Sodom
The Final Sign of Evil


3.0
good

Review

by Dethtrasher USER (232 Reviews)
November 2nd, 2007 | 40 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: If you take the cruelty from Persecution Mania, add the aggression from Tapping The Vein and mix it with the sloppiness from Better Off Dead and you can imagine how this album sounds like.

Sodom, dear old Sodom, one of three master thrashers of the entire thrash metal genre. Sodom has been an active band since they were created in 1982, and they still kick *** in 2007. Starting off as a black metal band Sodom would later move towards thrash metal. Their style cannot be mistaken, Tom Angelripper’s raspy and torn vocals, heavy but simplistic guitar work and various types of common speed-drumming. In their earliest work you will notice clear influences from bands like legends like Venom and Motorhead. But Sodom has also created a unique sound formula that makes their music to sound cruel and dark compared to Destruction and Kreator.

In 1984 Sodom released their EP In The Sign Of Evil, and now in 2007 they have released In The Final Sign Of Evil. The truth is that their record company refused to have more than five songs on the album back in 1984, but now we will experience the lost tracks from the EP. There are seven songs on this album that were never included from the start, plus the old songs of course. Venom is claimed to have invented or ’’gave birth’’ to black metal. This album sounds familiar to that kind of black metal, which is free from blast-beats. If you take the cruelty from Persecution Mania, add the aggression from Tapping The Vein and mix it with the sloppiness from Better Off Dead and you can imagine how this album sounds like. But now to the main question: Is this a serious record? Is this even comparable to masterpieces like M-16, Tapping The Vein or Persecution Mania? The truth is that the band has been serious when they made this album but they seem to have chosen to record the album as they did back then in 1984. This means that this album has both good stuff but at the same time bad stuff.

Beginning with the good stuff! One thing that is pretty cool is the sound production, the guitars sounds quite raw but still thick. The bass is unusually audible at times, especially during Tom’s bass soloing, the vocals are quite varied but the drums still sounds quite overproduced since they are the loudest instrument in this album. Overall I would say that the music has a quite gritty sound. The band crew is also the original line-up as it was back then. The line-up includes: Tom Angelripper, Chris Withchunter and Grave Violater. You might think that these guys would be too old to thrashing around but they manage to pull this off very good. Many songs has a great energy level, Blasphemer, Where Angels Die and Witching Metal are a couple intensive songs. And there are also slow tracks like Bloody Corpse and medium paced songs like Hatred Of The Gods. There is not so much so say actually; the music is aggressive, dark, evil, and catchy and there are lots of headbanging moments. A small plus to Tom’s vocal work, his sinister gurgling vocals sounds really cool alongside the gritty music.

And now to the bad stuff, unfortunately… There are some things that will bother the listener. One thing will be the sound production (again); people who thought that the sound production was going to be like today’s music will be disappointed. Another big flaw would be the drums, it’s true, the drums and Tom’s vocals are the only two things that get really loud at some times. This makes the guitar and bass to fade in a few occasions, the drums should’ve been lowered and the guitars should’ve been increased. The rest is just nit-picking, there might be a few moments where a drum beat is missed or that the transition between the paces gets slightly messed up. But as I said, the sound production and the loud drums are two major flaws in this album.

Fans of Sodom will probably love this as soon as they hear it; overall thrashers will accept it as a good, maybe great thrash album. But people outside the thrash genre will probably stay away from it. In The Final Sign Of Evil is a must have for all Sodom fans and thrashers should listen to this also. The overall music is hands down classic Sodom material but due to the sound production side-effects are unavoidable.

Positives
+ People who don’t care about the sound production will probably enjoy this
+ Good variety among the tracks
+ Tom’s bass solos sound so darn cool
+ A varied vocal performance
+ The music is still energetic and intense

Negatives
- The drums are louder than the guitars
- The sound production is just… odd.
- Diehard fans will probably not like the fact that this is re-recorded songs

The Lost Tracks
The Sin Of Sodom
Bloody Corpse
Sons Of Hell
Where Angels Die
Hatred Of The Gods
Ashes To Ashes
Defloration

Recommended Tracks
-- Blasphemer
-- Where Angels Die
-- The Sin Of Sodom

Final rating will be a steady 3/5



Recent reviews by this author
Opeth DamnationFleshcrawl Made of Flesh
Sear Lamentations of DestructionTormented Rotten Death
War (swe) We Are...Total WarCrucified Barbara Til Death Do Us Party
user ratings (110)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dethtrasher
November 2nd 2007


2211 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The truth is that I was half-drunk when I submitted this so I hope the flaws are few :S

BallsToTheWall
November 2nd 2007


44375 Comments


Good review, better than most when their sober. Most Americans, or my brothers and some friends can not hold their **** in without exploding.

Digging: Pharmakon - Abandon

Correction
November 2nd 2007


188 Comments


If this is you smashed, you must write Shakespeare when you're sober.

rattlehead42147
November 3rd 2007


1345 Comments


im going to get tapping the vein now.

i'm glad someone did this, i was wondering if it was any good or not. oh and have you checked your email yet? i hold out hopes that you may actually review that xentrix album since i'm too lazy...

+vote great work especially for being out of it

SylentEcho
November 3rd 2007


1570 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice review.

Trust me, there was NOTHING out by 1984 as evil sounding "In The Sign Of Evil" On The Final Sign Of Evil, the pure evilness is back!!

I really dig the old-school production on this one. At first I thought it sounded like the last time the drummer touched a pair of drumsticks was 20 years ago. :D
But now I realy dig it, it sounds much better than the fake triggered drum crap nowadays.
Overall really nice much better than other re-recordings by other bands.


Kiran
Emeritus
November 3rd 2007


6001 Comments


If you take the cruelty from Persecution Mania, add the aggression from Tapping The Vein and mix it with the sloppiness from Better Off Dead and you can imagine how this album sounds like.


I don't listen to any of those bands, so that told me absolutely nothing except tta this is cruel, aggressive and sloppy, which is super vague. The most I really got out of this review was that it was "aggressive, dark, evil, and catchy and there are lots of headbanging moments.".

Also

Beginning with the good stuff! One thing that is pretty cool is the sound production


shortly followed by

And now to the bad stuff, unfortunately… There are some things that will bother the listener. One thing will be the sound production



south_of_heaven 11
November 3rd 2007


5433 Comments


I don't listen to any of those bands, so that told me absolutely nothing except tta this is cruel, aggressive and sloppy, which is super vague. The most I really got out of this review was that it was "aggressive, dark, evil, and catchy and there are lots of headbanging moments.".

Those aren't bands. They're past Sodom albums, dumb dumb.

Dethtrasher
November 3rd 2007


2211 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The truth is that I wasn't completley wasted by I was pretty lightheaded.
@Kirgasm. I was just trying to say that the soundproduction on this album is a matter of love-or-hate. I know that is confusing.

@rattlehead. I use a slow*** modem at the moment so it is slow as f*** to d-load the songs from the emails. But I like what I'm hearing. I think that's the first old.school thrash band I have heard from the U.K.This Message Edited On 11.03.07

Kiran
Emeritus
November 3rd 2007


6001 Comments


rofl.

i am an idiot.

either way, it still has the same effect on me as i never listened to this bamd previously.

ohcleverhansyou
November 3rd 2007


885 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The little hitches in keeping time the drummer goes through in almost every song kinda pisses me off, but aside from that this is pretty cool.

rattlehead42147
November 3rd 2007


1345 Comments


@rattlehead. I use a slow*** modem at the moment so it is slow as f*** to d-load the songs from the emails. But I like what I'm hearing. I think that's the first old school thrash band I have heard from the U.K.

great news man, finally! i really love the first 2 songs, the intro bass on the title track is a highlight. sorry about your modem :upset:
it is the first old school thrash i've heard from the UK as well. maybe the brits have got talent?

kalkal50
November 4th 2007


2386 Comments


Your summary is oxymoronic. Sloppiness and agression mixed together? Unless it's juxtaposed, I really don't see how that would work. The descriptions in your review are really vague.

Wizard
November 4th 2007


19406 Comments


Excellent review Deththrasher. I know booze in me would get me into trouble! I have never listened to these guys but they have been recommended to me many times. Maybe today I will get down to listening to them.
"Tom’s bass solos sound so darn cool"
This is something I don't hear in metal too much and it made me want to check this out.

Digging: Khonsu - Traveller

SylentEcho
November 4th 2007


1570 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

dude, you have to listen to Sodom & Kreator if you like metal.

Wizard
November 4th 2007


19406 Comments


Dude, I've listened to Kreator, but I don't exactly have the time to check out every single trash metal band (I have bigger priorities to listen to right now). Plus, if you like metal, you have to listen to Opeth! Period!

Dethtrasher
November 4th 2007


2211 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The descriptions in your review are really vague

And why are they so vague? Plus, I don't tend to use a whole english dictionary when I write. You really think that reviewing is a goddamn competition, don't you?This Message Edited On 11.04.07

kalkal50
November 4th 2007


2386 Comments


And why are they so vague? Plus, I don't tend to use a whole english dictionary when I write. You really think that reviewing is a goddamn competition, don't you?


lol. Competition? I'm sure I implied that somewhere.
And I think you should know, I will try not to use poor, broken English when I write my, let's see, 192nd review?

There is not so much so say actually; the music is aggressive, dark, evil, and catchy and there are lots of headbanging moments.


Beginning with the good stuff! One thing that is pretty cool is the sound production

and then...
And now to the bad stuff, unfortunately… There are some things that will bother the listener. One thing will be the sound production (again)

as well as...
Positives
+ People who don’t care about the sound production will probably enjoy this


Dethtrasher
November 4th 2007


2211 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Why didn't you just quote the whole thing?This Message Edited On 11.04.07

kalkal50
November 4th 2007


2386 Comments


I should really. It was all pretty samey.

rattlehead42147
November 4th 2007


1345 Comments


Your summary is oxymoronic. Sloppiness and agression mixed together? Unless it's juxtaposed, I really don't see how that would work.

if you had listened to this or those albums mentioned you would understand that statement perfectly.




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy