Killswitch Engage
As Daylight Dies


4.5
superb

Review

by z67 USER (1 Reviews)
October 16th, 2007 | 47 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Killswitch is back and as good as they ever were as they deliver another stellar album. Any fans of this band or metalcore in general should pick this album up.

Let me start by saying these guys are crazy live, I walked out of a mosh pit of theirs with my 3rd concusion in 5 months and it felt great.

Onto As Daylight Dies, Killswitch's latest album. This album is the killswitch the we have all come to know and scream along with. The vocals and riffs are as loud and powerful as ever. Hradcore killswitch fans will find a lot to love about this album as well as metalcore fans in general.

The album opens with "Daylight Dies", the title track to the album. The song itself opens with a strange techno sound to it which fades into the guitar. The jones' voice is heard slowly speaking about the fall and corruption of mankind. Then screaming "this place is evil!" kick the album of in classic killswitch style. Opening with a semi-biblical monolouge which culminating like that is all I can ask from the first track off this album. The rest of the song is very good as well and is a great way to start of this album.

Skipping down to "The Arms of Sorrow" a slower song than the rest but no less powerful. This one focuses more on man's personal struggle to break free of his mortal binds, rather than mankind as a whole. I apprecitate the fact that in this song jones shows that he can sing without screaming, and do it amazingly well. He shows his versatility and that makes this song for me

"Eye of the Storm" is the next song I want to look at. It follows along the same lines as "Rose of Sharyn" in that it seems to be to loved one. It is reassuring the person that they will never be alone and how there will always be love. I feel that this is a sort of tribute to e their earlier work and that kicks ass.

The rest of the songs on this album also kick ass, I don't think that there is a bad song on this album. I just cjoose the ones that I've had a chance to really listen to, and those were the few I reviewed. I would say by all means if you are a fan of metalcore at all go buy this album.

The only thing keeping this album ffom perfect status in the lack of progress in their sound. But they have an amazing sound to start with so why fix whats not broken. It was a small little issue I had but it is in no way a reason to not buy this album. In fact If I could've given it a 4.75/5 I would have.


user ratings (2185)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 16th 2007


16453 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"Arms Of Sorrow" is the only worthwhile track off of this album. KSE keep slipping lower and lower and lower. I doubt I will ever buy another album by these guys.

Digging: Swallowed - Lunarterial

jrowa001
October 16th 2007


8750 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

good review i guess. i just can't get into this band. i get bored very quickly with their repetitive formula (it may work with some bands, but not them)

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 16th 2007


16453 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

They've pretty much released TEoH part 2 here.... booooooring....

BallsToTheWall
October 16th 2007


44714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This in no shape or way is better than "The End Of Heartache". Still a great disk though. Cranked this on my Graduation so It will always kick ass for me.

Digging: Reverend Bizarre - Return to the Rectory

astrel
October 16th 2007


2614 Comments


I just can't enjoy this band in general. Just not my type of thing I s'pose.

Digging: Jessie Ware - Tough Love

ironman4444
October 16th 2007


276 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Decent for a first review just work on that spelling and focus more on the overall sound of the album.

blackened07
October 16th 2007


949 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This is my least favorite album by killswitch.

Pluh
October 16th 2007


579 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah, agreed with ironman... check over your spelling and even add in some more length to your review. a few more paragraphs and a conclusion restating your main points would work pretty well. as for this cd, it's not a favorite, but it's great for what it is... i still can't get enough of songs like Break the Silence, Arms of Sorrow, or My Curse.This Message Edited On 10.16.07

TimeToTurnTheTide
October 17th 2007


208 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Through the eye of the storm is probably my fave. I listen to this album less than EoH and a lot less than AoJB. A lot of skippable tracks on this album. Arms of sorrow is not my cup of joe

BallsToTheWall
October 17th 2007


44714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Best songs are from 9-11. I like when Adam D adds his voice during some of the songs. My Curse is a great song as well.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2007


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Break The Silence is so good. The end rules.

Aeksis8745
October 19th 2007


448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm startin to like Reject Yourself alot more now, some very good riffs on there kind of reminds me of Rise Inside off of AoJB. Agree with most of the people on here that they have declined and it doesn't look like they'll be picking it up anytime soon.

McP3000
October 19th 2007


3941 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I listened to this album a earlier tonight...it was very pleasing. Maybe one or two tracks that were weak, but other than that, a solid 4 from me.

wakeupdead
October 28th 2007


2208 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Arms Of Sorrow" is the only worthwhile track off of this album.
I disagree. My Curse is like the greatest Killswitch Engage song ever.
As for the review, talk about the whole album in your review...not just certain songs.

Aeksis8745
October 29th 2007


448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

pretty much anything off of AoJB destroys it

Zoo
October 29th 2007


3759 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

They should have included a sticker on the cover with the following message: "Do not operate a motor vehicle or heavy machinery while listening to this cd". That's how boring this is.

blackened07
October 29th 2007


949 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Agreed I like their other stuff but this is pretty boring.

BallsToTheWall
October 29th 2007


44714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Na, this cd's pretty good. Reject Yourself, Break The Silence, and My Curse are amazing. Arms Of Sorrow aint bad either.

Aeksis8745
October 29th 2007


448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Finally someone gives Reject Yourself some credit, I thought I was the only one who enjoyed that song.

Mikesn
Emeritus
November 3rd 2007


3709 Comments

Album Rating: 2.7

So I found this and I gave it another listen...it's better than I remember it being. Arms of Sorrow is a beast.

Digging: Grimes - Visions



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy