Throwdown
Venom & Tears


3.5
great

Review

by TimeToTurnTheTide USER (2 Reviews)
September 18th, 2007 | 27 replies | 9,306 views


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Throwdown's latest offering, although not ground-breaking, is a solid, competent effort

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

One would not normally associate internationally successful pizza franchises with an underground hardcore-punk music scene. But it was during another bland shift slappin’ out the dough that a colleague of mine introduced me to "Throwdown". The mix tape he prescribed to me contained various run of the mill hardcore and punk stuff but one track instantly rose above the mediocrity on offer, that track I later discovered was "You Can't Kill Integrity". The track, from the 2003 album "Haymaker" was the first I had heard of the band and, i believe, the best song the band has produced.
It is because of the aforementioned track that "Throwdown" remain on my musical radar.

4 years later and vocally the band hasn't changed with Dave Peters providing a solid but predictable front to proceedings. However Throwdown's newest release "Venom & Tears" marks a noticeable shift in the bands sound from their earlier work. Moreover, it provides an improvement over the uninspiring 2005 album "Vendetta" which, other than the single "Burn" was a disappointment.

For those who are excited by genre classification "Venom & Tears" is more noticeably a post-thrash album than previous records. This switch of styles has enticed some comparisons to be made between Throwdown and Pantera. This similarity is not as pronounced as some critics have proclaimed and by all accounts is not even a bad thing anyway.

Musically the latest album provides many more stand out tracks than the satisfactory "Vendetta". The band are clearly trying new things and this can be seen most evidently (and successfully) in tracks such as "Holy Roller", "Americana", & "I,Suicide". "Propaghanda" originally a Sepultura tune from the album "Chaos AD" is an interesting cover but a welcome admission as the bonus track. As a further indication of the new direction the band has taken, there is even room on the album for an instrumental track. "Cancer" is satisfactory as a guitar piece but useful as an intermission and precursor to the decent "Hellbent"

Unfortunately there are some tracks that fall foul of this new direction. "Day of the Dog" is a strange inclusion on the album and the peculiar rhythm sections it contains destroys the early tempo set by "Holy Roller". The album suffers from a case of obesity in so much as that it loses shape and structure around the midsection. Tracks 8,9 & 10 are standard affair and forgettable.

Overall I would contend that this album is a better effort than Vendetta but I feel there is still more to come from this band

N.B. As a footnote can I just mention this is my first review...so go easy on me.


user ratings (101)
Chart.
3.1
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
kalkal50
September 18th 2007



2386 Comments


excellent review, thats all I have to say
some grammatical errors however

Thor
September 18th 2007



10186 Comments


This band bores me.

Pass.

Ire
September 18th 2007



41754 Comments


I saw this band with Arch Enemy, Sancity, and Machine Head, they were the worst.

Crimson
September 18th 2007



1935 Comments


Good 1st review, but could do with describing the sound a little more.

Confessed2005
September 18th 2007



3314 Comments


They're more hardcore than metal I reckon. They never really grabbed my attention anyhow.

BallsToTheWall
September 18th 2007



44205 Comments


I loved vendetta. I heardpart of the new cd and though Pantera, but i guess ill give it another try. Support XXX, Straightege Hardcore. Anybody seen a movie called threat? Its in new york and eventually the straightedge fight the hip hop scene till the death.

Digging: My Chemical Romance - Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge

Pebster49
September 18th 2007



2991 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Its decent, but its not something I will listen to over and over, nice review as well.

masscows
September 18th 2007



2236 Comments


Anybody seen a movie called threat? Its in new york and eventually the straightedge fight the hip hop scene till the death.
LOL

iliketoplaydrums10111
September 18th 2007



128 Comments


I'm not a fan of Throwdown in the least bit, I listened to this album and most of the songs sounded the same. :/

oh and the movie, lol...

Wizard
September 18th 2007



19344 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Nice solid first review! A little more detail would have been better, but hey, I have only contributed one review in 2 years (I'm one to talk). This band sounds like a bad ripoff of Pantera.

Digging: Mistigo Varggoth Darkestra - The Key to the Gates of the Apocalypse

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
September 18th 2007



16083 Comments


Throwdown aren't good at all anymore.
The TMNT video with them is though.

TimeToTurnTheTide
September 20th 2007



208 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Cheers for all the feedback guys. Yeah sorry about the grammatical errors, i'll tighten all that up for next time. I just got sick of no-one being bothered to review this album so i thought I'd give it a go.

Ironically, no one caring about the review might be an indication of no-one caring for the new sound?

Dave Peters voice is similar to Anselmo's, but musically i think they are vastly different, especially on lyrical content being as Throwdown are a straight edge band

epizoan
September 30th 2007



87 Comments


When I first plugged this album in my immediate thought was "Pantera", sans the wicked leads from Dimebag. An overall tight recording, albeit slightly monotonous at times.

TimeToTurnTheTide
October 5th 2007



208 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah thats pretty much how i described it. Tight, efficient, but not mind blowing. defo a few good tunes on this album tho

TimeToTurnTheTide
November 17th 2007



208 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@chickenfish. thank you very much!! but all i can say is you must have been reading some poor reviews lol.

Just download You Can't Kill Integrity and your opinion will change. Trust. It's a great tune

DWittisarockstar
February 13th 2008



1501 Comments


Throwdown is pretty boring, imo. They are good for a listen every now and then though.

Eliminator
February 13th 2008



2067 Comments


they missed the pantera worship trend by a few years

TimeToTurnTheTide
February 21st 2008



208 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think i agree with DWittisarockstar. This album is going down in my overall rating but it still has a few decent tracks on it.

Haymaker is a better Hardcore album than this but this is a better metal album than Vendetta

InsertTacosHere
April 30th 2008



153 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I f***ing love Throwdown, but this record sounds too Godsmacky for me.

TimeToTurnTheTide
May 4th 2008



208 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Can't say i have ever cared for Godsmack. I saw them support metallica once though. Played an interesting doubole drum solo which was nice



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy