No Use for a Name
The Daily Grind


4.0
excellent

Review

by Trey Spencer STAFF
November 17th, 2007 | 18 replies | 6,723 views


Release Date: 1994 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Twenty-two minutes of flawless Punk, with very little in the way of surprises... and I wouldn't have it any other way.

Growing up in San Diego we had independent CD stores all over the place that specialized in independent artists (as well as the big names). The stores were locally owned and the atmosphere in those places was cool. You could always count on going to them and hearing something fresh and new, and you got to know the people running the stores (they often were the same person that owned them). These people knew your preferences and had cool recommendations for you every time. It was a weekly ritual to go surfing all Saturday morning, and then go into the store and buy a few new CDs, grab some Jack-in-the-Box and then go home and listen to our new tunes. Sadly, as illegal downloading started becoming more common, these independently owned stores went out of business one by one.

You may be wondering what that story has to do with this CD. The Daily Grind by No Use for a Name is the last CD I ever bought from one of our favorite independently owned CD stores before it went out of business. I remember going in there and hearing it playing through the speakers a few days after it came out, and I had no idea who it was. It’s the CD that I think of if I ever want to download music instead of buying it, and it just so happens to also be a really good Punk CD.

I remember taking it home, putting it on and being initially surprised by the opening riff because it sounded like a metal riff, but that was to be the only instance of metal influence on this punk CD. After the initial metal riff, the song breaks into some fast Pop-Punk that has more then a passing influence from Bad Religion. The lyrics on the song are also of the typical impending doom, Punk Rock variety. The thing that sets this band apart is that they often times use the second guitar player to create catchy melodies over the base Punk riff, and that one little difference was enough to make them my favorite punk band for the longest time. Another difference is that their vocalist doesn’t have the higher-pitched voice normally associated with Pop-Punk or even bands like NoFx and Pennywise. His vocals rest comfortably in the mid-range and are capable of being both melodic and aggressive at the same time.

Containing only eight songs and clocking in at twenty-two minutes, there isn’t a lot of variety on this CD. Basically the description given above works for almost all of the songs, they’re fast paced Pop-Punk songs with lyrics about the end of the world, homelessness, broken relationships, and fun things like that. What makes this album so great is that it is twenty-two minutes of flawless Punk. At that length, there is no filler on here at all, and despite the slight similarity that the songs might have to each other, it’s over long before you really realize it. It features some great drumming (something that would be lacking on later albums), solid Punk riffs, and vocals that don’t sound too nasally or whiney.

If you’re looking for a good, solid punk album that never delves into the self-pity or self-parodying of most Pop-Punk bands, but also is never too preachy or political then this is the album you should look for. Just make sure you buy it instead of download it, because despite those that think they’re fighting the corporations or greedy bands by downloading; the lack of my favorite record store is proof that it’s still the little guys that are hurt the most.



Recent reviews by this author
Anathema Distant SatellitesFlotsam and Jetsam No Place for Disgrace - 2014
Mindcage Our Own DevicesFates Warning Darkness in a Different Light
Queensryche QueensrycheSkinny Puppy Weapon
user ratings (44)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
November 17th 2007



15898 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This one is very short... but what do you do to make it longer except maybe ramble and/or start getting redundant when all the songs all sound slightly similar and the whole CD is barely 20 minutes long anyway.

Digging: Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse - 20th Year Anniversary

foreverendeared
November 17th 2007



14678 Comments


good review. sounds interesting

Jim
November 17th 2007



5110 Comments


i think this is an ideal length for a review. i aim to hit 500 words and leave it at that these days. if it goes over it's a bonus!
good review. there are very few independant CD stores around my area, and whenever they spring up they're usually gone within six months or so. whether this is down to downloading im not sure but it's a shame because one of them was awesome

Tyler
Emeritus
November 17th 2007



7926 Comments


i think this is an ideal length for a review. i aim to hit 500 words and leave it at that these days. if it goes over it's a bonus!

same.

Willie
Moderator
November 17th 2007



15898 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If you look over my past reivews you'll see that they're rarely as short as this. Believe me, I shoot for quality over quanity, but in order to get to a point that I feel I've done an album justice, they're usually longer then this. One of my Ulver reviews and my Thought Industry review are really long...This Message Edited On 11.17.07

Jim
November 17th 2007



5110 Comments


my first batch of reviews were quite lengthy (see my pink floyd - the final cut review for confirmation) but these usually took a few days to write and polish and i found i enjoyed writing them more if i kept them short and wrote them in one sitting.
plus i tended to get more feedback for shorter reviews, as i suspect people are mostly daunted by too many words.

Willie
Moderator
November 17th 2007



15898 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

All my reviews are done over the course of a few days actually... I've never just written one and posted it that same hour.
As for feedback, yeah, it's nice... but I mainly write these as a way to pass downtime at work... and if someone reads a review and gets into a band I like, then cool. I know for sure I got BallstotheWall into an awesome band called Anacrusis.

TimeToTurnTheTide
November 17th 2007



208 Comments


I was buying some music from Amazon a couple of days ago and these guys came up as a recommended artist.

I have heard some of their material before, around about 2000 when my mates were into Something Corporate, Taking Back Sunday etc. I always thought NUFAN were pretty good but they seemed to just drop off my music radar.

Is this the album you would recommend as a first purchase?

Willie
Moderator
November 17th 2007



15898 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is definitely the album I'd recommend... if not this one then "Leche Con Carne" which is just about as good, but is a full album.

Intransit
November 17th 2007



2797 Comments


I wouldn't recommend this for your first taste. This was them as a highly Bad Religion inspired hardcore band, where their later work is definitely more digestible if you enjoy the other bands. Try Making Friends and Leche Con Carne first, then if you like the harder sounds, go backwards and if you like the more melodic stuff, go forward.

TimeToTurnTheTide
November 17th 2007



208 Comments


Im a big Bad Religion fan. so maybe this is a good idea!!

although i like stuff at both ends of the spectrum (hardcore & melodic) so maybe i should start with a full album (Leche Con Carne) and buy around it?



Willie
Moderator
November 17th 2007



15898 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

so maybe i should start with a full album (Leche Con Carne) and buy around it?
Sounds like a good plan to me... that is their best full length album, in my opinion.

PhoenixRising
November 17th 2007



277 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah, start with leche (which is sick) but get this too. Great stuff here.

descendents1
November 17th 2007



702 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah, this isn't my favorite by far, but it's still cool to listen to. Your review is good, for sure, and what you said about variety is what brings down my rating for this album.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 9th 2012



19609 Comments


Cool review, i haven't heard this one. gonna go through their entire discog this weekend.

Digging: The Who - Tommy

Willie
Moderator
November 9th 2012



15898 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Tell me what you think of their earliest albums. This is the one I started with.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 9th 2012



19609 Comments


Will do i'll send you a shout this weekend. gonna listen to this one before their first albums though.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 9th 2012



19609 Comments


yeah this is awesome. album is short as hell though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy