of Blood. This song seems like the reason they named their band “Bullet for My Valentine”. “There goes my valentine again, soaked in red for what she said, and now she's gone”. This song’s lyrics are about a guy killing their valentine. This song has a great beat too.

Overall, this is all of BFMV's best songs put into one kick ass album.


user ratings (98)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
xist (2)
The Poison: Live At Brixton Academy - In which Bullet For My Valentine demonstrate that a paucity of...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Altmer
November 18th 2007


5652 Comments


bmfv don't have good songs so :/

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
November 18th 2007


16487 Comments


This is one of the worst bands I have ever heard. Period.

Crimson
November 18th 2007


1935 Comments


but right after the song jumps back into why we all love BFMV
Hah

BallsToTheWall
November 18th 2007


44805 Comments


This DVD was horrible man. My friend bought this and we all laughed at how bad the quality was. Still, Tears Dont Fall and uhh forgot the other song are err... catchy.This Message Edited On 11.18.07

JordanS
November 18th 2007


319 Comments


This band has the most average guitar work I've ever heard. They hype surrounding this band, as well as Trivium, has thankully died down; but why people commend them for the instrumentation is beyond me.

kalkal50
November 18th 2007


2386 Comments


Sorry, I can't take this review seriously.

joshuatree
Emeritus
November 18th 2007


3742 Comments


greatest review ever

Slaytan
November 18th 2007


1186 Comments


Haha, but seriously. BFMV suck.

Overall, this is all of BFMV's best songs put into one kick *** album.

Last time I checked this is pretty much all they have.

JordanS
November 18th 2007


319 Comments


For a first review, this actually wasn't bad though.

Keep on reviewing, pick up some new bands. Probably try and stay away from Track by Track reviews.

DaveBum69
November 18th 2007


699 Comments


These guys aren't bad, but Its will pathetic when they bring out there own version of "the crusade" for there next album

AtavanHalen
November 18th 2007


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

You think the song is perfect, then you hear a guitar solo the blows your mind.

I can't be the only one who LOL'd so hard at this.

AtavanHalen
November 18th 2007


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

ALL OF YOUR REVIEW ARE BELONG TO US

foreverendeared
November 18th 2007


14678 Comments


please tell me this is a joke

Willie
Moderator
November 18th 2007


16149 Comments


This was pretty bad, I might as well read the review for the album cause there's nothing about any live aspects of these songs... and it's definitely not a 5... and you might try using more descriptive words.This Message Edited On 11.19.07

Digging: Mors Principium Est - Dawn Of The 5th Era

Wizard
November 18th 2007


19644 Comments


Considering this was your first review, I will go easier on you critiquing this. I just want to point out a few things I'm sure you will have no problem improving upon in the future:

1.

Sweet guitar throughout this song.

Adjectives used like this sound immature and tell me nothing about how the instruments sound.
2. Track-by-track reviews don't really go over too well on here except if they are really well thought out.
3.
You think the song is perfect, then you hear a guitar solo the blows your mind.

Grammar and spellcheck are also recommended!
4. Writing BFMV reviews with a 5 rating on here should be carefully considered. These guys are nothing special (I'm sure alot of people will agree with me) and have put out albums most metal heads would cringe at.
I hope this helps rather than me just whining and complaining about the review and not making any constructive suggestions.

Digging: Ash Borer - Cold of Ages

botb
November 18th 2007


9780 Comments


bmfv don't have good songs so :/

LOL! that's exactly what i was thinking when I read the summary.This Message Edited On 11.18.07

ToWhatEnd
November 19th 2007


3172 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

There's too much hate for Bullet on this site. They aren't the next big thing in any genre by any stretch but I don't believe they are a bad band. As for the DVD I enjoyed it a lot. Some of the clean singing was a bit...off in parts but other than that it was solid.

Neoteric
November 19th 2007


3243 Comments


pretty good 5/5

i am the robots
November 19th 2007


1027 Comments


Fuck this band. Fuck no they do not deserve a 5/5.

mchappy666
November 19th 2007


1 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I just love BFMV and wanted to read this review but there was no review there so I wrote a review. It was my first review so don't hate to much (unless you REALLY hate BFMV, which a lot of people do).



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy