Soilwork
Sworn to a Great Divide


4.5
superb

Review

by Zarpon USER (1 Reviews)
October 28th, 2007 | 18 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist


This is my very first review so go easy on me.

The Members of Soilwork are:

Vocal: Björn "Speed" Strid
Keyboard/Samples: Sven Karlsson
Daniel Antonsson: Lead/Rythem Guitar
Ola Frenning: Lead/Rythem Guitar
Dirk Verbeuren: Drums
Ola Flink: Bass

1. Sworn To Great Divide: This song has great drums and great guitar work, the verses are strong, and the Refrain is really catchy, it contains also a great solo and this song is one of the best songs on the album in my opinion. the first song gets a rate 5/5.

2. Exile: Is a very melodic songs, the verse start really calm in some seconds, but then Björns voice kicks in really hard right before the refrain, the refreain is also really good, and is most unlikely to forget i rate this song for a 4.5/5

3. Breeding Thorns: This song starts out with great guitar work and brutal drum play right before Björn starts to sing, the refrain is also really great, it also has a really nice solo on the song, i think this song is one of the best songs on the album therefore i give this song a rate 5/5

4. Your Beloved Scapegoat: This songs is alright, but maybe the weakest song on the album in my opinion it has alright refrain and a alright verses, the solo is really cool but i give this song a rate 3.5/5

5. The Pittsburgh Syndrome: This is a very fast song, maybe the fastest song on the album,
it has brutal drums and also the verses and the refrains are really brutal and great, the solo is really great i give this song a song rate 5/5.

6. I, Vermin: This song has great verses and the chorus is also really great, the refrain is also extremely catchy, the song has great guitar work, the song has also a short solo
I rate this song a 4.5/5.

7. Light Discovering Darkness: This is a calm song, and in this song is the only song with normal singing on the verses, the refrain is very good and strong and is very catchy, and theres something very special with the song, i just dont know what it is, therefore
i rate the song a 5/5.

8. As The Sleeper Awakes: The song is kind of fast, he uses really dark screaming and normal screaming on the verses, and the verse is very catchy therefore i give this song a rate, the and has a really beatuiful guitar melody in the end 4.5/5.

9. Silent Bullet: This song is not my favorite song, it has some great moments, but i weren't so satisfied with the refrain, but the song is not bad so i'll give the song a rate 4/5.

10. Sick Heart River: This song is the absolute favorite track on the album, Björn has a extremely strong voice on the verses, and when the refrain kicks in, well.... the refrain is so beautiful and so stunning, i just love it, great guitar work and drums, i just love the melody.
Its also a great solo in the song so i rate this song 5/5.

11. 20 More Miles: This song has cool verses, and the verses are very catchy, the song has great guitar work and really nice drums,contains solo too i rate this song a 4.5/5.

12. Martyr*: This song is actually a bonus track: The verses are really cool, and the song is really melodic and this is maybe on of the best tracks on the album surely, the verses are slow, but the refrain spices up the speed in the song, The refrain is extremely beautiful, cool and catchy i rate this song a 5/5.

I highly recommend to buy this album.
If u mail order the album it will also contain, 2 bonus tracks.
The limited edition contains a dvd with live clips, studio reports and the new Exile single.

Top 5 songs are:
1.Sick Heart River
2.Martyr
3.Sworn To Great Divide
4.Breeding Thorns
5.Light Discovering Darkness

Overall rating of album is 4.5/5.


user ratings (489)
Chart.
3.1
good
other reviews of this album
withALMONDS (3.5)
If you go into this album, not expecting it to be a sequel to any of their previous releases, you wi...

crazycobs (4)
Another solid album from Soilwork, what more can i say....


Comments:Add a Comment 
BallsToTheWall
October 28th 2007


44482 Comments


Most people dont like track by tracks. I do if it's well written because it gives me a feel for something I've never heard. 20 more Miles, Exile, and Sick Heart River are my favorites. You should add more info andactually describe the sound, the instrumentation more than all the songs. You dont really explain that much.

Digging: Tove Lo - Queen of the Clouds

Crimson
October 28th 2007


1935 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album isn't that good.

Yazz_Flute
October 28th 2007


18787 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Your first review remind me of my first reviews on the site. Both track-by-tracks with similar formating and such.

Good first review, but more detail would be better =D

Oh, and As the Sleeper Awakes is EASILY the best on the album. It reminds me of the APP days, minus the dark atmosphere.

Digging: Finch (US) - Say Hello to Sunshine

BallsToTheWall
October 28th 2007


44482 Comments


This is much better then I thought after hearing Pittsburgh. 20 more miles has the catchiest chourus.

Yazz_Flute
October 28th 2007


18787 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is probably Soilwork's best of Soilwork's newer era (when i say that, I mean all the albums after APP, when i review this i'll explain that more)

I can comfortably say this is better than FnF, it's probably marginally better than StD as well, it's tough to choose between this and NBC though.
APP and ChM are better than this though.

BallsToTheWall
October 28th 2007


44482 Comments


I'd pick Natural Born Chaos way over this. Black Star Deceiver, Follow The Hollow, The Bringer, Song Of The Damned, and The Flameout prove it so.

Yazz_Flute
October 28th 2007


18787 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Actually, yeah after listening to this again, NBC is better, it had more highlights. Follow the Hollow.

As the Sleeper Awakes is better than any song on NBC though.

Still, this album is great. Other than As the Sleeper Awakes, my favorite songs are Sick Heart River, the title track, Breeding Thorns, and then either Exile or the Pittsburgh Syndrome for 5th.

Shattered_Future
October 28th 2007


1540 Comments


Blegh, this album was intensely boring for me. Come to think of it, Soilwork in general is intensely boring for me...I much rather Bjorn's work in Disarmonia Mundi.

jrowa001
October 28th 2007


8750 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yeah same here. im a huge soilwork fan though and this just bored meThis Message Edited On 10.29.07

kalkal50
October 29th 2007


2386 Comments


Bad review. Mediocre album.

Altmer
October 29th 2007


5652 Comments


it's soilwork, this means I don't expect anything above a 3.5 or below 2

TheTastyLettuce
October 29th 2007


130 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Picked this up today but have had it on mp3 for some time so I knew exactly what to expect.

I wouldn't of got the actual CD if I didn't like it.

Half of the tracks are really good, the other half (not mentioned) are alright

kalkal50
October 29th 2007


2386 Comments


why would you pick it up if you knew it was average having listened to it prior

masterchaos
October 29th 2007


22 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I picked it up this weekend with the only song hearing prior to purchase being Exile. I have been a long-time Soilwork fan and obviously covet the early releases, but it does not hinder my ability to listen to the laters with an open mind (and after hearing Exile I had to be really open minded).

This is album, imho, is their best since Portrait (which is my favorite). And the best thing about it is Speed's vocals. It must be part of working with The Dev, but my god his range and tone have gotten better ten-fold. The production of the other instruments on the album are what I dont like. It sounds so shallow, where's the meat?

masterchaos
October 29th 2007


22 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh and Swim, I picked up Hypocrasy's "Virus" that same day...What a great album as well.

TheTastyLettuce
October 29th 2007


130 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I picked up Virus a while ago

To kalkal50, well I have all Soilwork albums on my machine but don't actually have any of the CD's, so I needed to get this one to be honest. I do like the album but the first half is head and shoulders above the second half. Some of the chorus parts are catchy as hell.

I've ordered Natural Born Chaos and Figure Number Five also.

When I have money I'll buy albums.

Yazz_Flute
October 29th 2007


18787 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album is better than their last two like said before. This is how i would order thei albums frm my favorite to least favorite.

A Predator's Portrait (like you didnt know)
The Chainheart Machine
Natural Born Chaos
Sworn to a Great Divide
Stabbing the Drama
Figure Number Five
Steelbath Suicide

The first two are easily their best, 3-5 are all really close, and then the last two are easily their worst, though still great.

masterchaos
October 30th 2007


22 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

See, I think the album really takes off at track 8.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy