Abigail Williams
Legend


3.5
great

Review

by Eric E. Smith USER (9 Reviews)
July 19th, 2007 | 93 replies | 10,637 views


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: While now defunt, Abigail Willaims showed all of us what they could have become with just a little more fine-tuning.

4 of 5 thought this review was well written

By: Eric Smith (www.thrashpit.com)

I want to make this very clear early on in this review: Abigail Williams is NOT a metalcore band. They have no semblance to the genre whatsoever musically. This is straight-up melodic death metal with traces of symphonic black metal to go along with it. I hear no such "breakdowns" or gang vocals on this EP to warrant them such a label. So the metalcore purists need to shut the hell up and keep on fighting invisible ninjas; you know, what they do best…

Oh, and the black metal purists are "labeling" the band due to the fact that they wear non-kvlt clothes and don totally un-necr0 hairdos. My message to these people; get a life and leave mommy's basement, please.

Abigail Williams is a group that hails from the snowy, frostbitten plains of… Phoenix, Arizona. Certainly not the most frigid climate around, but the layers of blackened metal that permeate this EP would make you think that this stuff was from some of the great Nordic lands themselves!

The way I like to describe their sound is a mix of The Black Dahlia Murder (funny considering the drummer on this record was Zach Gibson, ex-BDM member) with a small influential chunk from symphonic bands such as Emperor or Dimmu Borgir… but only a minute amount. The riffing style, however, seems to take inspiration from many Gothenburg-style bands, such as Dark Tranquility and Impious. The only real qualms I have with Abigail Williams' sound is that many of the riffs tend to blur together (I call this the "Sweden Syndrome") and sound the same. Never fear, however, there is enough variation in the songs themselves to keep those with a low attention span interested.

While mixing these particular genres is nothing particularly new (Bleeding Through is well known for their "hardcore/black/death/thrash" style of insanity) Abigail Williams does it in such an overtly symphonic and tasteful way much someone like Bleeding Through does.

Vocals here are more akin to traditional black metal, with some very underpowered death metal grunts, and background clean vocals (and those are used VERY sparingly). Most of this album, vocally, is shrill blackened screaming (provided by band frontman Ken Sorceron) that is non-stop and unrelenting. While Ken is quite adept at what he does, there is little variation in his vocal tonality, so it can be quite wearing on the ears at times, but at the same time it fully puts into perspective the sheer intensity of this kind of music as well.

Lyrically, this band is nothing new. Love, darkness, despair, and hate are the prominent lyrical themes here, and they are written in such a way that they almost come off as (somewhat) dark gothic poetry. Not everyone's cup of tea, I realize, but I enjoy it.

I realize there has been a lot of hype with this group, and currently there is a lot of trash-talk about them as well. But here is the ultimate, unbiased, word on Abigail Williams: they are a bunch young, obviously talented people who have an idea on where to take their concept of black metal. Whether they will accomplish this mission and sway the masses is only for time to tell. There is one important thing for all to remember there, though…

THIS IS JUST AN EP!!!

We will all have to wait for their full LP to hear just what this beast has to offer… but consider me an early fan, nonetheless.



Recent reviews by this author
Impious Holy Murder MasqueradeThis Ending Inside the Machine
Mastodon Blood MountainAmorphis Eclipse
The Berzerker AnimosityAkercocke Antichrist
user ratings (154)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
Frederick Metzengerstein (3)
American melodic death metal with black metal and gothic influences, this is a fresh kick to the jaw...

labonza01 (4)
Fast, but impressive....


Comments:Add a Comment 
kalkal50
July 19th 2007



2386 Comments


You shouldn't bash on purists in the intro lol. Not that I'm against that, but it automatically kills the gracefulness in a review.

enslaved1896
July 19th 2007



11 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I got a lot of shit for supporting this band a few months back, it was semi-directed towards them.

oops.....

kalkal50
July 19th 2007



2386 Comments


ye you're better off keeping your private life out of your reviews

BallsToTheWall
July 19th 2007



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

this was the best 6 bucks ive ever spent.

Tyler
Emeritus
July 19th 2007



7928 Comments


ye you're better off keeping your private life out of your reviews

Why? Some of the best reviews are the ones with personal anecdotes. I know my Timberlake and Billy Idol reviews were well received because of them, as was DFelon's mammoth Thrice review.

rattlehead42147
July 20th 2007



1345 Comments


one of the good 9 reviews eric. this is a bit more descriptive and i can get an idea what this band sounds like.

FR33L0RD
July 20th 2007



1461 Comments


Yep...
Better review than the other i read today by Eric
My positive Vote for this one

kalkal50
September 8th 2007



2386 Comments


Why? Some of the best reviews are the ones with personal anecdotes. I know my Timberlake and Billy Idol reviews were well received because of them, as was DFelon's mammoth Thrice review.


In this case he used it in a negative way. Of course personal anecdotes can be assets in reviews.

the pariah
October 13th 2007



21 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Did anyone notice a distinct difference in style between the first three songs and the final two? It shifted from TBDM-esque melodic death metal to later Emperor-styled black/symphonic metal...Don't get me wrong, I like both styles, but it makes the EP come off as a little disjointed.

Metalikane
October 28th 2007



851 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This was a really enjoyable ep for me. I know there is the obvious Black Dahlia Murder reference, but I really like them so its cool. Also, I like the newer recording of Watchtower. I wasnt a huge fan of the cd they put out before this one. The singing seemed out of place. I was really bummed to hear they broke up after they put this out, but recently found out they reformed. They even have a new song on their myspace that fucking rips. I believe theyre scheduled for a new full length release sometime early '08. If the new song is any indication, it may be pretty good.

Slaytan
November 24th 2007



1186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If I'm not mistaken, didn't they break up just recently?

BallsToTheWall
November 24th 2007



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

A while back. I guess you didn't see my bulletin of them reforming. Yeah, they replaced a couple people, and released a new album apparently sooner than I expected.

Bleak
December 9th 2007



258 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I really enjoyed the album. They are all young and talented. I can see them releasing a great album in the future. The keyboards made it very melodic, and the lead vocalist has a spine tingling scream. The only negative thing I have is that the solos are a bit repetitive, as well as the drums.

Slaytan
December 20th 2007



1186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A while back. I guess you didn't see my bulletin of them reforming. Yeah, they replaced a couple people, and released a new album apparently sooner than I expected.

Nope, didn't see it. But thanks for the update anyhoo.


asdemonsburn
February 20th 2008



793 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is the best ep I've ever heard by far, not even close. Can't wait to their new cd comes out

Hawks
March 11th 2008



34492 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

First i want to say that Abigail Williams is Melodic Black Metal not Metalcore. This album does have elements of Metalcore though and thats what brings it down for me. The clean vocals on here are horrendous. Other than that i think its solid. Plus the songs on their myspace are completely Black Metal and have no traces of Metalcore.

Digging: Equilibrium - Erdentempel

Hawks
March 29th 2008



34492 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Their first full length album is going to kick ass. They have one of the songs from the album on their myspace. Its called Floods. It sounds like a mix of Emperor and Cradle Of Filth and it rules.

Vokills
April 28th 2008



109 Comments


i will buy/download this album now because of this review
very unbiased to =]
kudos

megalodon
July 25th 2008



108 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Can't wait for the full-length.

Nice review. You captured their sound well.

SorrowLyric
July 25th 2008



119 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

People like this?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy