Coalesce
Functioning on Impatience


5.0
classic

Review

by Cheyne Bush USER (2 Reviews)
September 15th, 2007 | 17 replies


Release Date: 1998 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Easily [Coalesce's] most cohesive and powerful release.

Let's face it: some "metal/hardcore" bands these days are weak. Bands release full-length hour-long albums of...well...weak melodic emo-influenced metal.

This band does, in 20 minutes, what most bands can't do in an hour: beat you to ***ing death. Aurally, that is.

The overall feel of the record is just mindblowing. There are times when you bang your head so hard that it's surprising you don't get a concussion. There are times when the riffing absolutely intrigues you, leaving no time to headbang, but rather to scratch your head and say "What the hell is going on?" And there are still times when the band's sound takes your body and tosses it around shamelessly like a pitbull to a ragdoll.

The screams are bloody screams of...well, not so much pain...rather, absolute fury. "What more do you want from me?/Some sort of apology?/Well, I promise that/Forgiveness is the most you'll get" ("You Can't Kill Us All") is a warning about what is about to come. The guitars, bass and drums come in too soon for you to get out while you can. When they come in, a pipe bomb explodes in your stereo and you are in the blast radius.

Every track is chock full of odd times, headbanging breakdowns, and scary heaviness - qualities which seem to be staple in every new "hardcore" release. This band was one of the first, and best, bands to pioneer that style. Easily their most cohesive and powerful release. For some, this 20-minute beating may be all that can be handled of the raw power and destructive abrasion of Coalesce's sound. Enjoy at your own risk.


user ratings (201)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
fsharp (4)
One of the angriest albums on planet Earth...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Athom
Staff Reviewer
September 15th 2007


17213 Comments


I dont know if i like this more than 0:12 but Coalesce dont nearly get the respect they deserve

Digging: Inigo Kennedy - Vaudeville

br3ad_man
Emeritus
September 15th 2007


2125 Comments


Good album.

faultandfracture
September 19th 2007


28 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

don't get me wrong, i love 0:12. but i feel like this ep packs a mightier punch.

ReDIcE
December 20th 2007


95 Comments


Hey not a bad review. Though it's a bit short, it's condensed. I'm gonna have to check this out sometime.

Bleak123
August 19th 2008


1902 Comments


What a fantastic album, between a 4 and 4.5 for this. I love the production on this record, it just sounds sooo good.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
August 19th 2008


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah coalesce fucking rules

Bleak123
August 19th 2008


1902 Comments


yes they fucking do. whats your favourite album by them chan?


mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
August 19th 2008


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

tie between this and 0:12 although give them rope isn't far behind either of them

they all rule ugh, even the zeppelin cover album

Bleak123
August 19th 2008


1902 Comments


I'll be damned, I haven't heard the zeppelin cover album. Yeah, I'd say between this and 0:12.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
October 4th 2008


17213 Comments


I used to think 0:12 was better but I end up listening to this a lot more so it wins. Its pretty damn close though.

Coalesce's cover of "Out On The Tiles" is nuts.

McP3000
December 15th 2008


3941 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this was pretty good, but a song or two short

and i think 0:12 is better anyway

Athom
Staff Reviewer
November 6th 2009


17213 Comments


What more do you want from me? Some sort of apology? Well I promise that forgiveness is the most you'll get. And what I demand of you is to put up or shut up. So make your decision, but remember - you can't kill us all.

accompliceofmydeath
November 6th 2009


4215 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

dun nah. nah nuh.

Digging: The Swarm - Parasitic Skies

Inveigh
January 12th 2010


24963 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

mm...tasty Coalesce.. all I have is 0:12 I need to get the rest of their stuff ASAP

JAV
May 13th 2010


1938 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

But remember, YOU CAN'T KILL US ALL!

TRMshadow
June 20th 2010


4982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Would you recommend THIS or 0:12 Revolution for a starter Coalesce album?

TRMshadow
July 14th 2010


4982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

GREAT RECORD!!! Could very easily get bumped up to a 4.5



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy