Evergreen Terrace
Wolfbiker


4.0
excellent

Review

by Greg Majewski USER (30 Reviews)
August 17th, 2007 | 32 replies | 14,417 views


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Floridian (not in the death metal sense) Simpsons fanboys serve up a hunk of juicy hardcore that even the most casual fan of the genre can sink his/her teeth into.

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

How does a band live up to a name like Evergreen Terrace? Better yet, forget the Simpsons reference: how does a band make music that lives up to an album titled Wolfbiker? The band name and album title may conjure thoughts of yet another kitsch, tongue in cheek grind band or a beer swigging nü metal band with a “bad boy attitude,” respectively; and while these two preconceptions are certainly warranted, they are 100% wrong. The Jacksonville, FL quintet lay down rollicking, thrashing hardcore that, much like the show they reference, offers nothing more than a good time.

And most songs make good on that offer, as they usually come standard with at least one indelible hook and a few pit-friendly breakdowns to please any ninja fighter or penny picker who may be listening. But Evergreen Terrace know when to switch things up just ever so slightly, as shown on the sing-along chorus of album highlight “Chaney Can´t Quite Riff like Helmet’s Page Hamilton” and the powerful chanting (read: gang vocals) and chugga-chugga rhythm of “To the First Baptist Church of Jacksonville.” Heck, “Rolling Thunder Mental Illness” even has a quick “Oi! Oi! Oi!” thrown in for all the aging punks vying for the glory days of CBGB.

Before any more of these song titles eat up my word limit, there is something to be said for Evergreen Terrace’s conciseness. Though it may be the only major thing that sets them apart from the rest of the modern hardcore pack (had to use at least one wolf pun), the guys’ decision to trim the fat and go for flowing – and, therefore, memorable – songs results in what could be the genre’s strongest statement of the year.



Recent reviews by this author
These Arms Are Snakes Tail Swallower and DoveScar Symmetry Holographic Universe
Opeth WatershedMeshuggah obZen
Arsis We Are the NightmareBrain Drill Apocalyptic Feasting
user ratings (205)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
EagleBlade (3.5)
A great hardcore band overall and is definately on the rise, growing in lyrical depthness and musica...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Kiran
Emeritus
August 17th 2007



6000 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I quite liked the songs on their myspace page. I'll be sure to check the album out. I'm humming the chorus to the title track as I type this, actually.

Good review.

BallsToTheWall
August 17th 2007



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ive always enjoyed listening to these guys. One of the few local bands I can listen too. Sincerity was a good album and what ive heard sounds good as well.

jrowa001
August 17th 2007



8750 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i think this album isnt that bad. ive always enjoyed ET

Aficionado
August 17th 2007



1027 Comments


I heard one song from these guys and was impressed. The prospect of a song based off of the great Page Hamilton is making me giddy, loving the cover too. Good review.

Xplisit
June 8th 2008



1646 Comments


Yet to rate, but I like what I hear here, surprisingly.

beans
August 2nd 2008



2332 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i was thinking of reviewing this
although i dont hold it in high regards

BallsToTheWall
August 2nd 2008



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Band rules hard. Unfortunately I still haven't got this yet but Chaney Can't quite riff like Helemt's Page Hamilton is great.

beans
August 6th 2008



2332 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

the album itself is ok, i love the clean vocals but his screams are reaaaally dry and get played out so fast for me

kattunlover69
September 2nd 2008



1194 Comments


Chaney Can't Quite Riff Like Helmet's Page Hamilto, is a fun track

BallsToTheWall
January 21st 2009



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Band is so fun.

poweroftheweez
January 21st 2009



1290 Comments


All I've heard were a couple tracks off of 'Sincerity'. And I didn't like hardcore back then.

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
February 12th 2009



7970 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

album kills

BallsToTheWall
February 12th 2009



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Starter, and High Tide fuck rules. Band needs more love.

DWittisarockstar
February 12th 2009



1501 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

They aren't very good. Very derivitive.

botb
February 12th 2009



9521 Comments


band is extremely not special in any way tbh

BallsToTheWall
February 12th 2009



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ha ha ha ha. Good one. Evergreen definitely are the cream of the crop of modern metalcore. Fuck other bands, i'll take Evergreen and Bleeding Through over any.

gmcamaro
August 31st 2009



7 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I may be bias cuz I'm from Jacksonville, but I really like these guys. I saw them live and they were amazing.

Apollo
October 21st 2009



10263 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

is this album worth listening to? I really like Almost Home

Inveigh
October 22nd 2009



24752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album rocks hard, not really a bad track on it (even if they do blend together after awhile).

SatansLittleHelper
March 28th 2010



192 Comments


When i hear Starter i jus think of the song from Soil (Say You Will)



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy