Killing Joke
Brighter Than a Thousand Suns


3.5
great

Review

by Trey Spencer STAFF
October 22nd, 2007 | 45 replies | 9,304 views


Release Date: 1986 | Tracklist

Review Summary: One of many great works that included the bass playing of Paul Raven who died on October 20th, 2007.

Paul Raven died on October 20th, 2007 of an apparent heart attack. He was an excellent bass player that played with bands such as Prong, Ministry, and Godflesh, as well as being a respected producer. Despite the name dropping of bands that most may know better, the band that made him famous was Killing Joke. Whether you’ve ever heard Killing Joke or not, you’ve probably heard their influence in bands from Nirvana to Fear Factory, and, of course, there was the cover of their song “The Wait” that Metallica did back in the day. Sadly, after this weekend, it’s pretty apparent that his extensive back catalog is now closed and nothing else can be added to it. It is with his death in mind, and the knowledge that we’re never going to be able to hear anything new from him again that I go into one of my favorite Killing Joke albums that just so happens to also feature him on bass. That album is called Brighter Then a Thousand Suns.

For those that have heard Killing Joke, most probably think of the abrasive rock of their debut or the dark industrial metal of their later works, full of heavy riffs, samples, and the rasping vocals of Jaz Coleman. If you’re one of those people that have something similar in mind than you’re in for a surprise. Brighter Then a Thousand Suns was released in 1986 during the period that Killing Joke were playing a much more 80’s pop-rock style of music, similar to that of The Smiths or The Cure. On this album there aren’t any distorted riffs or abrasive vocals, in fact there isn’t any aggression at all. Instead, we’re treated to some well played 80’s-style rock that stands head-and-shoulders above their contemporaries due to the excellent musicianship and the dense layered quality of the music.

The album begins with one of the better songs, “Adorations”, and sets the stage for the entire album. “Adorations” starts out with an almost danceable drumbeat complimented by a rolling bass line from Paul Raven. The drum sound is what you’d expect from an 80’s album. They sound very mechanical and flat, with a slight echo-effect given to them. The bass, on the other hand, is mixed to the front and gives this song (and every other) a very addictive groove that is hard to ignore. When the guitar comes in there isn’t any distortion, only a slight echo effect. The keyboards provide the majority of the melody and also sound like what you’d expect from an 80’s album. They are played mainly in the higher registers and have quite a bit of reverb to them. When vocalist Jaz Coleman comes in it may shock those that are only familiar with their later works. Instead of the gravel-throated vocalist of those later albums, he sings the entire time in a very clear, crisp voice. The closest description of his voice would be to say that he sounds like a cross between Robert Smith (The Cure) and Morrissey (The Smiths, Morrissey).

The next track, “Sanity”, is virtually the same elements as the previous song except done differently enough to give it its own identity. It has the great bass lines of Raven complimenting the simple danceable beats with some uncomplicated guitar riffs and keyboard melodies, and it is catchy as hell and will have you singing by the end of the first listen. As was hinted earlier, every song on this album is basically a variation of those exact elements, except that they are done differently enough that the album never drags and it is easy to tell where one song has ended and where another has begun.

Another thing that sets this apart from the typical rock of the era, besides the layered quality of the music, is the somber mood that almost every song creates. Despite the danceable beats and energy, the keyboards and Jaz’s vocals make each song sound depressing. A song such as “Chessboards” or “Love of the Masses” would be a perfect example. Each song has a lot of energy as it chugs along with infectious bass lines and danceable beats, but the tones of the keyboards and the sorrow that emanates from Jaz ‘s voice overrides the upbeat music and impart a feeling of grief. It’s a strange combination, but it works.

While it is definitely depressing to know that bassist Paul Raven is no longer with us and will no longer be lending his talents to various bands, we can all take comfort in his extensive back catalog full of gems such as this album. Throughout his life he played a wide spectrum of musical styles, from the precision metal of Prong to the industrial metal of Ministry and Godflesh, to post-punk weirdness with Murder Inc.. Of course, there are also some very high quality 80’s rock on albums that are just as great now as the day they were released.

Rest in peace: Paul Raven (January 16th, 1961 – October 20th, 2007)



Recent reviews by this author
Anathema Distant SatellitesFlotsam and Jetsam No Place for Disgrace - 2014
Mindcage Our Own DevicesFates Warning Darkness in a Different Light
Queensryche QueensrycheSkinny Puppy Weapon
user ratings (65)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
October 22nd 2007



15875 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is the fastest I've ever written a review... it's not half-assed, it's just not as scrutinized as most my other ones, but I wanted to get this out as kind of a tribute or remembrance to Paul Raven's passing.

Digging: Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse - 20th Year Anniversary

clairvoyant
October 22nd 2007



765 Comments


good review, but you dont need to have every band name as a link, only once should do fine

Yyy
October 22nd 2007



289 Comments


man wasn't expecting that intro!

Willie
Moderator
October 22nd 2007



15875 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

good review, but you dont need to have every band name as a link, only once should do fine
Yeah, usually I don't use so many band names, so if they're linked a few times it's not noticeable... this time it is.

ValiumMan
October 23rd 2007



493 Comments


The intro was really cool, the rest a bit of a letdown, but the review is still solid overall.

I haven't heard too much Killing Joke, and virtually none of the later stuff. The early albums are pretty good though.

Kaleid
October 23rd 2007



710 Comments


Nice review, I never really made an attempt to listen to Killing Joke. I like the depressive tone you talked about near the end; maybe I'll check out Chessboards

Willie
Moderator
October 23rd 2007



15875 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's definitely there... it becomes more apparent if the album is listened to from start to finish... that feeling kind of grows as the album progresses.

science4
April 17th 2008



18 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Simply brilliant!

Willie
Moderator
April 17th 2008



15875 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It is... I just got "Night Time" a few days ago and I think I still like this one better, but I haven't decided for sure... I'll probably review it too if no one else does.

jamepic699
November 8th 2011



10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

call it bland critics...one of the most underrated albums of all time

KILL
January 17th 2012



70298 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great shit

Digging: Gal Costa - Gal Costa

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
February 3rd 2012



1835 Comments


This album was the one that got me into killing joke, and i haven't stopped listening to them since. The 80's retro sound and divisive use of dynamics and melody make this a stand-out in the band's career, though i actually prefer Coleman's cleaner vocals. Personal Preference is what this album was made for

13themount
February 11th 2012



173 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love this album so I suppose I am not really a fan as it does not sound like all the stuff that sounds like what KJ is supposed to sound like.

KILL
March 26th 2012



70298 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

god it rules so much

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
March 26th 2012



16134 Comments


For sure.

KILL
March 26th 2012



70298 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

chessboards make me happy

Willie
Moderator
March 28th 2012



15875 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is easily my favorite Killing Joke album.

Graveyard
March 28th 2012



5592 Comments


Nice Willie

Might check this out, because you can never get enough Killing Joke

KILL
March 28th 2012



70298 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

seriously just get their digcog, not one bad album

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
March 28th 2012



16134 Comments


Very true. Night Time is probs the best, but this and the s/t rule so hard.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy