Bomb the Music Industry!
Get Warmer


3.5
great

Review

by Richard Craig USER (120 Reviews)
August 7th, 2007 | 238 replies | 19,912 views


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist


10 of 13 thought this review was well written

Every time a band releases a new album, their fans will expect it to be different from their last album and releases before that; they may be disappointed if bands release the same album time after time. In short bands are expected to constantly be changing a little, if not reinventing themselves completely. This change that bands are expected to make usually concerns the musical nature of the album, but in the case of Bomb the Music Industry! and this, their new album 'Get Warmer', the most noticeable change is that they are releasing it through Mike Park's Asian Man Records, as well allowing people to download it from Quote Unquote Records. This is a big change. Perhaps the biggest band on one of, if not, the only true DIY labels out there today has moved to a label that distributes albums physically - not virtually. This will benefit the band financially as people will start paying for their albums for a change, and being on a label that has at times hosted relatively huge acts such as Alkaline Trio and Big D & The Kids Table will draw a lot more people's attention to them. This move has also evidently benefitted the album itself. With a larger budget and better production quality 'Get Warmer' plays with a new found clarity that was absent on their last three albums.

Label politics aside, what really matters about an album is the quality of the music itself. They more-or-less continue the unfortunate trend of having poor album openers with 'Jobs Schmobs'. Starting off with an overly long guitar and vocal intro that is so distorted that the lyrics become almost inaudible, when the distortion is turned down it sounds great, especially with the horn section. The use of the horn section seems to be something that they have embraced more on the album as it is overall more ska than punk. While the album opener is very frantic ska-punk, there are also more laid back ska songs such as 'No Rest For The Whiny'. Well, at least it starts out more laid back, before giving way to an enjoyably frantic chorus and excellent saxophone solo. The next song '25 Hour Goddamn Telethon' is another more laid back ska. The thin texture and laid back nature of the instruments, despite the fact that the bass is walking all over the place and the drums won't have been laid back to play, compliments Jeff Rosenstock's never-pause-for-breath vocal style. Excellent splatterings of ska are found all over the album, with twangy guitars and upbeat horn sections.

With the newly available production quality on Asian Man Records, their frantic punk sound has been toned down in favour of the aforementioned ska songs and songs that are still essentially punk, but are far more restrained than songs on previous albums. You may have heard '493 Ruth', a song that has been on their myspace for a while now; a song that is just one example of the restraint that has been placed on their music. It's chorus may be loud and raucous, but doesn't reach the energy levels of songs already released. The verse in particular has been toned down even more, and the song is only really saved by the great bass work in it. The bass throughout the album is great, it is always audible and clear, and often plays great bass lines and is generally overactive.

The fact that the music's energy is restrained has hndered the quality of some songs, such as '493 Ruth', but in most cases this is a good thing - especially in the more blues-influenced songs. 'I Don't Love You Anymore' is a blues influenced song, and a very good one at that, even if if it lacks originality (the main riff is stolen from 'You Got What It Takes' by The Dave Clark Five). The song itself is very bluesy and upbeat, before becoming more frantic near the end. There is a drum solo (of sorts) towards the song's conclusion, that while isn't the most complex, still sounds great. Live drums is also a new feature to the album, whereas before they have been played by a drum machine or electric kit. 'Unlimited Breadsticks...' is one of BtMI!'s folk songs but includes a bluesy snyth riff that adds an interesting twist to 'country' music. Jeff's ragged vocals along with the chorus' gang vocals contrast the laid back music, once again; maybe this is what makes the bands 'folk' songs such a success.

Clocking in at 6 minutes and 52 seconds, there is no denying that the title track had the potential to be Bomb the Music Industry!'s most ambitious song, but instead it is disappointingly one-dimensional, and could be described as nearly epic. They largely stick to what they know - largely solo acoustic folk and then building into a thicker textured section of punk. While they do manage to fill the time very well indeed, and it is a very good song, you can't help but feel that they could have done more with such a long song duration. They sould have stopped the album right there, with one of the stronger tracks on the album and the longest song they have ever recorded, but instead they decide to stick on a very short (too short) acoustic song at the end. 'The Last Party' is just over a minute long, and therefore has very little time to do anything noteworthy, and unsurprisingly it doesn't do much at all.

Despite the disappointing end to the album, Bomb the Music Industry!'s first physical release is very strong and worthy of this particluar milestone in their career. The album as a whole is much less chaotic than previous albums, and in most cases this is a good thing, as the ska, folk and blues-influenced songs are the strongest here, while the more aggressive, punk songs will have to settle for second place. In the past BtMI! have excelled most when creating high energy punk songs, 'Get Warmer' is an album where there are very few of these, but the album is still very good. This shows how well the band can change, and you get the feeling that although they will never, ever be the biggest punk band in the world, their newfound home on Asian Man Records could be the platform to take them to the next level, one that they will undoubtedly do well at.



Recent reviews by this author
leer SPRINGBREAKNOPARENTSThe Lawrence Arms Metropole
You Blew It! Keep Doing What You’re DoingHammock Oblivion Hymns
Warpaint The FoolThe Gaslight Anthem Handwritten
user ratings (303)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
craigy2
August 7th 2007



551 Comments


Anyone know how I can edit the album picture, it didn't work.

Kaleid
August 7th 2007



710 Comments


Go to My Profile, then Edit My Reviews, then upload the album art from your own computer. Use a jpgThis Message Edited On 08.07.07

crossxouteyes
August 15th 2007



2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i find this to be a great album. i personally find every release by BTMI! to be amazing. the song "Get Warmer" is actually great, and its one of my favorite songs from the album. "Pizza Claus Is Coming To Town" and "Never Trust a Man Without a Horribly Embarassing Secret" are also really amazing tracks. the fact that they will also be putting this album on a cd and vinyl is really a positive thing. they still have all their songs for free to download, and they provide the option of having the artwork and a hardcopy of the music. bomb! is going in no direction but up, and are continuing to keep their great sound/originality. for fans of any BTMI! song from any other album, i highly recommend this album.

craigy2
August 16th 2007



551 Comments


was this a bad review? how could i have improved it?

Duckfooted
August 17th 2007



1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I respect your opinion because it's just that; an opinion, and it's all yours. I've got a couple of problems with your blatant half-truths though.

I understand that it's hard to come across details on the recording efforts of the group and those of AMR, but BtMI!'s budget hasn't changed a bit. They have a drummer now but that's the biggest change in their recording. They've used Jeff's computers and a couple of bedrooms from the beginning (or so the story goes) so it's not like Mike Park handed them a 4 million dollar check and a contract.

I can't say how deeply your researched, but making a statement like "'I Don't Love You Anymore' may well be a cover, but I can't be absolutely certain" without any accompanying explanation save 'hell if I know' is a drag on what could have been overall a good review.

I can't agree with you over Jobs Schmobs or The Last Party (Foul) but it's your article and you've got your freedoms. Something to aim for would be less maybes. Saying nothing at is sometimes a better idea. And I love the automated response thing.

descendents1
August 21st 2007



702 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Travesty that this could have been negged.

Great review dude. I love this band too.

Catchthe22
August 23rd 2007



95 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

looks like we got some random people joining the site just to up the BTMI scores and disapprove your fair review. I agree with most everything you said. I like some songs more than you do and some less, but good review.

ill vote just because others negged it unfairly.This Message Edited On 08.23.07

craigy2
August 27th 2007



551 Comments


edit

descendents1
September 14th 2007



702 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think we all do. Most people know the definition of subjectivity, but they don't know how to apply it.

craigy2
September 21st 2007



551 Comments


I have a confession: I had to get a dictionary out for 'Subjectivity'.This Message Edited On 09.21.07

PhoenixRising
September 21st 2007



277 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Subjectivity: The activity (or activities) of being below or under a ject.This Message Edited On 09.21.07

orangeplastic
November 18th 2007



1 Comments


I agree with this review. The riff from "I Don't Love You Anymore" is from "You Got What It Takes" by the Dave Clark Five.

craigy2
November 18th 2007



551 Comments


awesome! thanks, now i can correct that and then there should be no reason for negs


Serpento
November 18th 2007



2351 Comments


*does so-so hand motion* I never found BTMI! as enjoyable as ASOB's.

xeuloca
November 19th 2007



8 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Ok BTMI = great band and your review was fairly spot on. But unfortunately u missed the greatest song on Get Warmer which of course is Bike Test 123 great song great clarity one of the best they have ever put out (Although I may be a little byast). That leaves only one flaw left to be confronted which would be that Asian Man records is still DIY and is in fact run out of a garage. So I do believe that constitutes BTMI to remain with a DIY status.

crazycider
July 4th 2008



105 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I dont think you should review an album when you don't know anything about the band.

craigy2
July 4th 2008



551 Comments


ha, ok. what more do you want me to write about the band? at the end of the day its all about the music and thats what i focused on in this review. label politics are important for this band, especially for this album, so thats why i wrote about that. if i really knew nothing about the band then surely this review would have been blank...just a thought.

crazycider
July 11th 2008



105 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ok my last comment was pretty vague. Let me explain what I meant and my thoughts on the album. Jeff produced the album and once it was finished Asian man distributed for him. I don't think they really had much to do with his production. Other then that I agree with your review of the musical aspect of the album. I would have liked to read more about your thoughts on the lyrics. His previous albums have been mostly upbeat and fun lyrics while Get Warmer tends to sway towards the depressed "I'm starting to give up on this whole anti-everything movement because its not working all too well" vibe. Which in turn altered the way the music would be on the album. I don't know.. maybe its just me. Sorry to offend you if I did. I didn't put too much thought in the last comment.

Joeeddstealschickens
November 3rd 2008



110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I didnt like Get Warmer at first, it felt too restrained, but it has really grown on me and is probably my second fave BTMI album after ...Long Island now. The one thing that drags it down for me is The Last Party (Foul) which is really out of place. The title track is awesome and i agree that it shouldve ended the album. Review was okay, bit vague in laces and some of the sentences were poorly constructed. Content was pretty good though.

hoipolloi
April 10th 2010



152 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i really like BTMI and i think album is good but i agree with the 3.5 rating, this album isn't close to a classic but it is enjoyable and a step in rigbht direction for this band. i still gotta listen to their new album, i think its gonna be awesome



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy