Vader
The Art Of War


4.0
excellent

Review

by K. McNichols USER (16 Reviews)
July 28th, 2007 | 31 replies | 9,514 views


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: At only 14 minutes in length, The Art of War's only shortcoming is its brevity.

4 of 4 thought this review was well written

Poland's Vader have established a credible reputation in the metal underground. With 9 LP's, 2 live albums, and a myriad of EP's, demos and compilations under their belt, they've been more than active since 1990's Morbid Reich demo. But in all honesty, their large discography and credentials haven't ever really grabbed my attention. I had no problem discarding Impressions In Blood, as I found it quite substandard, but when I heard about a short EP entitled The Art of War, I decided to give Vader another chance. Besides, if I didn't like it I would only lose 14 minutes. It seemed reasonable in my mind, so I decided to give it a spin.

Para Bellum kicks off the album with a fade-in intro. The song is only a minute and twenty-six seconds long, and nothing special. The album seemed to be taking a turn for the worse already with one song down. This Is The War followed the rhythm that the previous track had set, and from the second it kicked in I have to admit, the song called for some neck motion. While Para Bellum is simply an intro track, it works well in building up the following tracks.

When it comes to death metal, vocals are usually the deciding factor for whether or not I can stand to listen to a band of the genre. I wasn't expecting much, especially since I had previously found the vocals on Impressions In Blood to be the main letdown, but for some reason with The Art of War my opinion was swayed for the better. Vocalist Piotr Wiwczarek leads the metal ensemble with a more throaty approach than most singers. While I don't find his vocals to stand out in any way from legendary vocalists such as John Tardy, an advantage to his style is that the vocals are quite distinguishable and clear. With a voice unclouded by the distortion that many vocalists of the genre employ, Wiwczarek's method allows the lyrics to be understood for the most part.

Tracks like Lead Us!!! feature some frantic leadwork, courtesy of Maurycy Stefanowicz. The solos are highly technical and feature a melodic taste atypical of most death metal. You won't hear any King/Hanneman-esque whammy bar wankering here. The production of the album is top-notch, rendering the bass audible even over the pounding of the drums. It didn't take long for me to notice that even the drumming is incredible. The standout track when it comes to drums would have to be What Colour Is Your Blood? Dariusz Brzozowski's work here is brilliant and even manages to steal some of the spotlight from the rest of the musicians.

Overall:
When it comes to consistency, The Art of War won't dissapoint. With two filler tracks, you'll only get about eleven minutes of real listening to enjoy this, and it'll be over before you know it. Outstanding in all categories, The Art of War is an excellent introduction to Vader.

Pros:
Great Songs
Outstanding Solos
Phenomenal Drumming
Easy to listen to due to the length

Cons:
2 Filler tracks
Short (but that's why they call it an EP)

Recommended Tracks:
This Is The War
Lead Us!!!
What Colour Is Your Blood?
Death In Silence




Recent reviews by this author
Sleep Terror ParaphileForeign Objects The Undiscovered Numbers And Colors
Candlemass NightfallCannibal Corpse Gallery of Suicide
Obituary Cause of DeathDarkthrone Panzerfaust
user ratings (98)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Cravinov13
July 28th 2007



3854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not a bad review. Pretty good EP.

south_of_heaven 11
July 28th 2007



5433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This EP owns.

rattlehead42147
July 28th 2007



1345 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

don't forget to vote :p
this was my introduction to Vader. i'm trying to make the review longer but its proving to be a difficult task with such a short album.This Message Edited On 07.28.07

Fort23
July 28th 2007



2474 Comments


The review is great as it is, you don't have to expand it much. Looks like a great band to get into. (I voted)

rattlehead42147
July 28th 2007



1345 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i added the pros and cons and recommended tracks. thanks for the vote! nothing else by this band appealed to me so i thought this would be good to get into since it was so short and it turned out to be a good start so i am going to listen to the ultimate incantation next.

Cravinov13
July 28th 2007



3854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's the same length as my Amesouers review without the pros and cons. DO NOT UPSTAGE ME!

jk, but I did vote yes.

south_of_heaven 11
July 28th 2007



5433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've got the bonus track "Die!!! (Gin Psie)". It's awesome; much better than the subpar last track "Death in Silence".This Message Edited On 07.28.07

rattlehead42147
July 28th 2007



1345 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

^cool i didn't get that track on the dload link i found

@crav
lmao at the part in caps
thanks for the vote!This Message Edited On 07.28.07

Cravinov13
July 28th 2007



3854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you're welcome.

Crimson
July 28th 2007



1935 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice review, I've always wanted to listen to some Vader, this seems like a reasonable start. I'll keep an eye out for it.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
July 28th 2007



16264 Comments


The fact that there are 2 filler tracks in a 14 minute album makes me think there isn't much good music here.

Good review though.

Digging: Ulver - Bergtatt

rattlehead42147
July 29th 2007



1345 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yes it is disappointing but as unbelievable as it sounds the other 4 tracks are quite satisfying.

Shadows
Moderator
July 29th 2007



2530 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You keep complaining about its length, but this is an EP, not an album. It's no shorter than it should be. If you want more of this sound, check out Impressions in Blood. It's basically the Art of War style expanded into a full album. Both are excellent.

rattlehead42147
July 29th 2007



1345 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i know but i only said that because crysis was talking about the filler tracks, also see the cons section:

Short (but that's why they call it an EP)
i mentioned that it was an EP
but as far as Impressions In Blood goes, I wasn't too happy, maybe I should give it another chanceThis Message Edited On 07.29.07

kalkal50
July 29th 2007



2386 Comments


great review, vote, is this thrash or death metal?

Dethtrasher
July 29th 2007



2211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Its both, death/thrash. Or perhaps ''dark'' death/thrash.This Message Edited On 07.29.07

kalkal50
July 29th 2007



2386 Comments


tack

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2007



16264 Comments


I'll check it this out, it sounds good.

rattlehead42147
July 29th 2007



1345 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@kal
I would have to say death with thrash textures, but mostly death metal
@cryis
it is, and if you dont like it you only lose 14 minutes

EDIT: woah kal's digging MF
Melissa is such an awesome record, its a 5 in my book any dayThis Message Edited On 07.29.07

Shadows
Moderator
July 30th 2007



2530 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great, this is awesome shit. I'd really say it's death metal with vague thrash influences. Honestly Rattlehead, I don't understand why you'd like this so much and not like Impressions! I suggest giving it some more listens.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy