Linkin Park
Meteora


3.5
great

Review

by Pedro B. USER (303 Reviews)
November 12th, 2007 | 21 replies


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It's not THAT bad.

First things first: it’s not that bad.

Sure, most of its songs sound like warmed-over re-hashings of songs from Hybrid Theory, but Linkin Park’s much-maligned second album has its merits.

Meteora came out in 2003, in time to survive the decline of nu-metal unscathed and be embraced by a legion of 16-year-olds (present writer included, at seventeen and a half). This horde bought into the band’s «it-will-be-different-and-more-varied» speech, failing to notice that not much was, in fact, different.

Sure, there are slower tempos (Easier to Run, From the Inside) and an increase of electronica (Faint), but pretty much 75% of the album could be directly paralleled with Hybrid. As in: Session = Cure For the Itch, Don’t Stay = One Step Closer, Somewhere I Belong = Crawling, and Nobody’s Listening = In The End, with the eerie piano being replaced by an equally eerie flute. The rest, while not directly resembling any tracks on Hybrid, cover mostly familiar territory, with chugging guitars, electronic effects, simplistic drumming and «rapped vs melodic» vocals. This is the recipe on tracks like Don’t Stay, Hit the Floor and Numb, and it works fairly well. On the other hand, there’s the odd «experimental» track here and there, with the most noteworthy examples being Nobody’s Listening, with its Japanese flute samples, and the Depeche Mode pastiche Breaking the Habit (or, as a retarded friend of mine sings it, «breaking the rabbit»). These are less easy to swallow, particularly for the average teenager, that couldn’t have seen LP’s electronic third album coming just then.

The main problem of this album, then, is to listen to it from a twentysomething point of view. It’s simply….well, dumb. And over-simplistic. There’s no denying the staying power of its tunes, particularly the first half of the album, but after a while it all starts to sound childish and phony. Even my little sister, age 16, has moved on from Linkin Park now, although she still digs the occasional tune. As for me, I moved on the second I heard Live In Texas . I’ve decided to come back to them a while ago, but my opinion did not improve. On the contrary, I saw just how shallow this album was.

Still, I can’t bring myself to agree with the detractors of Meteora. It was a perfect record when I was seventeen, and I still rock out to some of its tunes, particularly the flawless Don’t Stay, which, strangely enough nobody else seems to like.

Still, there can be no excuse for some of the things on this album, chief among them the 5-second track Foreword, probably the silliest intro in the history of music (why not just make it part of Don’t Stay!?). But Linkin fans and occasional music lovers alike will profit from giving this one a spin.

Recommended Tracks

Don’t Stay
Somewhere I Belong
Numb



Recent reviews by this author
Big Ball Hotter than HellChosen Resolution
Werefox I Am MemorySound City Players Sound City: Real To Reel
Nirvana NevermindEnforcer Death By Fire
user ratings (3575)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
thesystemisdown
November 12th 2007


414 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Don't Stay = One Step Closer
Somewhere I Belong = In The End
Lying From You = Pts of Authority
Hit The Floor = By Myself
Easier To Run = Crawling
Faint = Papercut
Figure.09 = Runaway
Breaking the Habit = not really anything (leaving out Place For My Head)
From the Inside = With You
Nobody's Listening = Forgotten
Sessions = Cure For The Itch
Numb = Pushing Me Away

McP3000
November 12th 2007


3941 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Props for the high rating...

The summary gave me major lolzThis Message Edited On 11.12.07

NOTINTHEFACE
November 12th 2007


1653 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

good review. I still believe it's worse than you say it is, but agree that it's become really easy to beat up on this album while overlooking the good qualities. Still, the only tracks I ever listen to anymore are Somewhere I Belong, Lying From You, and Figure .09.

Confessed2005
November 12th 2007


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I second above comment.

Confessed2005
November 12th 2007


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I second above comment.

Double posting sucks.This Message Edited On 11.12.07

McP3000
November 12th 2007


3941 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Figure 09 and Numb are definitely the highlights.

Altmer
November 12th 2007


5652 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

album makes me cringe nowadays

SylentEcho
November 12th 2007


1576 Comments


Don't Stay = One Step Closer

Somewhere I Belong = In The End

Lying From You = Pts of Authority

Hit The Floor = By Myself

Easier To Run = Crawling

Faint = Papercut

Figure.09 = Runaway

Breaking the Habit = not really anything (leaving out Place For My Head)

From the Inside = With You

Nobody's Listening = Forgotten

Sessions = Cure For The Itch

Numb = Pushing Me Away
Best. Post. Ever.

ToWhatEnd
November 12th 2007


3172 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good review man. I agree with the summary as well. I'll also always hold a special place in my heart and a chapter of my youth for these guys.

roofi
November 12th 2007


959 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'm probably the only one on this site who thinks so, but I think this is actually better than Hybrid Theory.

McP3000
November 12th 2007


3941 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

@ Thesystemisdown's post

Its funny how on every single pair, the Hybrid Theory song is better.

AmericnZero02
November 12th 2007


3360 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^Yeah thats kinda true. With the exceptions of Figure.09, From the Inside, and Session. Maybe SIB too. This Message Edited On 11.12.07

Digging: Copeland - Ixora

NOTINTHEFACE
November 12th 2007


1653 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

^Yup, except def. Somewhere I Belong. In The End makes me want to throw up.

rasputin
November 13th 2007


14555 Comments


Best. Post. Ever.

Agreed.

Spamue1G
August 3rd 2008


1292 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sorry, I can't relate Crawling any songs on here that well. Maybe Numb comes closest. Yeah, it's a record that's easy to bash, but good to listen to until (or so I'm guessing, I'm still only 14!) you're in your very late teens/early 20s. Linkin Park probably still felt like they were teenagers releasing this, they pretty much were still teens with HT.

I think this was actually kinda a step forward for LP, Chester's vocals were basically at his best ever on this album for the most part (Somewhere I Belong being the exception) and a few songs broke the average LP ideas. Nobody's Listening, however, sounds disjointed to me, Shinoda doesn't really sound like he knows what he's rapping about. Probably Shinoda's worst outing then, which is quite a problem considering he was (for nu-metal at least) excellent on the first album.

Spamue1G
August 3rd 2008


1292 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm thinking of writing a review on this- I have a few things to say which I haven't seen in any of these reviews. Who thinks I should, I'm worried that I might get negged for the review being pointless since Meteora's got lots of reviews already.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
August 3rd 2008


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i wouldnt worry about it but some asshole invariably will esp if its not amazing

Eliminator
August 3rd 2008


2067 Comments


yeah fuck those assholes

fromtheinside
July 15th 2009


19166 Comments


sighs @ thesystemisdown
faint sounds absolutely nothing like papercut.
One being a pure rock song, the other being a rhythm induced head banger.
same point with every other song you mentioned, barring 'Numb' and 'Pushing Me Away'.

HT was an experimental album, Meteora just took that formula that was a success and honed in on it, making a better album of the pair.
You can make the case you made with most bands honestly, especially SOAD as they've been talking about the same stuff for 15 years.

Digging: Techno Animal - The Brotherhood of the Bomb

gaslightanthem
July 15th 2009


5209 Comments


shame this album and every linkin park album sucks



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy