Blacklisted
Peace On Earth, War On Stage


4.5
superb

Review

by John weathered old reviewer Hanson STAFF
October 23rd, 2007 | 34 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: 6 minutes of great music.

Peace on Earth, War on Stage not only has one of the best album titles of the year, but is also the best EP of the year as well. Hailing from Philly, Blacklisted are one of the biggest names in hardcore today, and one of the few big names that foregoes all that lame brocore *** that’s clogging up the genre. With their new EP, Blacklisted solidify their position as one of the top bands in the genre.

Starting off with “Ivory Tower”, you’ll see that Blacklisted are still heavy as ***. While there aren’t as many breakdowns as their previous EP’s and full length, the band is way tighter than they ever were before, and with help from producer Kurt Ballou make a fuller and more engaging sound than ever before. The band all work perfectly with each other, from a hammering rhythm section to the pulverizing guitar work.

Vocalist George Hirsch also steps it up on the album, singing and shouting with more confidence than ever. His lyrics also stand apart, telling of his flaws and the missteps of others with an honesty that’s rare to see. He doesn’t get stupid or too self-deprecating, and its more of an uplifting message than just a jaded picture of society.

“Canonized” shows Blacklisted at their heaviest, “Memory Layne” shows them at their best, “Setting Sun” shows them at their lyrical best, and “Ivory Tower” is just the perfect representation of what they are about. The EP only runs at about 6 minutes, but it’s a flawless 6 minutes from one of the best. Peace on Earth, War on Stage is one of the best punk releases of the year, and they’re a hell of a live act to boot.



Recent reviews by this author
Say Anything HebrewsWashboard Leo Thomas Louisiana Bluegrass
Crusades Perhaps You Deliver This Judgement...Against Me! Transgender Dysphoria Blues
Los Campesinos! No BluesArcade Fire Reflektor
user ratings (59)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2007


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

good soundoff dude

Yyy
October 23rd 2007


289 Comments


setting sun is the best

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2007


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

After Memory Layne its my favorite.

Tyler
Emeritus
October 23rd 2007


7926 Comments


this rules

AtavanHalen
October 23rd 2007


17927 Comments


I'm intrigued.

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
October 23rd 2007


4927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm glad this is short. It payed off because I read it, and I have a good concept of I want it, regardless of if it took you 30 minutes to conjure up this review.This Message Edited On 10.23.07

Let's Chop Cats!
October 23rd 2007


142 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

George's last name is Hirsch. Solid review, amazing 7". New album out early 08.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2007


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

totally messed up on his last name thanks. Are they continuing along in this vein?

cbmartinez
October 23rd 2007


2525 Comments


oh dear illuvatar you win the most crucial reviewer award, every review is more croosh then the last

EP is okay. 3 at most. 4.5 is ridiculous.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2007


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you know I really do try to appease you faggots in h/e
I think the really does rule though.

Yyy
October 23rd 2007


289 Comments


iluv was appeasing yyy!

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2007


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yes thank you yyy for sending this to me oh so far back when our love was just blossoming =).

Let's Chop Cats!
October 23rd 2007


142 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Chris shutup, these 4 songs are some of the best 4 songs you've ever heard.

I'm assuming the new album will be in this vein, Todd Jones might be writing on the album as well, not sure about that though.

plane
Staff Reviewer
October 24th 2007


6100 Comments


Yeah this rules. What to get next?

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 24th 2007


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

One of their old EPs.

plane
Staff Reviewer
October 24th 2007


6100 Comments


why thank you!

Let's Chop Cats!
October 24th 2007


142 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Get We're Unstoppable, its the EP and demo on CD.

cbmartinez
October 24th 2007


2525 Comments


This is good but it's not a 4.5

"Wolves At My Door" > all

JumpTheF**kUp
October 24th 2007


2716 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like this EP a lot.

McP3000
October 24th 2007


3941 Comments


Wait, 6 minutes and 4 tracks?

o.O



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy