Unwound
New Plastic Ideas


4.5
superb

Review

by Boddah USER (3 Reviews)
August 21st, 2007 | 17 replies


Release Date: 1994 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An exceptionally solid album, and a good place to start for those new to Unwound.

When I first bought this album, I was expecting either the punk rock fury of previous Unwound release, Fake Train, or the depressing, experimental creation that is Leaves Turn Inside You. What I got was something unexpected. It wasn't a mixture of the two albums (I'm looking at you Repetition), nor was it something completely different. It had a new sound, but with some traces of the past album, and the foreshadowing of some records to come.

At 39:43, New Plastic Ideas isn’t the longest listen, but remember, these guys are punk influenced. Entirely Different Matters and What Was Wound weren’t the best choices for openers, but a refreshing Envelope brings interest back into the album. Trosper’s calm harmonic vocals during the verse are traded off for vicious, emotional screaming in the chorus. The lyrics are simple, yet effective. Hexenzsene is a surprisingly upbeat, and almost happy song. A rare occurrence from Unwound, and adds new light to the album. Abstraktions takes an interesting turn on the album, a 7 minute long instrumental with strange beauty. Certainly a captivating song. Usual Dosage is an interesting song, with a chilling mid-section and somewhat tribal sounding drumming. All Souls Day expresses an almost Nirvana influence, with the chorus showing noise rock and punk rock fury, the verses portray a new, epic sounding Unwound. Lund’s intricate drum part molding in perfectly with Trosper’s echo drenched guitar, while Rumsey’s thundering, slightly distorted bass gives Unwound their signature style, in possibly the best song on the album.

New Plastic Ideas is a great listen, and probably the most upbeat of all Unwound’s releases. A good place to start for people new to the Unwound sound, and has some great songs on it. Certainly a gem of the mid nineties, and a terrifically solid album.

Recommended Songs
Envelope
Hexenzsene
Abstraktions
Usual Dosage
All Souls Day


user ratings (137)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
YoYoMancuso (4)
New Plastic Ideas is a punishing record with a solid foundation and a powerful effect on those who c...

(4)
Unwound at their most fractured, noisy and abrasive, and for that it’s definitely worth something...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Boddah
August 21st 2007


129 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Gah, can someone tell me why the paragraphs stretch out so far?

The Jungler
August 22nd 2007


4827 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love the albums I've heard from these guys, and this review really sold me on this particular one, maybe I'll get it next. Nice job, though it could've been a little longer.
You should reupload the album art, it'll look better. Sputnik has a bug with that at the moment

BringHomeTheBacon
August 22nd 2007


248 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice, another Unwound review. This is my 3rd favorite album of theirs after Leaves Turn Inside You and Repetition. "All Souls Day" is such an awesome song.

Boddah
August 22nd 2007


129 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Okay, I uploaded the album artwork, but it's still not showing up when you look up 'Unwound' :/

The Jungler
August 22nd 2007


4827 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hmmm, I'll report it in the Problems thread.
I might review Repetition as long as no one has their eyes on it.


Boddah
August 22nd 2007


129 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well actually...
Hah. Nah. Go right ahead.This Message Edited On 08.22.07

Aficionado
August 22nd 2007


1027 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Since your a huge Unwound fan and your going to review their cd's I'm going to upload their albums. I was going to review all of their albums.

Boddah
August 22nd 2007


129 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thank you! I was about to do a review for Fake Train.

Aficionado
August 22nd 2007


1027 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

No problem,

I would add more but my computer is performing so slow. It took me like 3 minutes to write this message.

The Jungler
March 6th 2008


4827 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ah man, i remembered how i still had to listen to this album when pixies when posted that thread in a/i. so tight.
I think I might like this better than repetition, but i'll listen again tomorrow.

Aficionado
March 6th 2008


1027 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Jungler, you liked this more than Repetition? That is surprising tbh, but have you listened to 'The Future is What'? I think I'm gonna review this and Repetition in the forseeable future.

Hovse
July 6th 2014


896 Comments


Hexenzsene is too good

KILL
July 6th 2014


71795 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

sweet diggin m/

NorthernSkylark
August 23rd 2014


3327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ALL SOULS DAAAY!!!

Digging: A/T/O/S - A/T/O/S

Supercoolguy64
August 23rd 2014


1547 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

IT DOSEN'T REALLY MAAAATTTEEERRR

Digging: Johnny Hobo and the Freight Trains - Love Songs For The Apocalypse

NorthernSkylark
August 23rd 2014


3327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

but that's an entire different maaattaaah

Supercoolguy64
August 23rd 2014


1547 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

then you say there's nothing to it
then you say you don't wanna do it



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy