Mastodon
Blood Mountain


4.5
superb

Review

by chris1 USER (2 Reviews)
September 19th, 2007 | 30 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Blood Mountain is not just a good album it’s a modern masterpiece of contemporary heavy metal a synthesis for the whole metal genre and an album by which all other metal albums will be judged for years to come.

I wasn’t the biggest fan of Mastodons last album Leviathan. This wasn’t because I didn’t like it, because I did, but because it paled in significance when put next to Mastodons first album Remission.

When Leviathan was released I was hoping it would be a continuation of Remission rather than the huge diversion away from that albums sound it was. I do love it when bands change their style and are continually pushing themselves but for some reason I just didn’t get it, so it is with great relief I can tell you that Blood Mountain is the follow up I was so desperately hoping for. It contains all the best parts of Leviathan and Remission to make it the best Mastodon album released so far.

Blood Mountain is easily the metal album of 2006 and also probably of the last decade. It combines everything that is great about ‘metal’ right now while using the backdrop of the 70’s experimental progressive rock movement to push the band into new territories and setting a benchmark for the whole of heavy metal to reach.

The album kicks off with the mighty 1,2,3,4 punch of ‘The Wolf is Loose’, ‘Crystal Skull’, ‘Sleeping Giant’ and the awe inspiring progressive rock masterpiece that is ‘Capillarian Crest.’ In fact there is not a single bad song on the album, every song is a masterpiece, every song is different and none of them ever become repetitive or boring.

Particular note needs to be made on the huge shift in dynamics and song structures, which renders it completely different from both Leviathan and Remission. Rather than rely heavily on the progressive sludge or mathematical complexity that was evident on both Remission and Leviathan, Blood Mountain manages to throw both aspects into each song and in turn the songs feel more direct, more precise and more like songs. The albums sounds exciting, it twists it turns it changes tempo and the song structures disappear only to reappear somewhere you’d never thought possible. Blood Mountain invigorates and challenges the listener at all times and because of this the record sounds massive, just like Mastodons band name suggests.

Blood Mountain is the bands Master of Puppets. But even though Mastodon has the hype, the major label and the media behind them, I still feel Blood Mountain may be a little bit ‘out there’ for mainstream taste. However every music fan of any genre should not overlook this album because it is ‘metal’ no this album should be appreciated by everybody.

In the last three years ‘metal’ has had a massive resurgence and Mastodon are leading the way just like Metallica were in the 80’s. I also suspect Mastodon will lead the way for heavy metal for many years to come. Blood Mountain is not just a good album it’s a modern masterpiece of contemporary heavy metal a synthesis for the whole metal genre and an album by which all other metal albums will be judged for years to come.

This is my first review for the site, hope you enjoyed reading it.


user ratings (3141)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Confessed2005
September 19th 2007


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Slightly unnecessary I feel to review this but it wasn't bad.

I haven't listened to this in a while. Still, This Mortal Soil is really awesome.

any14doomsday
September 19th 2007


679 Comments


11 reviews 1 album.

I was really digging this, but I have not put it In long while. I guess it doesn't have the staying power of Leviathan. I still enjoy the tracks when I hear them if someone else is playing them.

meep17
September 19th 2007


136 Comments


I used to like Mastodon, but now... no.

OK review, anyway. The summary up top was confusing though. (It's a very long run-on sentence; avoid those.)

masterchaos
September 19th 2007


22 Comments


This is a pretty good album. I hadnt listened to this in quite a while, but I put it in the other day and it was a lot better than I remembered

thesystemisdown
September 19th 2007


414 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm not going to blame you for writing a review of this cause I still have hopes of writing my own, despite the fact that I have nothing new to say. Good review, great for a first, maybe a little more next time? Discussing the sound instead of each song was something that not a lot of newbies pick up on right away.

gasmaskman
September 19th 2007


1006 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I never really listened to Pendulous Skin because I always hate tracks with like 4+ minutes of silence.

Thor
September 19th 2007


10202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

...and I thought my review was unnecessary.

Digging: Black Crown Initiate - The Wreckage of Stars

Wizard
September 19th 2007


19646 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review, well written and pretty much nailed how I feel about this album on the head.
"Blood Mountain is easily the metal album of 2006"
Sorry, Isis's 'In the Absense of Truth' smashed this album to pieces.

Digging: Ash Borer - Cold of Ages

emogangstascotty
September 19th 2007


472 Comments


Crystal Skull is sweet as.

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
September 19th 2007


4927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

that god for this opinion, otherwise I wouldn't know how people who really like it feel about the album!

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
September 19th 2007


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I did not know people found this album to be enjoyable and an exercise in technical guitar playing and drumming.

emogangstascotty
September 19th 2007


472 Comments


If you want to learn some serious techical guitar playin', switch on anything by Dragonforce or learn Slayer's Show No Mercy. Mabye just have a crack at Guitar Hero 3 on Legend mode!

Wizard
September 19th 2007


19646 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album had lots to offer in terms of tech guitar and drum work. It wasnt overly technical but at the same time had lots of really interesting rhythm changes and proggy elements. Dragonforce, a solid band, play technical but play the same god damn thing for every song. Slayer's Show No Mercy is an exercise in speed and consistancy. Technical albums, in my books, were Necrophagist's Epitaph and Death's Leporasy. Good luck playing songs off those albums note for note.

ScelusNefas
September 19th 2007


274 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

slayer.....technical guitar playing????

LifeInABox
September 19th 2007


3709 Comments


Yes?

south_of_heaven 11
September 19th 2007


5438 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

No.

ScelusNefas
September 19th 2007


274 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

not a all... slayer is about speed, power chords and chromatic guitar scale

LifeInABox
September 19th 2007


3709 Comments


Play Jihad for me. They aren't Necrophagist, but they sure as crap aren't simple.This Message Edited On 09.19.07

south_of_heaven 11
September 19th 2007


5438 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

To include them with the term "technical" is just plain dumb. Jeff is a good guitarist, as is Kerry, but they are far from being considered technical guitarists.
Besides, I listen to Slayer more. I win.

LifeInABox
September 19th 2007


3709 Comments


Or lose, depending on your opinion of Slayer.This Message Edited On 09.19.07



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy