Architects
Ruin


4.0
excellent

Review

by Luke M. Jenkins (Confessed) USER (58 Reviews)
July 3rd, 2007 | 226 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Architects sophomore effort is an impressive release. The band retain all the qualities that made their debut so entertaining and incorporate new elements into their sound, such as clean vocals. Well worth checking out if you like technical metal.

Transitions from one record label to another produce on of two outcomes so it seems; a band benefits greatly and reaps the rewards of a bigger budget and more exposure. Or they self destruct, essentially sell out and release something sub-par and 'dug' predominantly by scene kids.

Fortunately, in the case of Brighton based technical hardcore/metal quintet Architects, the latter doesn't apply. After their debut album Nightmares was released the band kicked up a storm in the local UK metal scene and received largely critical acclaim. The band's tight live shows further solidified their success - precision riffing coupled with the ability to juxtapose brutality and epic melody was reason enough for avid metal and hardcore fans alike to rave about the band.

Their sophomore effort, Ruin certainly delivers all the aforementioned qualities. In abundance I might add. New crooner Sam has a starkly different approach to vocals compared to the band's previous singer Matt. He possesses more of a hardcore shout as opposed to a typical metalcore scream. Throughout the whole album his yell will protrude from your speakers; for better or for worse. One of the downfalls of Ruin is that after a while, the vocal style may begin to get annoying. Sam is a minimalist when it comes to variation; besides a few lower register vocal lines and the odd scream, it's all pretty much the same. However, tracks such as You'll Find Safety boast a new side to the band, incorporating clean vocals. Whilst nothing particularly astounding, it sounds fresh and interesting (albeit there will be some who complain that they are whiny). But overall on the vocal front, whilst variation is not the best word to use, solid is a good adjective to use.

Talent is all often exempt in many of today's metal bands. But Architects make up for countless bands who lack talent; their instrumental prowess is undeniable. Dan is a monster behind his drum kit, battering the skins and beating your ears to a pulp. Never overly-complex but always tasteful, he is the vertebrae of the band and a damn solid backbone at that. The guitars are the main focus of the band; Tim and Tom are a marvelous
guitar duo. Insane time signatures, tight riffing, melodic leads and flashy virtuoso sections are in plentiful supply. Ali is a fine bassist too; the high production values of the album (as well as a level headed producer no doubt) mean that his lines do in fact shine through occasionally. For the most part, he plays along with the guitar parts and provides a low end capable of making the album that much heavier. The decision to tune to drop B is also a godsend (bands who rely on drop C always seem to fall into the trap of being lame and samey in the riff department after a while). Album opener Buried At Sea is a colossal track in that there are so many notes in the track your brain will have trouble coping. It is also a perfect example of how to blend heaviness and melody.

Standout tracks aside, the album can become a little tiresome after a few listens. At first, it is hard to digest all at once (well it was for me) but once you're accustomed to this style of technical hardcore (it's metal influenced, but at heart it's hardcore) it's a refreshing listen. Just so long as you don't listen incessantly.

Recommended Tracks

Buried At Sea
Hunt Them Down
You'll Find Safety
Heartless



Recent reviews by this author
War From A Harlots Mouth MMXPig Destroyer Terrifyer
War From A Harlots Mouth TransmetropolitanDevil Sold His Soul A Fragile Hope
Coheed and Cambria No World for TomorrowPig Destroyer Painter of Dead Girls
user ratings (554)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Spec (4)
Great album by a promising band that is a MUST for all metalcore/hardcore buffs...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Justanothernimrod
July 3rd 2007


478 Comments


mm interesting, better than Nightmares?

Confessed2005
July 3rd 2007


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's a different style and an evolution of the band.

But it is harder to get into whereas Nightmares was instantly accessible. But I like both albums.

Monticello
July 3rd 2007


805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Album's decent. I'm not really sensing the 'instrumental prowess' But I won't deny that they do write good riffs and are able to play them. Review is still decent though, good stuff.

spoon_of_grimbo
July 4th 2007


2241 Comments


holy shit, it's been a good coupla weeks for british rock/metal releases (architects, *shels, devil sold his soul, reuben, to name a few), and this is easily one of the best of those. i find they've become slightly less melodic than before (in the riff department at least) but much more atmospheric and dark, so it's a trade-off i can deal with. and sam's melodic vocals are great, as is the fact that he doesn't overuse them. i can't say i agree with the reviewer's claim that this is "more hardcore than metal," but apart from that, it's a pretty spot-on review. gets my vote!

i am the robots
July 7th 2007


1027 Comments


hmm... sam's less monotone than matt...

also, there's clean parts on both we will turn your graveyards into our cathedrals, and your cities into tombs and nightmares...

regardless, this album is amazing

Confessed2005
July 17th 2007


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I prefer Matt to Sam. Matt's screams were awesome. But Sam is still very apt at what he does.

Sharkboyyy
July 17th 2007


16 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is the most enjoyable metalcore album I've heard in a long time. I loved Nightmares, but I find Ruin to be the better album in all aspects. So far one of my favorite releases of '07.

Confessed2005
July 21st 2007


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

More people need to check this band out bigtime. I have been listening to this a lot recently, it has grown on me quite a bit. I still don't think it is quite as brilliant as Nightmares was but this is very accomplished. Musically, the band are incredible, it is just the vocals take a while getting used to. Regardless, this album is pretty fantastic. Very atmospheric, heavy and poignant at times.

Confessed2005
July 21st 2007


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh and to Sharkboy, these guys are most definitely not metalcore. I don't even sniff a hint at typical, generic breakdowns. Sam's vocal style is most definitely hardcore as well. To me, the band have and always will be metal influenced hardcore.

Safety Chaser
July 24th 2007


1 Comments


When I first heard "You'll Find Safety", to be honest, I didn't see much difference between Nightmares.... But as I adapted thrugh the album, I definatly found the difference. hey still use alot of sweeps and 'Architects' riffs. The major difference was the vocals. I am impressed with Sam's vocals, but like the review stated, it wasn't filled with much variety. And, I agree with with Confessed, this is deinatly metal/hardcore. The closest to Metalcore would be you'll find safety.

And, listening to this album, I definatly recommend you get away from the computer just to purchase it. This review says it all, basically.

SC

Confessed2005
August 11th 2007


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wow, these guys aren't so well known outside of the UK.

Sucks. I might request a listening party...

*contemplates*

Monticello
August 11th 2007


805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Go for it man. Spread the word!

2muchket!
September 23rd 2007


900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah I'd say spread the word. Architects are amazing and Ruin is so far my favourite metal album of the year.

If people are made to think BMTH are all the uk hass to offer metal wise more people need to know about architects, devil sold his soul and azriel

Confessed2005
September 30th 2007


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Azriel are okay, much lesser known though.

2muchket!
January 12th 2008


900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Whos excited for their split EP with dead swans next month ?

Cos I am for sure. Might even review it actually This Message Edited On 01.12.08

Confessed2005
January 15th 2008


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, the new track We're All Alone is awesome. Dead Swans are a cool band too. Will be good to see them with Architects in March.

I decided to up this to a 4.5. I've been listening to this incessantly of late.

Monticello
January 16th 2008


805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Where are you gonna see them? ^^

AngelPhoenix
January 23rd 2008


2764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Man this album blows my face off

i am the robots
January 23rd 2008


1027 Comments


needs more breakdowns, imo

Confessed2005
January 23rd 2008


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm seeing them on March 28th at Southampton Joiners.

I don't know about the breakdowns thing; I think they use them effectively as it is.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy