Avenged Sevenfold
City of Evil


2.0
poor

Review

by Cesc USER (6 Reviews)
July 13th, 2007 | 58 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist


Where to begin...
Arrogance is a terrible terrible thing, it's the cloaked and fanged night-terror of rock - spiriting away perfectly good bands into the endless darkness to meet some gristly fate far worse then death; a follow-up that reeks to high heaven.

Avenged Sevenfold have been sailing on pure ego for a while and they more then deserved it, we got from them two kinda-good-boring-good albums and they got from us a license to live up the dream of rock-star excess. By the time we realized M. Shadow's voice would be permanently damaged if he screamed they'd signed to Warner, moved out of the shadows of their metalcore peers and the terrible momentum of their own conceit had picked up far too much speed to ever be stopped...

City Of Evil is a sham, a sorry collection of anemic power-metal inspired drivel - the guitars that once buzzed with energy are flat and lifeless, peppered with smug have-sex-with-me solos and half-assed breakdowns. The cover-art which has always been ugly as a standard has been dragged to dismal new lows; this isn't merely ugly, this is ugly getting dangerously drunk and wandering around shouting at people in the street. Based on a passage in the bible referring to destruction wrought by the rider of a pale horse which looking at it comes as a surprise; I didn't realise the Old Testament featured The Book Of Photoshop or possibly the Book Of Rummaging Through Iron Maiden's Dustbin.

I can't help but not focus on the vocals, they were the peg upon so many of our hopes, fears and expectations were hung, if he can't scream then surely if we're lucky all that awaits us is an entire album of ‘Warmness On The Soul' style piano crooning and that would've rocked. It turns out that it's not just being ‘unable to scream', it's being unable to deliver aurally with any force or conviction at all. Shadow's growls Hetfield-style but instead of the volcanic eruption of melodies, shouts and shrieks that usually follow we get some unbelievably weak falsetto warbling.

The first ballad ‘Seize The Day' comes not in the rich tones we're so "desperately" hoping for but in limp nasal tones that carry an unlikely scent of Audioslave about them, his attempt to reach a soaring crescendo is so painfully horse it brings a tear of sympathy to the eye, ‘Sidewinder' which follows it starts so promisingly with all the traditional elements of a good Avenged Sevenfold lighter-waver intact turns into a convoluted mess of multiple vocals, generic Salsa chords and tuneless squeaking choruses.

I wouldn't go so far as to say disappointing because if you're anything like me your expectations would have already been dragged to hitherto unknown depths by the sorry tirade of mp3s and live videos. It's impossible to listen to ‘City Of Evil' without thinking that maybe if the vocals had greater projection, the riffs more fire then this may well have been the album that propelled Avenged Sevenfold to the soaring heights they honestly deserve, instead I suspect it will be the album that kills them and makes their eyeliner rimmed eyes a regular feature peering forlornly from discount bins.
M. Shadows, chief muppet in this attired wank-rockers, s*orts herpes off the breasts of wh*res for fun. He has a straight edge tattoo too.



Recent reviews by this author
Throwdown VendettaBane The Note
The Plot To Blow Up The Eiffel Tower Love in the Fascist BrothelChimaira Resurrection
Converge No Heroes
user ratings (3224)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
nickpcharrette
July 13th 2007


110 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

good review i loved it

Otisbum
July 13th 2007


1912 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

snorts herpes off...
I'm assuming whoever approved this missed that last portion?

EDIT: And nope, I didn't neg you, nor do I dislike your review, that just stood out to me.

Good review though.This Message Edited On 07.13.07

plane
Staff Reviewer
July 13th 2007


6094 Comments


It's his 5th review. It doesn't need to be approved.

BallsToTheWall
July 13th 2007


44615 Comments


this is a pretty good cd

Digging: Mare Cognitum - Phobos Monolith

Wizard
July 13th 2007


19508 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

That was a fun read hahaha! I pretty much feel the same way as you about these guys.

Digging: Godflesh - A World Lit Only By Fire

ThePrimer
July 13th 2007


345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

haha..This Message Edited On 07.13.07

MeowMeow
July 13th 2007


662 Comments


The only thing you described about the music was the vocals, and that was half-assed. And the last part was stupid and unnecessary.

plane
Staff Reviewer
July 13th 2007


6094 Comments


It's decent, but two paragraphs devoted to three songs while the rest of the review piles on metaphors and similies about what the album "sounds like" while talking about expectations does not a good review make. There's promise here, but I'd rather know why it sucks than covering up the lack of detail with why the album art is ugly and how ugly.

Yeah, also, the whole last sentence is stupid.This Message Edited On 07.13.07

Ire
July 14th 2007


41795 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I didn't like this review, not because of the rating but because there is too much ranting.
About 50% of the review is pure bullshit. No depth... sorry if that was harshThis Message Edited On 07.13.07

astrel
July 14th 2007


2614 Comments


I wonder what the band sounds like...because this review didn't tell me...

Digging: Jessie Ware - Tough Love

Tyler
Emeritus
July 14th 2007


7926 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The review is fine if he deletes that shit at the end.

kalkal50
July 14th 2007


2386 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

the punctuation is sometimes strange, but it's good

Cravinov13
July 14th 2007


3854 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Unnecessary ending. This album and band sucks.This Message Edited On 07.14.07

Confessed2005
July 14th 2007


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This review was pretty amusing.

I'm going to vote solely for that aspect!

kalkal50
July 14th 2007


2386 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

i didn't really get it, were you even writing in first person?

SCLSmarty
July 14th 2007


7 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album is decent, but its just too pretentious. The review is pretty kool.

Steerpike
July 14th 2007


1861 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I negged it. It's not a review. It's a rant packed with grammatical errors, syntax butchery, no actual description of the music, a lot of pointless whining, stiflingly unfunny attempts at jokes, and more space devoted to completely irrelevant details about the band and the album packaging than the content of the CD.

I could crap a better review than this.

kalkal50
July 14th 2007


2386 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

LOL, harsh but I agree mostly with you Steerpike. I think it was well written in the beginning it covers pretty much some stuff but I'm not going to vote, because it's complex for no apparent reason and its not very direct. This Message Edited On 07.14.07

Riziger
July 14th 2007


316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's not a very good review but not bad. i guess it's quite funny.

the review dosnt really go anywhere, just harping on about the album artwork and M.shadows and the bands ego...

i'll admit that I am a fan of the band and so i would say the abuse is uncalled for especially in the last few lines.

kalkal50
July 14th 2007


2386 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

the last line was highly uncalled for and redundant



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy