Sonic Syndicate
Only Inhuman


3.5
great

Review

by crazycobs USER (6 Reviews)
August 13th, 2007 | 34 replies | 25,278 views


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Another Melodic Death Metal album from Sweden. What is in the water over there? Sonic Syndicate are a band to watch, but they still fall into the trap of sounding like one of the many copy cat melodic death metal bands out there.

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

Sweden has given birth to some of the most influential bands in modern Melodic Death Metal, bands such as In Flames, Arch Enemy and Dark Tranquillity are the precursors of the Gothenburg sub genre of this genre (there are so many genre‘s now its stupid). Now it seems Sweden is delivering its next litter…

Sonic Syndicate are at the forefront of this new movement in the world of melodic death metal along with acts such as Scar Symmetry and Blinded colony. Combining soaring vocals and guitar melodies with the deep growls and speed of other earlier death metal acts. This new breed are set to go mainstream in the metal scene. Sonic syndicate first came into the spotlight after winning the Nuclear blast battle of the bands competition and have since been praised by the likes of Anders Friden of In Flames and critics.

I picked up this album after writing a review of bedtime prayers by Blinded colony and being messaged about checking this band out and I was not disappointed. From the word go you can tell this album is going to be a high octane roller coaster of an album, songs such as the opening track “Aftermath” and lead single “Denied” are packed full of crushing guitar riffs and soaring melodies, maybe to many but it works. To add variety to the album a slower track has been thrown into the mix in the form of current single “Enclave” which shows off the newly recruited singers vocal range and also shows that the band aren’t just a one trick pony (is that even a saying?). The faster paced songs are what make this album a stand out album amongst the many copy cat melodic death metal bands out there at the moment, the sheer amount of melody and clean vocals make the album very hard to take out of your CD player. Another interesting fact about this band is that they have two vocalists, one who screams and the other who mainly sings, this adds variety to the songs and maybe gives them an edge over other bands (but when your Christian of Scar Symmetry you don’t really have to bother with two singers!).

This album isn’t without its flaws, there is a reason I have only rated it 3.5 just above good and not excellent. it’s the fact that they are not in any way that original, you could name a hundred bands who sound like them, maybe not as good but like them in terms of style and structure. This band has obviously just followed the Swedish trend of trying to sound like the next Soilwork or In flames and some tracks just get a bit repetitive and similar sounding. An example of this is that the tracks “Aftermath” and “Double Agent 616” start of pretty much exactly the same with a keyboard or something playing over a guitar riff to give and almost power metal sound, although this sounds good a million bands have already done it (the intros of both tracks always make me think of Rejection role by Soilwork).

Overall the album is a very good listen but don’t expect an album that is going to change your outlook on metal or anything really.

Songs to Download (even though downloading is naughty and personally I don’t do it)
Aftermath
Denied
Callous



Recent reviews by this author
Hacride AmoebaSoilwork Sworn to a Great Divide
Divine Heresy Bleed the FifthBlinded Colony Bedtime Prayers
Scar Symmetry Pitch Black Progress
user ratings (209)
Chart.
3
good
other reviews of this album
Fosster3567 (1.5)
There is nothing creative on this cd. Well, I shouldn't say that because these guys were "innovative...

Frederick Metzengerstein (3)
Among the new kids on the block of Sweden's new wave of metal....


Comments:Add a Comment 
BallsToTheWall
August 13th 2007



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Thank you sir for reviewing this cd. Love this cd. Major props. It ios a very catchy cd and Denied is a hell of an anthe,.

crazycobs
August 13th 2007



114 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thats alright. And one more thing to anyone reading this! could u please give me names of bands who sound like sonic syndicate n stuff cos i wanna find more bands to listin to like them thanks.

BallsToTheWall
August 13th 2007



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Blinded Colony

Scar Symmetry

Soilwork(Check out first)

Deadlock( death growls with clean female vocals)

Raunchy(Industrial melodic metal with clean and brutal vocals)



Crysis
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2007



16028 Comments


Very nice, more melodic death metal, I'll have to take a listen to this album.

Digging: Katatonia - Kocytean

Fina1e
August 13th 2007



123 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Great band, Callous is a great song.

jrowa001
August 13th 2007



8749 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this album is pretty good, although it isnt anything new or innovative its still pretty catchy

BallsToTheWall
August 13th 2007



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I had been looking for this cd in stores since early may and now its poppin up at every music store. What a waste of time.

burton.and.gas
August 14th 2007



641 Comments


I've heard thsi Cd is very catchy and melodic, but i havent heard it. I've read reviews describing it as a kind of americanisation of the gothenburg sound, aiming it suqarely at the mainstream. Your Review sort of seems to be heading in that way, but do you think there's more to it than that? did i jus task a question in a review? This Message Edited On 08.14.07

crazycobs
August 14th 2007



114 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

well it is very melodic and catchy but i woudlnt say its any more americanised then Blinded Colony or In Flames ReRoute to remian. Its still very gothenburg sounding. it just has very big catchy chorus's that make people scream mainstream. but maybe they just wanted to sing a bit more i mean screaming cant be for everyone. and tbh im not a fan of people who only love screaming music and flame everything else. i listen to a bit of everything from necrophagist to breaking benjamin and even some drum n bass is shiz, its about having variation and sonic syndicate offer alot of variety and that what makes them a stand out band n thats why they won the nuclear blast battle of the bands. i hope that in some way awnses ur question! sorry its an essay i i just disliked people throwing around the term americanisation lol what a load of bollecks that term is .

Reeke
August 14th 2007



61 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think it’s an ok album.

It does feel like its definitely aimed at a mainstream audience though, the scene kiddies will love it.


BallsToTheWall
August 14th 2007



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Dosen't matter its a fun listen where ever i go. Its just insanely catchy and glad i was the one that recommened sonic syndicate on your blinded colony review.

burton.and.gas
August 16th 2007



641 Comments


That's cool cobs thanks for the answer lol, I quite liekd re-route to remain, I'm also very partial to varied music (including some D n B) so we have something in common. I'll check this stuff out now that you've made it sound worth my while.

burton.and.gas
August 26th 2007



641 Comments


I've jsut chekced these guys out, i liek them in general, but the vocals are a bit dull to me.

BallsToTheWall
September 1st 2007



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Always a fun listen in the car. I beast out at the stoplights to denied.

kalkal50
September 1st 2007



2386 Comments


I've yet to check this out.

Sethcanes
January 6th 2008



45 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Their first CD was so much better.

Crimson
January 6th 2008



1935 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I've yet to check this out.

I wouldn't bother to be honest Kal, this is very, very average, there is so much better melo-death out there.

masscows
January 6th 2008



2236 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I wouldn't even call this melodeath to be honest. It's kind of like what you'd get if you took new In Flames and mixed it with My Chemical Romance.

aka gay as hell and completely useless.

Dethtrasher
January 6th 2008



2211 Comments


Sonic Syndicate is just another useless Soilwork clone, terrible band.

Sethcanes
January 8th 2008



45 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I repeat, get their old album "eden fire", no clean song, better drumming, and like 10x heavier.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy