Paysage d'Hiver
Kristall und Isa


4.0
excellent

Review

by A.K. USER (63 Reviews)
October 26th, 2007 | 38 replies | 9,627 views


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist

Review Summary: All about atmosphere...

3 of 3 thought this review was well written


That being said, this music is all about repetition and atmosphere and little about technicality, individual riffs and melodies, or indeed even solely the musical aspect of Paysage d'Hiver. PdH is one of those bands where the concept is either hit or miss, you connect with the musics themes and ideas or you don't (which offers a perfectly fine and legitimate explanation as to why someone would rate this low). I find myself able to connect with the music and the whole aesthetical concept of PdH, and write my review in a way that assumes that the reader may potentially understand the music as well.

The songs are very basic, drumming shows little signs of life besides a droning pound that soon engraves itself into the back of the production. Guitars are a blaze of sound without a discernible shape to them that would lend them the ability to play a distinct melody. Everything drones and repeats quite a bit, and only the vocals and synth provide the variation needed to not make this something that would indeed be boring. All the elements together make this album full enough to be able to convey the emotions and ideas put into it.

The main concepts of course are winter and darkness, and the music provides a platform to meditate on these concepts. If one can understand this link of what the music means in relation to the concept of PdH, then the music will immediately make more sense. One will come to realize that this particular music is music to think and even dream upon. It opens up the imagination and paints landscapes of darkness and snow. That is why the repetition and steady droning of the guitars is essential. It is so that there will be no sudden in jolt to ones thoughts. The only breaks appear in between songs, during which some ambient noises can be heard before fading into the next droning song.

Those familiar only with the ambient work of Wintherr might dismiss this at first, but in essence both styles of PdH ultimately achieve the same end of creating an immense atmosphere. The only difference is that the black metal side of PdH is considerably harder to appreciate at first, because it is far less melodic and calm than the ambient works. Highly recommended as music to listen to while relaxing or before sleeping, but not as black metal that is played in the background or in an environment where it is secondary, because this music demands your attention!



Recent reviews by this author
Emyn Muil Túrin Turambar Dagnir GlaurungaDeafheaven Sunbather
Kreuzweg Ost Iron AvantgardeLunar Aurora Hoagascht
Night Conquers Day Rebellion Is The Art Of SurvivalBattle Dagorath Eternal Throne
user ratings (64)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Flyggeli
October 26th 2007



45 Comments


This is probably one of my least favorite Paysage albums, but it's still great.

Unreal
October 26th 2007



229 Comments


very nice review, short but juicy

I love this ambient sort of BM, I'd definately enjoy thisThis Message Edited On 10.26.07

Neoteric
October 26th 2007



3243 Comments


You have a great writing style. :thumb:

Wizard
October 26th 2007



18770 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I really enjoy atmospheric albums, the ones where one listen will not do! Good review, I will be adding this to me a list of check-outs.

Digging: Triptykon - Melana Chasmata

Silenius
October 26th 2007



302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks for the good feedback guys.

Motiv3
June 22nd 2010



8419 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i prefer this to the longer demo's hes got. Same quality if not better and alot easier to sit in one go.

Hawks
November 26th 2010



33363 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Another great Paysage album (demo). Pretty much just what I expected.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
May 3rd 2011



16126 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Lol. Seven comments... This is one of the best black metal albums ever made. And Hollier hit the nail right on the head.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
May 3rd 2011



16126 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Eh, well, I guess Nacht still doesn't even have a review.

*sigh*

Hawks
May 3rd 2011



33363 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Lol. Seven comments...

My thoughts exactly.

Motiv3
May 3rd 2011



8419 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i still have to listen to Nacht, got it ages ago and still havent listened.

Hawks
May 3rd 2011



33363 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I was gonna download it yesterday, but never got around to it. Probably will get that and Steineiche both today.

Motiv3
May 3rd 2011



8419 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Steineche is damn good.

Hawks
May 3rd 2011



33363 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That's what I've heard haha. Also heard that Nacht could possibly be his best so I'm pretty pumped to hear them.

FatChickIrl
May 3rd 2011



4096 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Havent listen to this yet,still going thru the essentials


beefshoes
May 3rd 2011



2110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This might be my favorite Paysage d'Hiver under the self titled album.
The end of ustritt aus dem Körper is just beautiful in a creepy yet awesome way.

Motiv3
May 4th 2011



8419 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

listening to Nacht for the first time atm.

FatChickIrl
May 24th 2011



4096 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Probably gonna bump this up ina bit

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
July 3rd 2011



15989 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Get his whole discog, even though his ambient albums are pretty meh. Aside from Winterkälte and the S/T his best are Nacht and Steineiche.

Digging: Thergothon - Stream From The Heavens

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
July 3rd 2011



16126 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This might be my favorite Paysage d'Hiver under the self titled album.
The end of ustritt aus dem Körper is just beautiful in a creepy yet awesome way.


123



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy