Slipknot
Iowa


4.0
excellent

Review

by cjwbball51 USER (7 Reviews)
July 14th, 2007 | 21 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Guys in masks make an album that shows that they are MORE than just guys in masks. They're angry guys in masks.

Now, we all remember the nu-metal craze back in the Nineties, when the nation, after the concussion that was Nirvana and the entire grunge movement, searched for something else to fuel their alternative needs. Instead of getting a genre with legitimate artists and jaw-dropping albums, like we did in grunge, we got Limp Bizkit. And Korn. And Linkin Park. And any other of the rapping/screaming/corporate-minded bands that fed to us on a platter by MTV. Well, try to forget all of those bands. Try to forget what Nirvana did to alternative music, and what Limp Bizkit and Insane Clown Posse tried to ruin all that was previously accomplished. Forget all of that. Just focus on Slipknot's Iowa album.

If you can manage to do that (and I'm not faulting you if you can't, hell, I can't even forget the craptacular album Results May Vary that Fred Durst and co. forced upon us), you definitely will enjoy Iowa. There's not a whole lot of nu-metal influence here, despite what most critics would have you to believe. Instead, Corey Taylor grunts out emotional and almost emo-ish lyrics in his screaming, serial-killer way, Joey Jordison pounds out complex and completely frightening bass rhythms, and the rest of the eight or nine members play the living crap out of their detuned insturments. Iowa is often scary at first listen (if you don't like metal, I mean. Slipknot are pretty tame compared to mostly all of the death and black metal bands out there), and mostly the songs are the same. "People=***", "I Am Hated", and "The Heretic Anthem" are just heavy as hell, with Taylor screaming his lungs out, screaming about how people suck, he's hated, and he wants to be a heretic. Whoa, talk about some cryptic song titles!

But all this hate and screaming and heaviness translates into something more classic and more like metal art than you would believe. The tracks thunder on, and the quality of ruthlessness here is simply breathtaking. Keep in mind Iowa isn't perfect: the fifteen-minute title track is as boring as the state after which it's titled, and "Left Behind" is such an obvious radio-wooing track it almost makes you think of Slipknot's peers you tried to forget about. But if want a seriously amazing metal album, one that doesn't reek of stale riffs and non-decipherable death grunting, Iowa is worth picking up.

PS, I'm ready for all the fanboys ready to say how Slipknot sucks and they would rather listen to their "serious" metal bands. Whatever, most of metal today is funnier than Spinal Tap, with their grunting and tough-guy attitude.

PSS, But I don't hate metal or anything. I like Lamb Of God and Shadows Fall. Okay, I'll shut up now.



Recent reviews by this author
Metallica St. AngerLCD Soundsystem Sound of Silver
My Chemical Romance The Black ParadeCommon Be
Voxtrot VoxtrotGym Class Heroes As Cruel As School Children
user ratings (2467)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
rattlehead42147
July 14th 2007


1345 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

good review man, i hate slipknot now but this isn't that bad of an album actually

XSebbyMcMuffinX
July 14th 2007


339 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The PS and PPS belong in the comments section, not the review.

Sound
July 15th 2007


3904 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

the title track sucks but this has got some nice heavy tunes.
i've gotten a bit tired of tracks like My Plague or Left Behind, but Skin Ticket and Gently are still excellent.This Message Edited On 07.15.07

UpperDecker
July 15th 2007


255 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This cd is everything Slipknot said it would be. Its much darker and heavier than their self titled. Though its not that great of an album all together, its definitely exactly what they said they'd put out and they did it. Gently's gotta be my favorite song on here. Well actually it is a good disc. I don't listen to it much anymore but a couple years back, it was the shit. They shoulda kept going in this direction.

ValiumMan
July 15th 2007


493 Comments


Back when I was a kid, we (me and my friends) used to refer to this band as "death metal". We thought they were like the heaviest band in the world and that their lyrics about people being s'hit "and stuff" were like totally wild and uncompromising (except I didn't know that word back then). Ah, old times. I never liked them though.This Message Edited On 07.15.07

kalkal50
July 15th 2007


2386 Comments


Stupidest misanthropic album ever.

TheHamburgerman
July 15th 2007


1302 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

word

Putrefaction
July 15th 2007


59 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album isn't too bad. I prefer the self titled though

sickjesus
July 15th 2007


163 Comments


decent review, sick sick album.

saying you like metal because you like shadows fall
=
saying you're a fan of tr00 awesome thrash because you're into trivium

Confessed2005
July 15th 2007


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

There are a couple of pretty good songs on here.

Subliminal Verses pwns the hell out of everything else they ever did.

BallsToTheWall
July 15th 2007


44805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

agree subliminal verses is their best cd.

Digging: Pink Turns Blue - If Two Worlds Kiss

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
July 15th 2007


16478 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"I Am Hated" is one of the first songs which got me into Metal. I still like that song a lot, but the rest are ok.

muchtallerthanu
July 15th 2007


648 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Slipknot's worst album.

Decent review.

Wizard
July 15th 2007


19644 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

^^^^^^ Slipknots worst album was the album after this! This one at least still had that bottled up hate sound on it. Not a bad review, but short and not too descriptive (which some people love or hate).

Digging: Ash Borer - Cold of Ages

ValiumMan
July 15th 2007


493 Comments


Stupidest misanthropic album ever.

lolz look@me i hate every1!!!!111
This is pretty much the message this album gets across.This Message Edited On 07.15.07

kalkal50
July 15th 2007


2386 Comments


they make themselves look stupid

WARPATH_88
July 15th 2007


514 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I dont like Slipknot much anymore, but this was their best IMO. But thats not saying alot....

LifeInABox
July 15th 2007


3709 Comments


Can we move Nu-Metal into the Rock part of the site? I really think it is more Rock than Metal.

muchtallerthanu
July 16th 2007


648 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

^I don't ever see that happening.

^^^^^^ Slipknots worst album was the album after this! This one at least still had that bottled up hate sound on it. Not a bad review, but short and not too descriptive (which some people love or hate).

Their self-titled album was great, but this one didn't really stand out a whole lot as opposed to the album before this. Vol. 3 changed their sound up a bit so the fans can expect something (slightly) new from Slipknot. Plus, that album got me into Slipknot in the first place.

muchtallerthanu
July 16th 2007


648 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

^I don't ever see that happening.

^^^^^^ Slipknots worst album was the album after this! This one at least still had that bottled up hate sound on it. Not a bad review, but short and not too descriptive (which some people love or hate).

Their self-titled album was great, but this one didn't really stand out a whole lot as opposed to the album before this. Vol. 3 changed their sound up a bit so the fans can expect something (slightly) new from Slipknot. Plus, that album got me into Slipknot in the first place.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy