Suicide Silence
Suicide Silence


2.5
average

Review

by lospokey USER (8 Reviews)
August 4th, 2007 | 19 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Deathcore to get all the kids kicking the air

Suicide Silence are a 5 piece Deathcore band hailing from Riverside, California.

Band consists of:

Mitch Lucker - Vocals
Chris Garza - Guitar
Rick Ash - Guitar
Josh Goddard - Drums
Mike Bodkins - Bass

I first learned of Suicide Silence through their myspace page, at the time I was into the so called "Deathcore" genre, their music had me worked into a frenzy the first time I listened to it.Then after several listens the songs began to get on my nerves, I picked up their Ep when it came out, hoping it wouldn't get old after several listens, because I really wanted to like this band.


When "Ending Is The Beginning" I could tell that this was defenitely gonna be a album full of songs that sounded the same, with very little variation, lots of double bass, simple guitar parts, and generic growls. But they manage to be one of the most impressive bands out of the other run-of-the-mill, "deathcore" bands. I have to admit that this album grew on me after several, which of suprising considering the fact that the other songs grew old after time. But enough with my ranting, lets get to what I think the pros and cons of this Ep are.


There are numerous pros on this Ep, such as the songs are very well put together for this type of music, even though it can still be very repetitive. The high shreiks are refreshing because i can only take so much of the low growl(it is just not as dynamic as others, such as corpsegrinder from cannibal corpse), very good production for a ep, all the instruments have very good clarity to them, well except the bass.


Now to the cons, first off the guitar have very little variation, all the songs sound somewhat the same, the drums are just almost unrelentless, which i don't have a problem with if the drummer is very talented, but Josh Goddard is not as talented as most death drummers.


All in all this is a decent record, this band should have a pretty good run, if the deathcore scene sticks around for several more years, if not the will just fade off into the distance



Recent reviews by this author
Devour The Unborn Consuming The Morgue RemainsGuttural Secrete Reek Of Pubescent Despoilment
Bloodsoaked Brutally ButcheredChampion Promises Kept
Defeated Sanity Psalms of the MoribundSevere Torture Fall Of The Despised
user ratings (138)
Chart.
2.9
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Pebster49
August 5th 2007


2993 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

These guys have potential but they really need to sharpen some edges. I love the vocals, and the drums

Confessed2005
August 5th 2007


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

My friend says their new album is going to be a damn good one. I presume he has the promo of it or something...

These guys are very good but they need to refine their sound.

Unreal
August 5th 2007


229 Comments


from the stream this sounds really similar to many bands before them.

Justanothernimrod
August 5th 2007


478 Comments


this band are amazing live, one of the best I've seen, but yeah musically nothing more than "ok"

Confessed2005
August 5th 2007


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've heard they are a killer live band.

SylentEcho
August 5th 2007


1574 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

but so very generic sounding.

BallsToTheWall
August 5th 2007


44789 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Meh they're as generic as as blood runs black.

Digging: Pink Turns Blue - If Two Worlds Kiss

ValiumMan
August 5th 2007


493 Comments


Nice review. Album sounds boring "on paper".

masscows
August 6th 2007


2236 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This is pretty much the same as job for a cowboy's "doom" except it's taken to new levels of sucktitude. It's pretty sad that century media is trying to cash in on the deathcore fad with these guys, I head a track off of their new album and it sucked alot.

Crimson
August 6th 2007


1935 Comments


Pretty solid review, but I'd like the paragraphs to be set out a bit better, I don't like the whole 'two lines between each one', it irritates me.

Confessed2005
August 6th 2007


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think people are being a little too harsh on this...

BallsToTheWall
August 6th 2007


44789 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

All Shall Perish is good. Suicide Silence and As Blood Runs Black on a scale of 10 of utter crap are as equally bad with a 9

Confessed2005
August 6th 2007


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

As Blood Runs Black aren't that bad. Just generic.

Being generic doesn't automatically make you bad, just limited in terms of how much interest you can sustain over a period of time.

astrel
August 6th 2007


2614 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

the band name makes me laugh.

BallsToTheWall
August 6th 2007


44789 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Yeah generic is bad. That means you've heard it before and sounds the same as the last 37 bands you've listened to.Id rather listen to fallout boy and paramore instead of suicide and as blood runs black.That's sayin something considering i hate both of them.

Pebster49
August 7th 2007


2993 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

As Blood Runs Black doesn't sound too much like anyone, there songs just are hard to distigish, thats just poor song writeing which they can change that easily. Basically, you don't like Deathcore, so you don't really get excited to listen to it, so you will not hear everything like you have an open mind about it.

lospokey
August 7th 2007


87 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

thank you all for the nice comments about my review..seeing as it is my very first. Asblood runs black came to my town and all their songs sound the same live..oh and crimson i will work on the two lines in between

Vokills
April 30th 2008


109 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"...When "Ending Is The Beginning" I could tell that this was defenitely gonna be a album full of songs that sounded the same..."


lol that makes no sense O:

anyways good review their songs do sound really similar. I do think this earlier stuff is 100 times better then their new album which is crap. One redeeming quality... fun to listen to in the car/live.

astrel
May 1st 2008


2614 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

never mind, their music makes me laugh much more.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy