Sleep Terror
Paraphile


1.0
awful

Review

by Dargon USER (1 Reviews)
November 30th, 1999 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Pretentious, worthless nonsense. Neither death metal nor progressive.

Probe-a-phile?

Yes, this release leaves the listener with the distinct impression that the musicians involved are heartily appreciative of some good ol' anal penetration.

It's technical death metal mixed with jazz. It's completely unmemorable and featureless technicality mixed with utterly futile jazz breaks. It's ***ing pointless. Having listened to this several times, I can not remember one single riff, one single interlude, nothing. It's in one ear and out the other. The tech death parts are boring and indistinguishable. The jazz parts are completely unnecessary.

Most people cum over this for "mixing death and jazz", as if it were some new idea. Guess what, dumbass? Atheist, Cynic, and Pestilence did that in the early 90's. Furthermore, whereas those bands actually attempted to integrate the two styles, Sleep Terror just slap them together haphazardly. You'll be falling asleep during some part, and then right in the middle of a riff (or perhaps the beginning or end, I can't tell) they'll suddenly break out and go into some lounge jazz. It's clear that they're trying to be "random" and "creative" and "unique", but they're really none of these, and it shows. It is not "creative" to randomly mix samples of two different genres. Any dumbass with a computer and a mixing program can do that. The people that appreciate this are probably the same imbeciles who think shouting meaningless, unrelated words for no reason at all makes them "random" and "funny" and "wacky".

Basically, the band sounds like Opeth, except with technical death metal and jazz instead of whatever-the-fusty walrus! Opeth do and acoustic ***. If that interests you, then please feed your simple-minded, easily impressed ignorance by obtaining this release. Basically, the guys in the band are probably sitting back now, laughing at everybody for buying this piece of *** that they cobbled together from an easy-listening jazz station and the latest Deeds of Flesh release within 15 minutes.

If you're looking for something that pretends to be new and progressive, but is accessible and easy to show all your friends so you can have cool parties with wicked awesome death/jazz music in between your 50 cent songs, get this. If you want something truly progressive, steer clear.


user ratings (10)
Chart.
1.6
very poor
other reviews of this album
K. McNichols (1)
Just thank god this album has no vocals....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Jom
Staff Reviewer
August 3rd 2007


2688 Comments


Dargon, I'll put this through, but next time, please make sure that you've labeled the artist correctly (Sleep Terror, not "Other") and that you get some working album art, if possible.

Dargon
August 3rd 2007


9 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I did label the artist correctly. I put "other" for the genre because I didn't know whether to call it death metal or jazz, and there was no genre called "shit".

I also uploaded album art from my computer, I don't know why it wouldn't work.

Jom
Staff Reviewer
August 3rd 2007


2688 Comments


No, you didn't. It came up as Other - "Paraphile." The artist was already in the database, so all you had to do was select it from the drop-down box. It's all good.
As for the Black Metal thread: that was my fault. I thought you were getting into it Tojes again, but it was with BRA, who pretty much deserves what he gets. Carry on with your sieg heiling.

Dargon
August 3rd 2007


9 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

alright, I will try to figure out this strange and unnecessarily confusing system of artist identification next time.

Tyler
Emeritus
August 3rd 2007


7926 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

As much shit as you cause you're a solid reviewer and I agree 100% with this.

KingGhidorah
August 3rd 2007


64 Comments


Good review. I got a few laughs out of it. I have no intention of picking this up.

LifeInABox
August 7th 2007


3709 Comments


Wtf is up with your post date?

Decent review.This Message Edited On 08.07.07

Cravinov13
August 7th 2007


3854 Comments


I hate Sleep Terror.

Pebster49
August 7th 2007


2993 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This isn't a review its more like a bash to anyone who likes these guys...you should basically cut out the third paragraph, all you do is bash.

Tyler
Emeritus
August 7th 2007


7926 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

He could have summed it up with "Basically, the guys in the band are probably sitting back now, laughing at everybody for buying this piece of *** that they cobbled together from an easy-listening jazz station and the latest Deeds of Flesh release within 15 minutes."

Pebster49
August 7th 2007


2993 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

After listening to this two times, I have came the conclusion that they are talented, they just need how to learn to write songs, and not be so random at times. THis doesn't deserve a one, its a good try to be different.

Brain Dead
August 7th 2007


1150 Comments


The wanton Opeth dissing earns you a neg.

Dargon
August 8th 2007


9 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Butthurt Opeth/System of a Down mallrats = a job well done.

LifeInABox
September 21st 2007


3709 Comments


Pestilence jazz metal? I don't think so.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
September 21st 2007


16089 Comments


This is what my Opeth review would sound like tbh.

rattlehead42147
October 13th 2007


1345 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

i honestly like this. gets a bit gay with the grindiness and wannabe dj soundeffects but good guitar playing. way too fucking random though.This Message Edited On 10.13.07

rattlehead42147
October 13th 2007


1345 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

ok in conclusion the death metal parts are so fucking gay but the clean licks are great.This Message Edited On 10.15.07

salival13
June 5th 2010


264 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"The album amalgamates Atheist's diversity, Necrophagist's technicality, and Napalm Death's economy; truly a force of nature"-Metal Archives review 100%

LOL

Lambda
May 30th 2011


2458 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

"Basically, the band sounds like Opeth, except with technical death metal and jazz instead of whatever-the-fusty walrus! Opeth do and acoustic ***"

This sentence is extremely stupid.

Scoot
December 6th 2011


17844 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

terrible album

Digging: The Smith Street Band - Throw Me In The River



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy