Cannibal Corpse
Butchered at Birth


4.0
excellent

Review

by lospokey USER (8 Reviews)
August 8th, 2007 | 47 replies | 2,954 views


Release Date: 1991 | Tracklist


2 of 3 thought this review was well written

I don't believe that Cannibal Corpse really needs a introduction, considering that if you are a fan of heavy music you have banged your head to atleast one of their songs, even if your not a fan of heavy music you have atleast heard of them. Now that we have gotten through that lets get to the music.

"Butchered At Birth" is a natural musicial progression for CC(Cannibal Corpse), seeing that it has elements of "Eaten Back To Life", but it also puts their musicial technicality on display. it really shows how much they have progressed as musicians, and it hints at what they would acheive on "Tomb of The Mutilated(What i believe to be their best album).

As you would expect from CC, the ungodly guttural vocals are there(courtesy of Chris"Cookiemonster" Barnes). Chris doesn't really have a good showing in this album, seeing as his vocals sometimes slow the music down(this being one of the reasons, actually the main reason, the band dropped him) plus he doesn't have any range except LOW. Jack Owen, and Bob Rusay on the other hand have a great showing in this album, their guitars being the main attraction, keeping you listening and violently banging your head as killer riff after killer riff blare from the speakers. jack owen's solos are blazing, not anything groundbreaking but really add to the songs wonderfully! Paul Mazurkiewicz's drumming is solid, seems that he can keep up with the guitars mind blwoing tempo with hardly any trouble, even on the faster songs. Alex Webster(One of Death Metal's best bassist, if not the best) follows the guitars, plays along with them note for note, which is suprising considering Death Metal guitar parts can be quite complicated.

Overall this is a great album, NOT a classic but pretty close. If you want a classic BUY "Tomb Of The Mutilated. Every member, except Chris Barnes has a very solid performance on here. Defenitely a must for any Death Metal Fan!



Recent reviews by this author
Devour The Unborn Consuming The Morgue RemainsGuttural Secrete Reek Of Pubescent Despoilment
Bloodsoaked Brutally ButcheredChampion Promises Kept
Defeated Sanity Psalms of the MoribundSevere Torture Fall Of The Despised
user ratings (519)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
ScuroFantasma (4)
A choice cutlet....

Aaron Arneson CONTRIBUTOR (4)
Prepare to be butchered....

JohnnyGetYerKnife (2.5)
The same generic, boring, mediocre crap all over again......

Dominic (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
blackened07
August 8th 2007



949 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Pretty good review. This is one of the few cannibal corpse albums I don't own I guess I should go get it.

CoRpSeSlAyEr
August 8th 2007



855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Go and get then, it is the best Corpse album.

LifeInABox
August 8th 2007



3707 Comments


Gallery Of Suicide and ToTM I prefer.

lospokey
August 8th 2007



87 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not a big gallery of suicide fan(good album, just didn;t really enjoy it)..I prefer their first Three albums, even though I don;t like Chris' vocals.

CoRpSeSlAyEr
August 8th 2007



855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lospokey, Digested Flesh kick ass, i didn't know anybody on this website even knew about them. Check out Lust of Decay if you havn't, i guarantee you love them.

Confessed2005
August 8th 2007



3314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album isn't bad but I prefer Corpsegrinder to Barnes. Even though Tomb of the Mutilated owns me.

Cravinov13
August 8th 2007



3854 Comments


Barnes sucks even though he's one of the founders of death metal.

lospokey
August 8th 2007



87 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i meant to put that corpsegrinder was far more superior than barnes but forgot to mention it. Corpseslayer, I didn;t know anybody on this site listened to lust of decay they kick a** also...I plan on reviewing another great underground DM band PUTRID PILE

CoRpSeSlAyEr
August 8th 2007



855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That would would be cool, Putrid Pile is awsome, but review The Pleasure in Suffering.

lospokey
August 8th 2007



87 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I enjoy both albums, The Pleasure in Sufgfering is far more technical than Collection of Butchery, but cob has so many catchy riffs. I might review them both

Confessed2005
August 8th 2007



3314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Corpseslayer = sputnik's resident death metal nut. IMO.

muchtallerthanu
August 8th 2007



648 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not a bad review. I own the Bleeding. It wasn't bad, but I don't know which onther CC album to get.

Confessed2005
August 8th 2007



3314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Tomb of the Mutilated, Vile and Kill.

The Bleeding is one of the best they ever did with Barnes.

lospokey
August 8th 2007



87 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Get Tomb Of The Mutilated...a must own...a CC classic

CoRpSeSlAyEr
August 8th 2007



855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Butchered, TOTM, EBTL, The Bleeding, Vile, then Bloodthirst in that order.

rattlehead42147
August 8th 2007



1345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i dont want to vote cause i feel theres not enough detail here but not a bad review. and the main reason chris b. was dropped is for focusing more on his side-projects at the time than CC.

CoRpSeSlAyEr
August 8th 2007



855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

No it's not. It's because The rest of the band wanted him to knid of change his vocal style to fit what the band musically wanted to do. Chris did not want to change they both agreed to seperate.

Cravinov13
August 8th 2007



3854 Comments


Corpse is right. Phil ANselmo was the one who had the side project problem.

lospokey
August 8th 2007



87 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Webster an a interview said that they dropped barnes because they felt like his styled didn't fit anymore

LifeInABox
August 8th 2007



3707 Comments


I heard musical differences, yes.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy