Paysage d'Hiver
Einsamkeit


3.5
great

Review

by PushTheTempo USER (1 Reviews)
November 16th, 2007 | 36 replies | 12,146 views


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Black metal influenced electronic music that is utterly ambient that drifts from dreamy and relaxing into passages of complete nightmare.

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

Very little is known about Paysage d'Hiver, mainly due to the fact that there is no Wikipedia article, or other informative sites on the band that I was able to find. Otherwise the only hint on the background and nature of the band is by their picture. Since a picture represents a thousand words, focusing on it would give us a good idea on the character of the band and the music. Quite honestly this band’s picture is the best I’ve ever seen. It’s a normal winter’s day, the weather is grim and in the hill side a thing cloaked in black with a traditional cult posture posses in the distance. Awe-inspiring and rather creepy seems to be my initial impressions; obviously this one man project (I guess) is all about grim and macabre music, influenced by black metal no doubt.

The ultimate expression of dark or outer-space ambiance, however this can also be perceived as a painfully long snorfest. It all depends on one's state of mind. Ambient soundscapes, would be the rough description of this album, evoking majestic yet foreboding landscapes or taking you upon a journey to the far reaches of space. Initial listens might give the impression that absolutely nothing is going on, keyboards mimicking different instruments (horns) droning endlessly caught in an never-ending loop; musically there’s not a lot to work on, it’s the effect the music has that really brings the extra punch. Unfortunately for me and I’m probably not alone but this album takes more patience than I possess to sit through in its entirety, and even only one of the songs having a length of round about fifteen minutes is a high demand on my attention.

The album is a fine example of electronic and keyboard textures put in the sphere of black metal to date. The album is composed of three long tracks, both of which are utterly fascinating from start to finish. Einkehr begins with dirty industrial noises, then moves on with the sound of distant and sinister trumpets and horns, repeating the variations of a 2 bar phrase; the vastness of the song, as well as a feeling of your complete loneliness and sense of vulnerability, are but some of the feelings that make this album so intriguing. The second song Inneres Licht features space-like and ethereal, keys (I guess), repeating itself, creating this an immense atmosphere, that exudes from beginning to end, marinated this emotion. Kraft, the last song starts, similarly to the others with industrial drone with rhythmic electronic noises in the background. The dreary beat of drums becomes apparent as well as hauntingly dream-like keys accompanied by high-pitched bursts of sound, not too dissonant as to break the trance cast on you by the music, but dissonant and cringy nonetheless. This elevates into a soft form of distortion spattered with the fuzz of radios. The music then repeats with variation, and builds up to a climax.


And what's the result? A feeling of loneliness or disturbance, maybe a feeling of pity at having wasted two thirds of an hour of one's precious time. At the end of the day the verdict is still positive; this album when I’m in the mood of some atmosphere satisfies my drowsy state of mind. The only flaws have to be the length and the repetitiveness, which doesn’t really pose a problem as it would if this were a different type of music. Otherwise a rare type of album in the musical panorama that is worthy of much praise.


user ratings (38)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Silenius
November 16th 2007



302 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Very nice review, captured the Paysage sound and style rather well. One question though, are you sure you have the real release or do you have a bootleg because over half the copies (mp3s) are bootlegged and not even Paysage. The track lengths should be -

1. Einkehr 15:19
2. Inneres Licht 15:37
3. Kraft 14:07

Again good work for a first review.

plane
Staff Reviewer
November 16th 2007



6073 Comments


Your review is good, but some of your comma usage is awkward and breaks up the flow (third paragraph in particular). You describe this well enough otherwise.

I like this a lot, though I haven't listened enough to decide on a rating. "Inneres Licht" is the easiest to get into but I'm usually too restless to sit through the whole thing.

Yyy
November 16th 2007



289 Comments


Very little is known about Paysage d'Hiver, mainly due to the fact that there is no Wikipedia article, or other informative sites on the band that I was able to find.
http://www.metal-archives.com/band.php?id=13417

paysage is ONE person

really repetitive review. i dont know how many times someone can say how space-like and lonely something can sound without tiring. your use of parentheses is pretty awkward,




Silenius
November 16th 2007



302 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm think you guys all have bootlegs by the description you're giving of Inneres Licht hehe. Not that the normal version doesn't fit your descriptions but its just a hunch based on how hard it was to find the real version (before it was put on the paysage site).

plane
Staff Reviewer
November 16th 2007



6073 Comments


Yeah, I think I have the demo.

Yyy
November 16th 2007



289 Comments


all Paysage releases are 'demos'.

Jim
November 17th 2007



5110 Comments


welcome to site. nice debut review

PushTheTempo
November 17th 2007



37 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm think you guys all have bootlegs by the description you're giving of Inneres Licht hehe. Not that the normal version doesn't fit your descriptions but its just a hunch based on how hard it was to find the real version (before it was put on the paysage site).

I got mine from a heavy torrent, which well arn't that reliable, still even if it is a bootleg it's still a pretty awesome song

Your review is good, but some of your comma usage is awkward and breaks up the flow (third paragraph in particular). You describe this well enough otherwise.






paysage is ONE person



really repetitive review. i dont know how many times someone can say how space-like and lonely something can sound without tiring. your use of parentheses is pretty awkward,


I guess that third paragraph is a little awkward, nd I do repeat the same words, i'll work on that in future. I frankly don't like going into how the songs sound like, but the review would have been rather short otherwise. Thanks alot for the constructive criticism





PushTheTempo
November 17th 2007



37 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

welcome to site. nice debut review


Thx




Silenius
November 17th 2007



302 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, the Inneres Licht on the bootleg version is an absolutely beautiful song.

Slaytan
November 18th 2007



1186 Comments


Nice review for a great album.

Danath
March 27th 2008



13 Comments


Dammit...i got wrong version. The first song on mine is totally different

Eliminator
March 27th 2008



2067 Comments


i'm surprised all the metal kids on this site haven't already blown their load over Paysage

Intransit
March 27th 2008



2797 Comments


I remember this from the listening party. Thought it was honestly the goofiest shit I'd ever heard.

Hawks
March 27th 2008



33363 Comments


I need to find some stuff from this band. Ambient Black Metal is something that i would probably like very much. If it sounds like other bands that mix Ambient and Black Metal like Leviathan or Negura Bunget then i will probably like it.

Eliminator
March 27th 2008



2067 Comments


paysage doesnt sound like either of those bands
and he isn't as bad as them either

BallsToTheWall
March 27th 2008



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dumbass comment 1 deleted.

Eliminator
March 27th 2008



2067 Comments


this album isn't black metal

Hawks
March 27th 2008



33363 Comments


Leviathan and Negura Bunget bad? You must be out of your mind. Im still going to try and find some stuff from this band.

Eliminator
March 27th 2008



2067 Comments


no i just like decent black metal



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy