A Perfect Circle
Thirteenth Step


4.5
superb

Review

by grungekicksmetalsass USER (12 Reviews)
August 4th, 2007 | 21 replies | 3,904 views


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist


0 of 5 thought this review was well written

Although not as heavy as Mer de Noms, A Perfect Circle's Thirteenth Step holds it's own as an excellent rock album. Containing members of Tool, Nine inch Nails, and Smashing Pumpkins, this record contains songs about addiction and self doubt. The song writing is very dark and holds a convincing ambience that draws you in to another trait of thought. That's just a few things to clarify the sound of this album. Along with the creativity of the bands members.




Maynards vocals, like on Mer de Noms, flow with the music well. As his singing abilities have continued to improve. On songs like Weak and Powerless and Pet, Maynards melodic, yet haunting voice sets the mood perfectly. His lyrics, while strange and spacey, can leave you guessing for awhile about what some songs are about. But he sings with so much emotion, that deciphering the message escapes you, as it seems to have that effect on me at least.




The instrumentation is written well. The drums are another integral part of setting the mood. Most songs when not changing time signatures every other measure, are in 6/8. Obviously a favorite signature of the band and is most likely a reference from Maynard, as most Tool songs are in 6/8 as well. None the less, the drumming is great, and is big focusing point of Perfect Circle's music.




Billy Howerdel, having written most of the material, is a good guitarist and song writer. I've always wondered the imporatance of two guitarists in the band. While they each have thier own parts, they don't usually differentiate from each other. There are no guitar solo's really. When Billy does play a lead, the rythym track is quiet. So really the bass should be able to handle a rythym.




Those looking for an alternative to rock, this is a good purchase. The vocals, instrumentation, and the music overall is well done. So for anyone who's into A Perfect Circle or is wondering about thier material before the dissapointing eMotive, should check out this album.



Recent reviews by this author
System of a Down MezmerizeNine Inch Nails Pretty Hate Machine
Ramones RamonesVelvet Revolver Libertad
Tool OpiateLinkin Park Minutes to Midnight
user ratings (2282)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
tribestros
August 5th 2007



918 Comments


Why's it so spaced out and short?

Doppelganger
August 5th 2007



3124 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Tribestros, those two go hand in hand.

Cravinov13
August 5th 2007



3854 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this hurts my eyes

BlindWriting
August 5th 2007



102 Comments


James Iha didn't play on this album.

Most Tool songs are not in 6/8.

The songs on this album rarely changed time signatures mid-song.

Pay more attention if you don't think a second guitar part matters.

Start writing complete sentences and check your grammar.

grungekicksmetalsass
August 5th 2007



62 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I thought James Iha did play on this album

Most Tool songs are in 6/8 when not changing signatures

I never said a second guitar part didn't matter, I just said I questioned it.

There's nothing wrong with my fucking grammarThis Message Edited On 08.04.07

Cravinov13
August 5th 2007



3854 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

To be fair I thought Iha was on this album as well.

grungekicksmetalsass
August 5th 2007



62 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Besides, you've only done four reviews. It's not like i'm an expert, but don't look down upon me like your any better.

BlindWriting
August 5th 2007



102 Comments


There are plenty of things wrong with your grammar. No one expects experts on a public site like sputnik but this is a bad review.

metalicajaymz
August 5th 2007



8 Comments


I agree with your assessment that two guitars in a band are unimportant especially if there are no solos

continue to have a firm grasp on what you're talking about

plus I agree that it's hard to get a firm grasp on obtuse lyrics like "Little angel go away/Come again some other day/The devil has my ear today/I'll never hear a word you say"

samthebassman
August 5th 2007



2164 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Sorry mate, bad review, awesomely sexy album though...

Confessed2005
August 5th 2007



3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree with samthebassman.

Sound
August 5th 2007



3887 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

123.


Next time make it a little longer and add some song descriptions.This Message Edited On 08.05.07

tribestros
August 5th 2007



918 Comments


I agree...the review is very short, and you don't really go into depth at all about the songs or how the music sounds.

I was under the assumption Iha was the guitarist as well.

This is a 3 sentence summary of your review:

1.) Not as heavy as Mer de Noms
2.) Its dark.
3.) Maynard's vocals flow well.

You can't tell me you can't go indepth more than that.

Almost all of your older reviews are better than this one.

ValiumMan
August 5th 2007



493 Comments


This is exactly the review this site needed. Next time go for Dark Side Of The Moon, Master Of Puppets or some Tool or Opeth album.
Come on people, we need more writing on little-reviewed albums like this one!

Cravinov13
August 5th 2007



3854 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

your sarcasm tickles me.

Geedrummer
August 5th 2007



607 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i finally got this and i have to say that i have to agree with your review. this CD is amazing

rattlehead42147
August 5th 2007



1345 Comments


put some bigger spaces between those paragraphs
decent work i guess kinda seems like a soundoff

tribestros
August 5th 2007



918 Comments


@ValiumMan: No reason to be a jerk.

cometuesday
August 9th 2007



959 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Review could use some work but hey whatever. I thought I had heard a while back that Iha did actually contribute to this album but that he wasn't necessarily credited or anything. Regardless though it is a good album and I'll leave it at that.

Sound
August 9th 2007



3887 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

As far as i know he only contributed on eMotive.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy