Every Time I Die
The Big Dirty


3.0
good

Review

by Andrew H. EMERITUS
September 5th, 2007 | 103 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Big Dirty is ultimately a fun, worthwhile release for fans, but it falls short of the greatness of Hot Damn!

In a world of Unearths, Killswitch Engages and Parkway Drives, Every Time I Die have always been a breath of fresh air. With skillful riffing, plenty of tempo changes and singer Keith Buckley's now famous sense of humour (not to mention his excellent vocals), Every Time I Die had a winning combination of elements that came together perfectly on their 2003 opus, Hot Damn!. At just 27 minutes in length, Hot Damn!'s cheeky, no bullshit approach to metalcore songwriting ensured their place as one of the biggest bands currently in heavy music. Unfortunately, Hot Damn! left the band in a bit of a bad spot and subsequent releases have seen the band unable to replicate its success. While 2005's Gutter Phenomenon won them plenty of new fans and its more pronounced southern rock influences marked a new chapter in the band's history, it was ultimately disappointing for fans of the band's earlier work. The Big Dirty is the band's fourth LP to date and stylistically, walks a line between that of the band's last two albums. Its title is apt and accurately describes the melding of gritty southern rock with more traditional metalcore. Every Time I Die also manage to throw a few new ingredients into The Big Dirty's melting pot to ensure that the album isn't just regurgitating earlier ideas.

Every Time I Die's appeal has always been their sense of humour and their ability to make music that's far more fun than that of the majority of their peers. Unfortunately with The Big Dirty, it seems that the band are unable to break through the wall that they ran into with Gutter Phenomenon. Ultimately, the problem with both this record and its predecessor is that at this point Hot Damn! is the pinnacle of everything that this band aspires to and it seems unlikely that that will change with any subsequent releases. That's not to say that The Big Dirty is a bad record, or even a disappointing one. It's just that it seems that the band's best days are already behind them so early in their career. Sensibly enough, Every Time I Die aren't trying to reinvent themselves and nor are they rehashing old ideas. The Big Dirty has plenty of appeal for existing fans with a number of bells and whistles thrown in. Keith Buckley's lyrics are typically badass with plenty of catchy one-liners ("Which one of you sons of bitches/Is gonna make me feel alive", "I chewed off my very own head to get me out of this trap"), though admittedly nothing quite as side-splitting as that line from Gutter Phenomenon. Musically, Every Time I Die are in great shape; opener "No Son of Mine" is one of their most brutal tracks to date while "Cities and Years" features a breakdown that hits like a kick in the nuts. "We'rewolf" and "Rendez-Voodoo" exemplify the band's love of southern rock and "Buffalo Girls" features some of their most fun riffing to date.

The Big Dirty is ultimately a fun and worthwhile record for fans, but it falls short of the greatness of Hot Damn!. On one hand, it's as if Every Time I Die are growing stale as they become more accessible, but at the same time they're adding a number of tricks over time to keep themselves from drying out or falling into a completely generic sound. If you're after forward-thinking, challenging hardcore, then this ain't it and you'd best wait for Ire Works. However, if you're a fan, just looking for fun or wanting something to tide you over until Ire Works arrives, The Big Dirty is for you.

Pros
Fun, brutal and witty
A few new ideas
Keith Buckley is a damn good vocalist

Cons
Doesn't feel especially fresh
Falls short of the band's legacy
The southern rock influence is a love/hate affair

Recommended Tracks
No Son of Mine
Cities and Years
Buffalo Girls

Final Rating: 3/5



Recent reviews by this author
White Suns Waking in the ReservoirPurplene Purplene
Quiet Steps Think AloudGrinderman Grinderman 2
Jakob DominionNorma Jean Meridional
user ratings (983)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
megalodon (3.5)
"The Big Dirty" is everything an Every Time I Die album should be....


Comments:Add a Comment 
br3ad_man
Emeritus
September 5th 2007


2125 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This was a pretty quick effort, soz if it sucks.

Confessed2005
September 5th 2007


3314 Comments


Good review, still haven't checked these guys out at all, which sort of sucks.

jrowa001
September 5th 2007


8750 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i used to like GP but now not so much. Hot Damn is still a good listen from time to time. i didnt like the song i heard off of this but maybe ill check it out. good review

Iai
Emeritus
September 5th 2007


3553 Comments


I thought Every Time I Die was a band everyone hated. :-/

ToWhatEnd
September 5th 2007


3172 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah this band is straight up fun. Liked the review, and your mentioning of that line from GP. While I wasn't completely sold on what songs I heard off this I might check it out because of this review.

Iai
Emeritus
September 5th 2007


3553 Comments


So having actually read this now I think I'll give them a shot. There's a big fat gap in my collection waiting to be filled by a decent metal band with a good sense of humour. I think SikTh are basically all I have already that fills that criteria.

SylentEcho
September 5th 2007


1570 Comments


is this what we call metal?

Iai
Emeritus
September 5th 2007


3553 Comments


I stopped genuinely caring what was and wasn't 'proper metal' when I was 17.

masscows
September 5th 2007


2236 Comments


theyre closer to hardcore than metal though.

the red chord is a good band with a sense of humor, check them out first...

kalkal50
September 5th 2007


2386 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ya good albumThis Message Edited On 05.19.08

StrizzMatik
September 5th 2007


3188 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Fun album, but nothing that really stands out, except for the cool old-school guitar riffage.

NeverFading14
September 5th 2007


380 Comments


The song do get a little repeitive, but I thought this was their best work. Plus the video for We'rewolf kicks ass

Wizard
September 5th 2007


19399 Comments


Fantastic review. You almost convinced me to listen to this album again. If I was a bit younger and a less seasoned metalhead, I would have enjoyed these guys.

Digging: Khonsu - Traveller

br3ad_man
Emeritus
September 5th 2007


2125 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

So having actually read this now I think I'll give them a shot. There's a big fat gap in my collection waiting to be filled by a decent metal band with a good sense of humour. I think SikTh are basically all I have already that fills that criteria.


Definitely get Hot Damn. And this is kind of a dumb question I guess, but do you like DEP?

hegster90
September 5th 2007


96 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Bad review.
This sums up your views:
"I like 'Hot Damn!'! This isn't 'Hot Damn!'...it's not bad...but it's no 'Hot Damn!', nothing's better than 'Hot Damn!'."

I haven't heard the whole album yet but i like the bits and pieces i've gotten from it. I haven't heard of all of Hot Damn! either, but I like most of the stuff from Gutter over it.

I'm more of a rock fan than a hardcore kid anyway though.

But really, try doing your reviews without making them about how much more you liked the bands previous album(s).

br3ad_man
Emeritus
September 5th 2007


2125 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This may make me sound like a jackass, but I don't see how someone with 5 posts and no valuable contributions to the site at all gets to rudely tell someone how they should write.

hegster90
September 5th 2007


96 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Actually it does make you sound like a jackass. The fact that I don't whiddle away my time writing reviews on Sputnik has nothing to do with my writing abilities. I've been meaning to do some but I really just haven't had time (not to mention i forgot my account info for a good while).

I think my comment was somewhat pre-mature though. The first paragraph and a half were kind of pissing me off but the rest seems fine.

Am I honestly the only one who gets annoyed by that kind of thing though???

iamrockzorz
September 5th 2007


1029 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yes.








123. To be honest, the reference to Hot Damn! really does have to be there. He's equating it to their best work and seeing how it holds up. Gutter Phenomenon was a let down for a lot of people due to the idea that it wasn't Hot Damn! 2. So in referring to this album, i believe he did a pretty good job of helping to let people know what to expect.

LifeInABox
September 5th 2007


3708 Comments


The only thing I might question is your use of this not being another HD as a negitive, but otherwise good review.

br3ad_man
Emeritus
September 6th 2007


2125 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I thought I made it pretty clear that it not being the same as HD wasn't a disappointing thing, it's just that HD seems to basically be the pinnacle of this band and it's unlikely that they'll ever top it. That's the problem with the album and quite likely every other album they'll ever make.

Actually it does make you sound like a jackass. The fact that I don't whiddle away my time writing reviews on Sputnik has nothing to do with my writing abilities. I've been meaning to do some but I really just haven't had time (not to mention i forgot my account info for a good while).


Oh I get it, so instead of 'whiddling' away your time writing reviews you're 'whiddling' away your time telling other people how to do them? Here's a thought; once you start delivering the goods, then you can give people advice. Until then, it's really going to be difficult for anyone to take your comments very seriously.

Am I honestly the only one who gets annoyed by that kind of thing though???


No, you're not, but the comparison is necessary. I don't understand why some people feel that every album needs to be looked at in a bubble, separate of all of the artist's other work. The fact is that from my point of view, HD epitomizes this band and so in looking at any of their other albums, how they stack up against HD is more or less an essential point.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy