The Loved Ones [US]
Keep Your Heart


4.5
superb

Review

by doctorsscriptsand666 USER (2 Reviews)
July 29th, 2007 | 15 replies | 3,763 views


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: In a scene that is favoring style over substance, the Loved Ones power through a record that brings the fun back in pop punk, no bad haircuts attached.

Now, while a lot of pop punk bands these days are slowing down so they don't mess up their hair and sweating less so they don't run their makeup, the Loved Ones released a follow up to their Self Titled EP (On Jade Tree), with Keep Your Heart, which was released on Fat Wreck Chords in February of 2006.

Once you put on that first song, the opening chords of "Suture Self" tell you just from the gritty tone that this is going to be a much more raw record, the song is one of the faster (not the fastest) tracks and everything about defines The Loved Ones: Dave Hause's urgent vocals and raging power chords, Michael "Spider" Cotterman's bouncy bass lines, and Mike Sneeringer's simple yet big sounding rock drums.

The most redeeming quality of Keep Your Heart is its consistency, every song keeps you wanting more as it moves along, with huge sounding rock ("Breathe In", "Jane") to the band member's hardcore roots ("Over 50 club", "Benson and Hedges"), and even slowing it down a little ("Sickening", "The Odds"). But after hearing the album around 100 times (seriously), I've found in my opinion that their biggest strengths are in their Mid-Tempo pop punk numbers, such as "Arsenic" and the unbelievably catchy "Living Will (Get You Dead)".

The only real problem is some people might feel that there is a lack of originality, say with similarities to Green Day and the Lawrence Arms (You might even say the album's structure is similar to the Lawrence Arm's Oh Calcutta! (coincidentally the albums were released a month apart). Also, there were several re-recordings of songs from their old EP ("Jane", Arsenic" ), but luckily they are solid redone tracks and have a much larger feel to them, although I think their B-Side "Spy Diddley" Should've made it on the album.

All in all though, the playing is tight, there are a lot of great hooks, and all of these songs make for a great live show. It really does bring a lot of the fun back to raw pop punk/rock.

4.5


user ratings (43)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
doctorsscriptsand666
July 29th 2007


47 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wow, Grammar errors, I feel smart. It is a first review and I know I have a lot to learn, but I think album needed to be reviewed just for the sheer fun factor of this record.This Message Edited On 07.29.07This Message Edited On 07.29.07

(And yes I do realize Mike Cotterman was replaced in late 2006)This Message Edited On 07.29.07

spoon_of_grimbo
July 29th 2007


2241 Comments


for a first review that's really fucking good! also, it helps that i pretty much agree with everything you said there (although the only song re-recorded from the first EP was "100K").

i've been planning to review this for a while, but i won't bother now, you've pretty much said all i was gonna say. nice review, hope its the first of many!

doctorsscriptsand666
July 29th 2007


47 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks Grimbo, I've actually written this review like, 6 times, it just turns out my computer sucks and I've had to rewrite it over and over.

Considering I love this album inside and out I really need to get my facts straight again, how do you edit this bad boy?

spoon_of_grimbo
July 29th 2007


2241 Comments


go into your profile and click "edit my reviews" under your picture, and go from there.

yeah, another tip would be save your reviews on a word processor program as you write them. always keep a saved copy after you've uploaded it, because occasionally there have been known to be catastrophes which result in the loss of newer reviews. i lost two unsaved ones of mine ages ago, pissed me right off.

doctorsscriptsand666
July 29th 2007


47 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't know if I'm going to review a lot, a lot of people do sum up a lot of my favorite albums already, I just try to do some overlooked ones, like the Face to Face cds I'm probably going to do next.

Two-Headed Boy
July 29th 2007


4527 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is a good album, but I can't get into it as easily as I can similar bands. Good work though.

Concubine
July 30th 2007


333 Comments


this is a fun pop punk album, but no way it deserves a 4.5



Cravinov13
July 30th 2007


3854 Comments


the (US) in the band name annoys me.

PhoenixRising
July 30th 2007


277 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review. Ive heard good things about these guys but have'nt been able to find their CD.

doctorsscriptsand666
July 30th 2007


47 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Concubine, if Amber Pacific can get a 4.5 for The Possibility and The Promise, then Keep Your Heart more than likely deserves more.

Cesar
August 19th 2008


2732 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm happy i found this, sooo good.

CushMG15
January 13th 2009


1802 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Just got ahold of this. I love Build and Burn, so I'm looking forward to spinning this as much.

CushMG15
February 3rd 2009


1802 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah this is great. Arsenic and Breathe In are outstanding.

Kiran
Emeritus
February 4th 2009


6001 Comments


I think their B-Side "Spy Diddley" Should've made it on the album.

it's on the new EP now

CushMG15
November 29th 2009


1802 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^^^
And it's awesome.

Gotta bump this to a 4, as I've listened to it about 10 times in the last couple days. Great stuff.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy