Riverside
O2 Panic Room


3.5
great

Review

by Trey Spencer STAFF
July 27th, 2007 | 24 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A four song EP featuring the track "O2 Panic Room" from their upcoming album "Rapid Eye Movement". A good release to hold you over until the whole album comes out.

Riverside is a fairly new band from Poland. The most generic title to give the music they play is progressive rock or progressive metal, but there really is much more to them than that. They, at times, can remind you of anyone from Porcupine Tree, Anathema, Tool, Pink Floyd or even Opeth. They tend to mix up heavier moments with mellow almost bluesy interludes, along with some great rhythms creating a style that allows them to not really sound like they’re copying anyone else.

This EP consists of two versions of the song "O2 Panic Room" which will also be on their upcoming album Rapid Eye Movement, as well as two songs that won’t be on the album. The original version of "O2 Panic Room" starts out with a mechanical sounding cymbal tap, and then a deep bass line comes in. Its right at that point that you can hear the first difference compared to their earlier stuff; the production is much better this time around. The bass guitar sounds full, deep and ominous. Shortly after that, the guitar comes in with a simple melody that anyone that’s heard them before will recognize as a standard Riverside signature melody. Overall, the song tends to remain ominous and laid back consisting almost entirely of that deep bass line from the beginning coupled with various effects and keyboard sounds, with the occasional guitar melody or riff cropping up. If this is the direction we can expect from Riverside’s upcoming release, than you can count me as a first day buyer. The remix of this song just replaces the drums and most the bass line for a drum machine-beat, and a deep synth line. It is also slightly faster paced than the original song and has dropped the guitars completely; not as good as the original but remixes rarely are.

The two songs that won’t be appearing on the upcoming full length are both instrumentals. Anyone that’s heard any of the "Reality Dream" songs from the first two full lengths knows exactly what to expect from the song "Lucid Dream IV". It’s riff heavy with keyboards providing flourishes and accompaniment, all backed up by the competent rhythm section. This song, like all their songs, never drops into the territory where it seems like they’re just trying to show off. Every part has a purpose and every part adds to the atmosphere of the song.

The second instrumental, "Back to the River" starts out much more mellow and dark, reminding me a lot of a band called The God Machine. Once the introductory noise has passed the song loses a bit of the darkness it started with, and trades it for a somber feeling instead. It consists entirely of a mellow flowing bass line and a laidback guitar solo, while the drummer provides some interesting fills and rhythms helping to keep the song from bogging down in its own slow pace. The keyboards on the song are also worth mentioning as they are used to simply fill the spaces not being taken up by the bass or guitar player; this is a very classy song.

All three original songs are top quality, and the remix is an interesting take on the song, but at the end of it all this is still just four songs coming in at just over 18 minutes. Definitely recommended to anyone who is already into Riverside and owns their past three releases. For those just learning about them, though, I’d have to recommend Second Life Syndrome as the best place to start or you could just wait until the new release comes out because if this EP (as well as their past quality) is anything to go by, it will be an awesome album.



Recent reviews by this author
Sick of It All The Last Act of DefianceMeshuggah I (Special Edition)
Cannibal Corpse A Skeletal DomainRabbit Junk Pop That Pretty Thirty
Anathema Distant SatellitesFlotsam and Jetsam No Place for Disgrace - 2014
user ratings (27)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Electric City
Staff Reviewer
July 27th 2007


15743 Comments


Too much bolding. Review's straightforward, but shows good progression from your other reviews.

These guys don't sound like my cup of tea, but those are some hefty comparisons you made band wise.

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

Willie
Moderator
July 27th 2007


16073 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, I saw that the first time I viewed the completed review, and have since dropped a lot of the bold... especially from the first paragraph where it was most noticeable.

As for the straight forwardness, I prefer to write them that way because I prefer to read reviews that way. I don't want to be taken on an adventure or wowed with compositional technicalities... I just want an album description, an opinion on said description, and possibly a few recommendations based on the album and the band's overall catalog... since all I read a review for is to see if its worth my time to track down song samples, where I'll really decide if I'm going to buy the album or not.

They are hefty comparisons, but I bet a lot of people would tend to agree... maybe, ha ha.

eug008
July 27th 2007


97 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's good, but a bit disapointing.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
July 27th 2007


15743 Comments


I don't want to be taken on an adventure or wowed with compositional technicalities...


Haha, that's where we differ. I'm definitely more of a fan of writing lots more than necessary in an effort to make my review be more like a paper than an up and down review. Both styles work though, so keep it up if it works for you.

Willie
Moderator
July 27th 2007


16073 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's good, but a bit disapointing.
I'm slightly disappointed too because I would have preferred another song with vocals as opposed to two back to back instrumentals... but its definitely worth the four dollars I paid for it.
Haha, that's where we differ. I'm definitely more of a fan of writing lots more than necessary in an effort to make my review be more like a paper than an up and down review.
Well, I read your Slowdive review and I like that you seem to describe the feelings and thoughts that the songs elicit, as well as the normal description of the album itself.This Message Edited On 07.27.07

NightHunteR
July 28th 2007


52 Comments


hmm, sounds good. if it's anything like the first two albums i'm sure i'm going to like it ;)This Message Edited On 07.28.07

jrowa001
July 28th 2007


8750 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i love Riverside, they just have that something that amazes me. i havent checked this out yet, but i might just wait for the new alum to come out....im excited to hear what the last Reality Dream track will sound like

Willie
Moderator
July 28th 2007


16073 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i havent checked this out yet, but i might just wait for the new album to come out
I bought it for four dollars and I'd say its worth that much, otherwise, yeah, I'd just hold off.

Edit: Or you could just get the songs that aren't going to be on the album for like 2 dollars from an online music store.This Message Edited On 07.28.07

Kage
July 28th 2007


1172 Comments


Good band; I haven't heard this but if their next album is more of the same as their first two I'll be fairly quick to drop them from my playlist.

Willie
Moderator
July 28th 2007


16073 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good band; I haven't heard this but if their next album is more of the same as their first two I'll be fairly quick to drop them from my playlist.
I'm making all my assumptions based on one actual song from the album, and two instrumentals that didn't make it... but it seems like this album is going to be heavier and moodier then before... there also seems to be a larger electronics influence being added.

wrathi
August 3rd 2007


58 Comments


Good Review. I just posted the info for Rapid Eye Movement whos official release date is now Oct. 9th. Anyone that wants to know what 02 Panic Room sounds like just visit their MySpace...

http://www.myspace.com/riversidepl

Track release info and Album is available for pre order here...

http://www.progrock.co.uk/acatalog/R.html#aP15007

Apparently this time around they are doing away with all insturmental pieces but I bet there will be song long songs on there that have quite a bit only insturmental parts. The songs have some pretty cool titles as well.


Willie
Moderator
August 3rd 2007


16073 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks for the info... I had been trying to find something on Rapid Eye Movement and couldn't even find a solid release date. Is that for the whole world, Europe or....

MeowMeow
August 23rd 2007


662 Comments


Good band; I haven't heard this but if their next album is more of the same as their first two I'll be fairly quick to drop them from my playlist.


New one is heavier and more upbeat. The don't rely on the "droning" (for lack of better word) parts as much.

Willie
Moderator
August 24th 2007


16073 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

New one is heavier and more upbeat. The don't rely on the "droning" (for lack of better word) parts as much.
I like the part about it being heavier, but don't know if I really want them to be upbeat... I like the darker atmosphere on the song 02 Panic Room, and was hoping the album would be like that...

... where are you getting this information anyway?

MeowMeow
August 24th 2007


662 Comments


I like the part about it being heavier, but don't know if I really want them to be upbeat... I like the darker atmosphere on the song 02 Panic Room, and was hoping the album would be like that...


Upbeat isn't the right word. Its catchier than past works.

... where are you getting this information anyway?


The album is all over the interwebz.

jrowa001
August 24th 2007


8750 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

im waiting to hear their new album until it comes out. cant wait, Riverside are one of my fav bands

Willie
Moderator
August 24th 2007


16073 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Upbeat isn't the right word. Its catchier than past works.
I can do with catchier, as long as they don't go all upbeat... the happy, poppy prog gets on my nerves. This guy's voice is built more for melancholy then happy.
The album is all over the interwebz.
I'll wait til it comes out legitimately as well... I'll give them my money willingly.

jrowa001
August 24th 2007


8750 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i like when his voice gets aggressive or heavier, but his regular vocals are the best

Willie
Moderator
August 24th 2007


16073 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i like when his voice gets aggressive or heavier, but his regular vocals are the best
I can totally agree to that...This Message Edited On 08.24.07

jrowa001
August 24th 2007


8750 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah. like on Artificial Smile when he gets aggressive and screams "when they F YOUUU"This Message Edited On 08.24.07



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy